Head Unit - 2 Amps - Sub - Wiring Help needed - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 27 Old 04-30-2012, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hi guys. Recently upgraded some car audio for my Z-28, and I need to get under there and rewire a bunch of stuff, so I want to install this properly with shrink wrap, etc. I have little knowledge of car audio beyond basic sppeakers and amps and never installed a sub before.
List of gear:

Head Unit:
SOny Xplod CDX-GT550UI [User Manual] [Wiring/Install Manual]

Amplifiers:
Rockford Fosgate P8004 - 4 Ch [Manual]
Legacy LA220 - 2-ch bridgeable (2X75 or 1X150 W RMS)

Speakers:
Sony Xplod 6X9 (2) -Rear
Kenwood 4" (2) -Front

Sub: Alpine Type-S 12" [Specs]

My first guess is to use the Legacy in bridged mode to power the Sub, and the RF to power both front and rear speakers but how to I wire everything? The rear of the head unit has no 'dedicated' sub out, but rather a Rear/Sub Out, so I think you have to tell it in the setup, which mode to be in. (??).

So do I use the high level output from the head unit, and split them (one pair to sub amp, and one pair to speaker amp) or a combination of high & low level (RCA outputs), or what? Thanks for any help.
LL
LL
LL
LL

HT: Yamaha RX-V565 | 3 X Energy Take FPS, 2 X VS Surround, 2 X Take LCR | DIY Subs: SDX12 APR15 & TRIO12 Dual APR 12's | 47" LCD

Music: Yamaha RX-V863 | 2 X Energy RC-70 | MA RXw12 Sub

Bathroom: 2 X Energy Take LCR

Car: Sony Xplod HU, Xplod 6X9s, Kenwood 4"s, Alpine 12" Type-S, Rockford Amp,...

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 Old 04-30-2012, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
You have an enormous amount of power on tap. Especially for the front speakers you have. Here is what I would do.

Do not change the head unit's 2nd rca outs to sub. Leave them full range.

run the two sets of RCA's from the head unit to the Rockford fosgate.