2 amps will not turn on - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 10-08-2006, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
heavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am installing 2 amps in my truck and when i wire BOTH remote wires in from the cd player they flash on then go off. If I only wire 1 of the amps in (no matter which one) then the amp comes on and stays on. I tried to install a relay because i was told that would help but it did not. .....
heavy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 10-08-2006, 02:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oldschool4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In from the CD player???

...you mean both amplifier's remote wires go to the remote wire on the CD player.

It's common that mutiple amps will cause the remote signal to kick off; that's why, you use a relay.

Besure that the relay is wired correctly; the remote signal activates the relay coil (and the actual amp remote comes from any power source.

If all else fails, get the amp remote direct from a switched power source (so that the amps will at least be on/off while the vehicle is on/off).

Quote:
Originally Posted by oink
Mr. Cialella is, without question, the AVS honorary MOST ADMIRED PERSON OF THE YEAR.:D
oldschool4life is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 10-08-2006, 03:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
heavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK oldschool i found a wiring diagram for the relay on the net but i do not understand what you mean when you say "the actual amp remote comes from any power source"

also when you said "If all else fails, get the amp remote direct from a switched power source (so that the amps will at least be on/off while the vehicle is on/off)." which wire would that be... thx man
heavy is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 10-08-2006, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
heavy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok.. i just put my old amp for my highs back in and now my new sub amp and old high and mid amp is working.. must be a problem with my new amp.. hmmmmm
heavy is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-08-2006, 05:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oldschool4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 1,683
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's what I did for the company leased vehicle I had:

http://www.teamrocs.com/technical/pa...lay_basics.htm

Relay:
pins 85 & 86 are the coil; 85 to the CD player's remote wire/86 to ground
pins 30 & 87; 30 to fused 12VDC/87 to the amp(s)' remote connection

Fused 12VDC:
Buy this...
http://www.anythinggps.com/ProductIm.../Fuse.Tap2.jpg

Find the interior fuse panel; and, read the owners manual to find a fuse you can tap into (something not essential to vehicle function; such as, cigar lighter, etc...) Use a multimeter (not a test light) and find out if that connection turns on/off with the key.

Or, if it turns off, you don't have to use the relay; wire it direct to that add-a-fuse

Relay - turns amps off with CD player
Fuse that turns off - extra protection if relay sticks or wiring direct

Quote:
Originally Posted by oink
Mr. Cialella is, without question, the AVS honorary MOST ADMIRED PERSON OF THE YEAR.:D
oldschool4life is offline  
Closed Thread Car Audio, Video, and Nav

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off