Official Sony HDR-SR11/12 Thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 09:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tgenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
As someone pointed out, we really do need an official thread for these cams. I lumped 11/12 together since only difference is storage.

I should be receiving mine sometime this afternoon and will try and play around with it over the weekend.
tgenius is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 10:27 AM
Member
 
sarkleshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: san jose, ca
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the sr12 from sony yest. WOW!!! What a nice unit.
sarkleshark is offline  
post #3 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 10:34 AM
Member
 
traveaso25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be getting SR11 with the next few days.... if dell ever gets off thier lazy butt to send it to me. I will post a review once i do get it.
traveaso25 is offline  
post #4 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 11:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
fdisker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got the SR-11 at Best Buy (in Columbus Ohio) wednesday night. It's all good so far. Good to see the official thread get started.

I'm currently testing a 1 hour highest quality video using Nero Recode to prepare for youtube. Nero is able to import m2ts and I'm recoding 1920x1080 down to 320x240 using the Nero AVC profile. Should be pretty easy to go from camera to youtube using only one or two programs.
fdisker is offline  
post #5 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tgenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I just got my SR11.. thing is TINY.. I LOVE how slick it looks.

ABT Gets my vote. I would imagine they should be able to match the $1000 for anyone who wants one.
tgenius is offline  
post #6 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 11:56 AM
Member
 
UTVOL06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdisker View Post

I got the SR-11 at Best Buy (in Columbus Ohio) wednesday night. It's all good so far. Good to see the official thread get started.

I'm currently testing a 1 hour highest quality video using Nero Recode to prepare for youtube. Nero is able to import m2ts and I'm recoding 1920x1080 down to 320x240 using the Nero AVC profile. Should be pretty easy to go from camera to youtube using only one or two programs.

Wait..how did you already get an SR11 from BestBuy, when there website says its not even out yet? It still says its a pre-order item with a 3/10/08 ETA.-----> http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage.jsp?skuId=8679815&type=product&id=1197678618882
UTVOL06 is offline  
post #7 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 12:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
fdisker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went looking for it on Tuesday and was told they were enroute. Went back Wednesday evening and they were pulling them off the truck. They didn't even have one on display. The sales guy said I got the first one.
fdisker is offline  
post #8 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 01:02 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tgenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm starting to suspect that the SR11/12 are going to be quite popular with consumers; It actually looks BIGGER online than in person.. its pretty small (and to think the Panasonic SD9 is even smaller!)
tgenius is offline  
post #9 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 08:12 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tgenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm uploading my first clip to megaupload now. I'll post link in the morning probably.

I have no idea what compression settings or anything were done, but I did copy to USB and played back on PS3 with no problems.

I do agree that lack of light causes it to go grainy (as you will see in the video)
tgenius is offline  
post #10 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 09:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Steve McD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went through all the specifications for these two models and my interest was dampened by a few things I found. In the first place, their pixels have only 40% as much size as those of the HC7/HC9. There is no choice of J-PEG encoding quality for still pictures. Unlike many models, there is no Fine mode, only an auto-adjusting Standard one. On Sony's DSC-H9 still camera, this elimination of Fine mode caused a significant drop in image quality and it showed artifacts from over-compression in many cases. Also, there is no intermediate pixel-size between 6-megapixels and 1.9 megapixels. At least one and preferably two other sizes, such as 3-MP and 4-MP should have been added. I don't imagine the extrapolated 10-MP images from its tiny pixels (5.7 MP of them), will be too great. I'd really like to be wrong about this, but I doubt that I am. True, it's a video camera, but I take stills just as much as video with mine.
Steve McD is offline  
post #11 of 3108 Old 03-07-2008, 09:25 PM
Senior Member
 
spocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve McD View Post

I don't imagine the extrapolated 10-MP images from its tiny pixels (5.7 MP of them), will be too great.

I would agree. Most likely it is just a waste of storage space to store images which are interpolated up to 10.2 MP. You can't add resolution via interpolation. I suspect that the "10.2 MP still images" is pure marketing hype. Hopefully the camera allows you to store images at the native sensor resolution, which is roughly 5.1 MP according to the specs on the sonystyle site. Frankly I don't see any reason to use any other resolution, you can always scale up/down off-camera if needed. Can somebody who owns the camera please confirm what still picture resolutions are offered?
spocko is offline  
post #12 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tgenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Ok.. I finished uploading the clip.. its about 50meg.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=IOJTU4RD

Sorry if its not clear or out of focus but was just goofing around
tgenius is offline  
post #13 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 07:07 AM
Advanced Member
 
fdisker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 516
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
>> Can somebody who owns the camera please confirm what still picture resolutions are offered?

10.2 megapixel = 3680x2760
7.6 megapixel = 3680x2070 <- widescreen (nice)
6.1 megapixel = 2848x2136
1.9 megapixel = 640x480
.3 megapixel (vga) = 640x480

I'll be shooting almost everything in 7.6 megapixel widescreen mode.
fdisker is offline  
post #14 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 08:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve McD View Post

I went through all the specifications for these two models and my interest was dampened by a few things I found. In the first place, their pixels have only 40% as much size as those of the HC7/HC9. There is no choice of J-PEG encoding quality for still pictures. Unlike many models, there is no Fine mode, only an auto-adjusting Standard one. On Sony's DSC-H9 still camera, this elimination of Fine mode caused a significant drop in image quality and it showed artifacts from over-compression in many cases. Also, there is no intermediate pixel-size between 6-megapixels and 1.9 megapixels. At least one and preferably two other sizes, such as 3-MP and 4-MP should have been added. I don't imagine the extrapolated 10-MP images from its tiny pixels (5.7 MP of them), will be too great. I'd really like to be wrong about this, but I doubt that I am. True, it's a video camera, but I take stills just as much as video with mine.

I don't use my video cameras for still pix, but there are quality mode settings for video on the SR12. In fact, there are three quality settings for HD alone. At the highest quality setting, 16mbps, the video is truly excellent and to my eyes better than my HV20.

The other truly undeniable advantage of the Sonys is their viewfinder. For many people, not having a viewfinder is one of the biggest deal breaks there is. I can manage without one, but it's undeniably more professional and easier to have one.

It's no longer valid to simply compare sensor size and pixel size. Sony is using some very high end technology in their design to compensate for both sensor and pixel size and this tech is borrowed from their high end HD cams. The Exmor and Bionz processing does indeed live up to its promise. The picture is cleaner on the Sony than even my very clean HV20 picture.

I've learned at this point in the technology curve of AVCHD, it's wiser to see the picture than judge from the specs.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #15 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 08:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tgenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Wow.. I just realized the clip I recorded was on the 3rd of 4 level on quality.. I imagine on full quality it will be even better!
tgenius is offline  
post #16 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 08:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgenius View Post

Wow.. I just realized the clip I recorded was on the 3rd of 4 level on quality.. I imagine on full quality it will be even better!

Yup, I did the same thing!!! I was very impressed with the first clips I shot and then I realized I was at the LOWEST quality setting! I've yet to do an A/B/C test on the three quality settings, but since I'm a purist I'd tend to use only the highest quality setting. Since the SR12 has over 14 hours of HD storage at the highest quality, I'm not too conerned about space...and then there's still the memory stick storage too.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #17 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 08:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Tgenius, I just watched your clip and I see more noise in your dark rooms than I've noticed on mine. That might be a function of your 'quality' setting. Of course it's tough to say since I don't know what the light levels were in the dark rooms you shot in. It may just be that the rooms I've shot in are not that dark. But in reasonable light, I think your clips hint at how sharp the cam can be.

The low light performance of the Panasonic SD9 is so bad, it's got to be seen to be believed. The sharpness goes to sub-VHS levels and that in itself is a deal-break. The SR12 maintains the sharpness as does the HV20.

One thing I've seen thus far, the low light of the SR12 appears to be a bit better than the HV20...and that's not bad.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #18 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 08:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tgenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I played back that clip on my PS3 and it looked pretty sharp (especially the kitchen shots)

I have set it to the highest level but won't do any recording for a bit today.

I also finally got Vegas Pro, but it sure looks confusing! Any good books/tutorials of how to use it?
tgenius is offline  
post #19 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 08:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Not sure about tutuorials with Vegas. I downloaded the trial version the other day since I heard it is AVCHD friendly. My disappointment was (assuming I haven't overlooked something), is that it doesn't export in 1920X1080. The highest export setting I saw in AVCHD was 1440X1080. You also take a small bitrate hit since the highest bitrate in Vegas is 15mbps.

Frankly those concessions are a bit of a turn off for me.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #20 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
tgenius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Was that Vegas or Vegas Pro? I have Vegas Pro.

What other software supports 1920 and the easiest to use?
tgenius is offline  
post #21 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
spocko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdisker View Post

>> Can somebody who owns the camera please confirm what still picture resolutions are offered?

10.2 megapixel = 3680x2760
7.6 megapixel = 3680x2070 <- widescreen (nice)
6.1 megapixel = 2848x2136
1.9 megapixel = 640x480
.3 megapixel (vga) = 640x480

Thanks fdisker. It's very strange that they don't offer native resolution. Per the specs on the sonystyle site, native resolution is roughly 5.1 MP in 4:3 mode, and 3.8 MP in 16:9 mode. So it appears that every available resolution is either up or down scaled. Doesn't make sense to me. Anyway, the 6.1 and 7.6 MP resolutions look like the best of the available options.
spocko is offline  
post #22 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Head Shot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Visalia, CA
Posts: 1,281
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fdisker View Post

I got the SR-11 at Best Buy (in Columbus Ohio) wednesday night. It's all good so far. Good to see the official thread get started.

I'm currently testing a 1 hour highest quality video using Nero Recode to prepare for youtube. Nero is able to import m2ts and I'm recoding 1920x1080 down to 320x240 using the Nero AVC profile. Should be pretty easy to go from camera to youtube using only one or two programs.

YouTube upped the resolution late last year to 640x480, so you should get better pics.
Head Shot is offline  
post #23 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 12:06 PM
Member
 
traveaso25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgenius View Post

I played back that clip on my PS3 and it looked pretty sharp (especially the kitchen shots)

I have set it to the highest level but won't do any recording for a bit today.

I also finally got Vegas Pro, but it sure looks confusing! Any good books/tutorials of how to use it?

Yeah those Kitchen shots were fantastic. I look forward to seeing more footage. Gosh Monday can't come soon enough...
traveaso25 is offline  
post #24 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 12:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgenius View Post

Was that Vegas or Vegas Pro? I have Vegas Pro.

What other software supports 1920 and the easiest to use?

Vegas Pro. Not sure of any other software than supports AVCHD 1920X1080.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #25 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 04:20 PM
Member
 
negitoro7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone been successful rendering their video to Xvid, Divx, h.264, wmv etc while retaining the 5.1 sound using Sony Vegas 8?

I keep getting the error message of "settings not compatible with this template", and I've tried them all. I only get this error when choosing 5.1 sound, regardless of audio format or quality.
negitoro7 is offline  
post #26 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 05:18 PM
Member
 
traveaso25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone upload some footage of Low Light quality. I hear you all saying how well it performs in low light compared to such cameras as the HV20. Just trying to see how well it performs. Thanks
traveaso25 is offline  
post #27 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 07:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Here's a link to one SR12 clip. A hazy early morning in downtown N.Y.C. Clips are all native from the cam.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=00JC43E9

Here's a brief one on a nicer clear day.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=GOHXJM70
Ken Ross is offline  
post #28 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 07:42 PM
Member
 
traveaso25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Here's one with an overhead light on in a room where HD cams have typically produced very poor video. The SD9 was unwatchable in this same lighting.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=KB67H982


Very nice man thanks. That last video of the low light says it is unavailable.
traveaso25 is offline  
post #29 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 07:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,168
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 357 Post(s)
Liked: 543
Let me try again. Again, HD cams I've used in the past typically produce very poor results under this same lighting.

OK, this should work now:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TCQVKYX5
Ken Ross is offline  
post #30 of 3108 Old 03-08-2008, 07:50 PM
Member
 
traveaso25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Hmm, wonder if I shot my load on megaupload. Let me try again.

Sounds like a plan thanks
traveaso25 is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off