5 channel amplifier question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-03-2013, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ajstrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had a friend ask me today about upgrading his car audio. He wants to get a 5 channel amplifier and use just four channels for now, with plans of adding the subwoofer on the fifth channel later on when he gets more money. I told him this should be no problem at all, and just wanted to double check with you all.
ajstrider is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-03-2013, 05:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cubdenno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cham-Bana Illinois
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 54
No problem at all.

XBL-Steelhouse1

"No one wants to fight the naked guy."
cubdenno is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-05-2013, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gtpsuper24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,080
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 90
It wouldn't be a problem other than you might limit yourself on what subwoofers you can get. I think the best and most future proof way would be to buy a 4 channel amp and then buy a mono amp when you decide on a subwoofer. That way you can buy the subwoofer you guys want and get a amp that would match up with it. Instead of trying to find a subwoofer that would match with your 5th amp channel which probably isn't going to put out much power.
gtpsuper24 is offline  
Reply Car Audio, Video, and Nav

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off