The "Official" Canon Vixia HF10 / HF100 Owner's Thread - Page 128 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3811 of 3824 Old 08-08-2014, 01:27 AM
Newbie
 
Simboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to hear that

It's always sad when one of our beloved friends dies. I can't speak to your specific problem because I've never had a power issue, but I can say with confidence that it's almost never worth it to pay Canon's minimum service price.

I couldn't be happier with my Sony replacement with built in projector, but still have my canon sitting in a drawer as a backup in case I ever come across a zoom switch. Please let me know if you decide to upgrade to a newer model and want to sell your old one for parts.
Simboo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3812 of 3824 Old 08-11-2014, 09:32 AM
Member
 
flnsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hc-v550 hc-v750 hf100

How would a Pan HC-V550 and a 750 compare to the HF100? Looking to upgrade and like the small size of my HF100. The 750 is nice but it's huge. Not sure how much better if any the 550 will be over my HF100.

Thanks!
flnsx is offline  
post #3813 of 3824 Old 09-26-2014, 10:13 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Simboo View Post
It's always sad when one of our beloved friends dies. I can't speak to your specific problem because I've never had a power issue, but I can say with confidence that it's almost never worth it to pay Canon's minimum service price.

I couldn't be happier with my Sony replacement with built in projector, but still have my canon sitting in a drawer as a backup in case I ever come across a zoom switch. Please let me know if you decide to upgrade to a newer model and want to sell your old one for parts.
Hey Simboo,

I have a non working HF 10....
Will turn on but camera function won't work. But you can see what what filmed.
So I have a zoom switch assuming no one can tell how to fix the camera.
I would pay a reasonable fee to fix camera but I know that is unlikely.

AL
Videoguy23 is offline  
post #3814 of 3824 Old 09-30-2014, 02:55 PM
Newbie
 
Simboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good Luck, but I'm here

Hey Videoguy,

Good luck getting it repaired. If you don't find a way to fix it at a reasonable price let me know and we'll see if I can take that zoom switch and its fancy housing off your hands.
Simboo is offline  
post #3815 of 3824 Old 11-08-2014, 10:38 PM
Newbie
 
rajugsw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Canon VIXIA HF300and it looks like I have a similar problem. The power constantly cycles on/off when the SD Card is installed and the lid closed. Open the lid but leave the SD card in, the unit works fine except for the fact that you can't record anything because the lid is flipped up.

Help ?
rajugsw is offline  
post #3816 of 3824 Old 11-13-2014, 02:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I went to my local camera shop and today we mailed The Vixia in to Canon I assume and I'm waiting to hear what the problem is. I will post whatever we find out.
If it is too expensive to repair I'll offer it up for parts.

Thanks,
Al
Videoguy23 is offline  
post #3817 of 3824 Old 12-03-2014, 09:12 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Still Interested?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Simboo View Post
Hey Videoguy,

Good luck getting it repaired. If you don't find a way to fix it at a reasonable price let me know and we'll see if I can take that zoom switch and its fancy housing off your hands.

hey SImboo,

canon couldn't or wouldn't repair the camera so email me so we can work out shipment if still interested?

Thanks,
Al
Videoguy23 is offline  
post #3818 of 3824 Old 12-03-2014, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
Simboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videoguy23 View Post
hey SImboo,

canon couldn't or wouldn't repair the camera so email me so we can work out shipment if still interested?

Thanks,
Al
Sorry to hear that Al.

I just sent you an email.
Simboo is offline  
post #3819 of 3824 Old 01-11-2015, 01:34 PM
AVS Forum Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,286
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Hey all, it's all gone quiet here.

My HF100 is about to be let go to ebay. I have decided to pull the trigger on a Panasonic FZ1000 and go play with some 4k.

It'll be a shame, but it's time to move on.

Seggers

Vizio M80-C3, Denon X6300H, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, PC DX12 sub, Def Tech A60 Atmos tops, the internet, an ASUS ChromeBox running Kodi, a TiVo Series 3 and a Philips BDP7501 UHD . There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is offline  
post #3820 of 3824 Old 05-08-2015, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Canon Vixia HF10 replacement parts?

Hello, I'm new to this board so I apologize if this is not the correct area to post this.

But, I was wondering if anyone knows where I can get replacement parts for the Canon Vixia HF10.

I am specifically looking for the cover that goes over the top of the Advanced Mini Shoe.

Had borrowed the camera to family and got it back to find it cracked, and now half of it is missing.

I appreciate any help, or being pointed towards a direction that might help me find this.
Thanks everyone
sammie0020 is offline  
post #3821 of 3824 Old 08-02-2015, 04:03 PM
Senior Member
 
Jim5506's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had my Vixia HF100 for 5+ years, a little bit of the zoom problem has been seen, I just have to watch it and keep a little pressure on the side of the zoom lever.


Now to my question. Inside the battery compartment is a small door, below the reset hole, held on by some sort of stickiness and behind it is a plug. Does any one know what that plug is for?
Jim5506 is offline  
post #3822 of 3824 Old 06-23-2016, 08:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Any HF10 lurkers still in here? =) I have a serious problem and could really use some help! After just recently having my backup drive bite the bullet, I dug out my trusty old HF10 and was elated to see all of my old home movies still sitting on there from many years ago when the kids were much younger. When I try to transfer the videos over to an SD card from the built in memory, I'm getting a "Failed: Process terminated with error" message. Even worse, while I can still see every thumbnail for each video, when I try to play one back it seems to think for a while (flashing red LED) but then only plays the most recent video on the device. I'm worried that for some reason, while I can still see the videos, they might be damaged or corrupted. Any ideas? Some personally priceless videos on here, so I'd like to whatever I can to try and save them.
Steven John Stronach is offline  
post #3823 of 3824 Old 11-01-2016, 04:48 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis0303 View Post
10-4 I think your right. I might just need a new dial if cleaning\spray doesn't work also. I found the part number "DG3-2437-000". Is there a place to buy parts online?

Travis
I couldn't get the part anywhere so I just took one of these creeping zooms apart and the carbon tracks had been worn right away by the metal wipers. Not abuse, just used a lot! I resurfaced the carbon tracks and it works fine now. I did put such a thick layer on (so it will last) that the resistance is lower and I don't think that the maximum zoom speed is as high as it would be if the resistance were in spec. I think any cleaning liquid would just soften the carbon and make it wear away more quickly.
nevillestyke is offline  
post #3824 of 3824 Old 11-02-2016, 05:56 AM
Newbie
 
Simboo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevillestyke View Post
I couldn't get the part anywhere so I just took one of these creeping zooms apart and the carbon tracks had been worn right away by the metal wipers. Not abuse, just used a lot! I resurfaced the carbon tracks and it works fine now. I did put such a thick layer on (so it will last) that the resistance is lower and I don't think that the maximum zoom speed is as high as it would be if the resistance were in spec. I think any cleaning liquid would just soften the carbon and make it wear away more quickly.
How in the world did you resurface the carbon tracks?!?
Simboo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Camcorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off