Beginner questions about sub and amp setup - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 03-01-2011, 12:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
m4778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently installed an amp and sub in my 2004 civic. Everything is up and running and so far there dont seem to be any problems. I just had a few questions. This is the setup.

-amp: http://www.crutchfield.com/p_070XIA2...60.html?tp=115
-sub: http://www.amazon.com/Dual-XNBP12D-I.../dp/B0009PMVK8
-head unit: http://htyp.org/Insignia_IN-MP101

(Its important to note that I only have one of those subs shown above. since i got it from my friend and he blew the other one. Also Its in a different single sub box, not the one shown in the picture)

Basically the part im somewhat confused about is all the settings on the amp. Also with this setup what is my risk of blowing the sub? should I be very careful when turning it up or do I have nothing to worry about. Its currently only in single channel mode, but if I used bridged mode (300Wrms) would that blow my sub?

thanks a lot for the help
m4778 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 03-01-2011, 10:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
How many ohms are the single sub? Is it a single or dual voice coil? How many watts is rated for?

That amp will push 300 watts to a single (bridged) 4 ohm load - so you need to determine if your single sub represents a 4ohm load and if it can take the power. As for blowing the sub that might depend more on the box its in then anything else. Small sealed box = almost impossible to blow, big vented box = death to subwoofer if driven hard below its tuning parameters. Generally your ears are a pretty good judge, if it sounds nasty at high volumes then your pushing it too hard.

As for amp settings you should have the low pass on and set to around 80-120HZ (depending on your front speakers). Bass boost adjusted to whatever sounds good to you, just don't over do it as the amp will clip and send distortion to the sub. Once again your ears will let you know.

My equipment list is here. Playstation Network ID = jmii ...that's JM roman numeral 2
JMII is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 03-01-2011, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
m4778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www3.dealtime.com/Dual-Dual-1...XNBP12D/prices

according to that site they are 4 ohm dual coil (unless they are referring to both combined?)

Though on the back of each sub it says 550W 8 ohm.

The single box isnt huge, i dont know the exact specs but its about the same as ive seen for other 12 inch subs. Also the box is ported, but its a fairly small opening

When I mess with the settings there is HPF-Full-LPF, but full and low pass sound about the same to me. Whats the difference?


edit: i just read that when they were in the original box they were wired in series at 8ohms. But since im using it alone it should now be 4 ohms correct?
m4778 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 03-02-2011, 09:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by m4778 View Post
according to that site they are 4 ohm dual coil (unless they are referring to both combined?)

Though on the back of each sub it says 550W 8 ohm.

edit: i just read that when they were in the original box they were wired in series at 8ohms. But since im using it alone it should now be 4 ohms correct?

When I mess with the settings there is HPF-Full-LPF, but full and low pass sound about the same to me. Whats the difference?
Still confused as to what ohms these sub really are - label says 8 ohms, but is that per voice coil or per speaker (already wired in parallel)? Now many terminals (+/-) are on the back of the sub? One DVC 4 ohm sub would either be a 2 or 8 ohm load. So, in the original box two of these subs wired in series to each other would be a 4 or 16 ohm load, but not 8.

Anyway you want a 4 ohm configuration since that's what your amp in bridged (mono) mode is designed to push, not sure that is possible with this sub since I can't determine it true ohms with so much conflicting information.

This tool should help: http://knowledge.sonicelectronix.com...woofer-wiring/

LPF is low pass and that's the one you should use. The reason you heard no difference is because its a bandpass box, thus its doing its own low pass filtering. However it still better to run the LPF on the amp so its not trying to amplify frequencies the speakers can't reproduce anyway (just wasting power and generating heat).

As for the box - its the biggest factor in subwoofer output, if you've got the wrong box (size of box OR port) who knows what your getting as far as output goes. As long as your happy that's all that matters.

My equipment list is here. Playstation Network ID = jmii ...that's JM roman numeral 2
JMII is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-18-2011, 10:18 PM
Newbie
 
nozaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My friend just installed my JVC player. I have two amps and three subs (2 8" and 1 10"). The player has an equalizer. It has low (with 4 bars), mid (with 4 bars) and high (with 4 bars). FYI, I don't know anything about this. Can somebody please help me on this. If I want a lot of bass which one to adjust. For each bar there is a certain frequency which I really don't know.
nozaut is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-19-2011, 10:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
JMII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Florida
Posts: 762
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
There are two ways to adjust an EQ: the correct way and the "it sounds good to me" way. Nothing wrong with doing it by ear, as the correct way involves buying some software and/or hardware and understanding what how it all works. Thankfully the cost has come way down.. you can get decent results by just using an iPhone app: http://www.studiosixdigital.com/rta.html

The quick answer to your question: bass is the "lows", so if you want more bass turn the last four up. Just keep in mind if you crank them way up you'll clip your amp most like resulting in nothing but distortion.

My equipment list is here. Playstation Network ID = jmii ...that's JM roman numeral 2
JMII is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-19-2011, 10:45 PM
Newbie
 
nozaut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To JMII,
Thank you very much. This will really help me.
nozaut is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 05-23-2013, 05:54 AM
Newbie
 
Adio666's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I've joined this forum purely because i can't find the answer online anywhere (easily at least). I have had a Bluetooth Parrot system installed in my car for a while now which works fine until recently since i have installed a Sub and Amp in my car as well, and noticed that the Amp only picks up what is playing through the radio and not the Bluetooth system. The Parrot Bluetooth seems to use all the speakers in the car bar the Amp.

Does anyone know how to set the Parrot Bluetooth system up to go through the radio properly so the Amp picks it up. I use Spotify from my phone so it would be a pain if i had to burn loads of CD's just to listen to the music i want .

I can provide additional information if it helps

Thanks
Adio666 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-24-2014, 10:30 AM
Newbie
 
georrge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi am completley new to this but can some on help me pleaase !!! Ive put in a amp and sub in my car, when i turn my main headlights on my cd player turns off and wont turn back on it says goodbye to me then wont do anything but it works with just side lights on.
And my interior light wont turn on but when i flick to come on when doors open i puts the light on my dashboard for my main head lights. Could this just be a fuse problem or due to wire interferance ?????
georrge is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-27-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cubdenno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cham-Bana Illinois
Posts: 1,432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by georrge View Post

Hi am completley new to this but can some on help me pleaase !!! Ive put in a amp and sub in my car, when i turn my main headlights on my cd player turns off and wont turn back on it says goodbye to me then wont do anything but it works with just side lights on.
And my interior light wont turn on but when i flick to come on when doors open i puts the light on my dashboard for my main head lights. Could this just be a fuse problem or due to wire interferance ?????

I would say you have wired the head unit incorrectly to the factory wiring.

Did you use a wiring harness adapter?

What head unit?
What car?


Would help if you started your own thread.

XBL-Steelhouse1

"No one wants to fight the naked guy."
cubdenno is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 01-27-2014, 02:21 PM
Newbie
 
georrge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi sorry i didnt know how to but ive sorted the problem it was a blown fuse replaced it and it all works fine now
georrge is offline  
Reply Car Audio, Video, and Nav

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off