The "Official" Canon Vixia HF10 / HF100 Owner's Thread - Page 57 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1681 of 3812 Old 07-26-2008, 08:09 AM
Newbie
 
jtiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have burned a AVCHD DVD with the PIXELA ImageMixer 3 SE. To my surprise, windows XP explorer doesn't see anything on the DVD as it reports zero objects on the DVD. The PIXELA program can see the DVD and all the AVCHD clips in it.
If you have burned with PIXELA program, can you see if the DVD contents (files) can be seen by PC windows explorer. Thanks!
jtiger is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1682 of 3812 Old 07-26-2008, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
kalak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtiger View Post

To my surprise, windows XP explorer doesn't see anything on the DVD as it reports zero objects on the DVD.

This is expected. AVCHD is recorded in UDF 2.5+; and XP cannot read UDF disc.
kalak is offline  
post #1683 of 3812 Old 07-26-2008, 10:55 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
So I broke down and installed the Pixela sw (after disabling the Hellia codec) so that I could combine all the joyous m2ts clips into one file for editing etc.

Erm, when I transferred via this sw, I get 3 different folders (date time stamp) with separate files in them.

How does one get one contiguous file then?

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and an Oppo 103 (bye bye PS3). There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is online now  
post #1684 of 3812 Old 07-26-2008, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Playing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post

So I broke down and installed the Pixela sw (after disabling the Hellia codec) so that I could combine all the joyous m2ts clips into one file for editing etc.

Erm, when I transferred via this sw, I get 3 different folders (date time stamp) with separate files in them.

How does one get one contiguous file then?

Seggers

This is correct. You get a new file every time you press the record button on the camera. If you read, that Pixela combines files, this is true for large clips that the camera splits up. Pixela will give you one file per clip and one folder per day. To combine the clips into a movie you need to use Movie Edit.
Playing is offline  
post #1685 of 3812 Old 07-26-2008, 02:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,788
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by seggers View Post

Why, what's wrong with it?

I don't feel good when holding and using it. I prefer the Panasonic SD1 better. I got both cams at about the same time, wanted to return the Panasonic, but now I am keeping it, and selling the HF. I am writing a big comparo of the SD1 and the HF100, will post the link later.
Ungermann is online now  
post #1686 of 3812 Old 07-26-2008, 10:44 PM
Member
 
abricko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 158
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My experience with the WD-H37 and a schneider optics UV lens was that at full zoom out / wide you end up with a small amount of black showing in the frame near the border, however due to overscan in the view finder you don't see it.

I tend to ONLY use the UV if I'm not using the WA lens (essentially as a lens protector / dust cap) which is not that often... it's a pain in the butt to switch (not really but it does take a few minutes to swap carefully not to dirty things up). IF you must use both, just zoom in a little (maybe 5 - 10%) and that should fix the black border fuzz from the UV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo246 View Post

How would I use a wide angle adapter and a uv filter together? Filter - Converter - Camera or Converter - Filter - Camera? I have read of problems where the filter became visible on full wide angle.

Any help/information would be appreciated!

abricko is offline  
post #1687 of 3812 Old 07-27-2008, 12:36 AM
Newbie
 
bryanwaterdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Iam new and planing to buy a HF10 from "ShopDigitalDirect.com" for $389.00 and free shiping any body ever use them, what editing software for PC works best? thanks for the help
bryanwaterdog is offline  
post #1688 of 3812 Old 07-27-2008, 01:15 AM
Senior Member
 
kalak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanwaterdog View Post

Iam new and planing to buy a HF10 from "ShopDigitalDirect.com" for $389.00 and free shiping any body ever use them...

If it sounds too good to be true, it usually is!
My advice: DON'T

Check out their abysmal reseller ratings:
http://www.resellerratings.com/store...Digital_Direct

And one buyer purchasing a HF10 from them ended up with a $1,299.95 bill .

I would recommend you to go with reputable stores rather than some absurd price you can find on the net.
kalak is offline  
post #1689 of 3812 Old 07-27-2008, 08:26 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Playing View Post

This is correct. You get a new file every time you press the record button on the camera. If you read, that Pixela combines files, this is true for large clips that the camera splits up. Pixela will give you one file per clip and one folder per day. To combine the clips into a movie you need to use Movie Edit.

Well bless my cotton socks, so it did. I took some fireworks shots (on straight out of the box settings, and it didn't look too bad either) that spanned 2 files. And now there's only one.

Cheers for this, I'll go back and see what can be done.

Well, I have a ceiling to put back.....

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and an Oppo 103 (bye bye PS3). There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is online now  
post #1690 of 3812 Old 07-28-2008, 07:29 AM
Member
 
superfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanwaterdog View Post

Iam new and planing to buy a HF10 from "ShopDigitalDirect.com" for $389.00 and free shiping any body ever use them, what editing software for PC works best? thanks for the help

Definitely don't buy there. Bait and switch type of operation. They charge extra for the battery, everything that is supposed to come with it, etc. Google it and you will find some stories. Kalak is right.
superfrog is offline  
post #1691 of 3812 Old 07-28-2008, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of Memory Card Reader is needed to be able to play the HD video I record on my SDHC card on any computer of TV with a USB connection? I tried a Digital Concepts SD/MMC Reader/Writer from Radio Shack, but all it only shows the still photos I took.
s2silber is offline  
post #1692 of 3812 Old 07-28-2008, 02:14 PM
Senior Member
 
kalak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2silber View Post

What kind of Memory Card Reader is needed to be able to play the HD video I record on my SDHC card on any computer of TV with a USB connection? I tried a Digital Concepts SD/MMC Reader/Writer from Radio Shack, but all it only shows the still photos I took.

Any SDHC compatible card reader should be fine. Older generations card reader may not work. If your software does not recognize the AVCHD format in your SD card, you may have to manually select the video/MTS file, hidden in the STREAM directory under PRIVATE/AVCHD/BDMV.
kalak is offline  
post #1693 of 3812 Old 07-29-2008, 12:19 PM
Member
 
jdpurvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 819 I ordered direct from Canon last week arrived yesterday - so there may be more there.

Joe
jdpurvis is offline  
post #1694 of 3812 Old 07-29-2008, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
s2silber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 2,857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kalak View Post

If your software does not recognize the AVCHD format in your SD card, you may have to manually select the video/MTS file, hidden in the STREAM directory under PRIVATE/AVCHD/BDMV.

Thanks, and how to you get to that directory? Also, will it still play in HD resolution?
s2silber is offline  
post #1695 of 3812 Old 07-30-2008, 12:55 AM
Newbie
 
henrysunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have posted a detailed description of my experiences thus far on my blog. http://www.ghettohardware.com

In summary: The video quality is a lot sharper and a little better overall. The removal of tape from my workflow is welcomed, but the awkward folder structure and file naming forced on me by the AVCHD standard leaves me less than satisfied.

Hope it is helpful and eager to hear your thoughts...
---tom
henrysunset is offline  
post #1696 of 3812 Old 07-30-2008, 02:30 PM
Member
 
Nerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia, EU
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrysunset View Post

I have posted a detailed description of my experiences thus far on my blog. http://www.ghettohardware.com

In summary: The video quality is a lot sharper and a little better overall. The removal of tape from my workflow is welcomed, but the awkward folder structure and file naming forced on me by the AVCHD standard leaves me less than satisfied.

Hope it is helpful and eager to hear your thoughts...
---tom

Thank you for your link and your opinions!
Nerte is offline  
post #1697 of 3812 Old 07-30-2008, 03:14 PM
Senior Member
 
kalak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by henrysunset View Post

...but the awkward folder structure and file naming forced on me by the AVCHD standard leaves me less than satisfied.

LOL, I am a bit puzzled by your strong reaction to the folder structure. Various folder structures have been in place for most media format - DVDs, digital camera's flash memory... and naturally including Blu-Rays, HD-DVDs and AVCHDs. So not sure why AVCHD has been singled out.

The folder structure makes it very handy for play back - just insert your memory card into PS3, and it is instantly recognized and played back, complete with chapter points for clip forward and backward playback. Or you burn the whole folder structure on a DVD and it would be instantly recognized as a AVCHD.

You just need a few clicks to navigate around the folders, or you can write a simple batch file to copy and rename the files automatically (faster and simpler than using Pixela). And to be honest, the file names are much less cryptic than DVD's. So no, it does not bother me at all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by s2silber View Post

and how to you get to that directory? Also, will it still play in HD resolution?

What software are you using?
You should be able to navigate through the directories (mentioned in my last post) in the file open dialog. It should play in HD, but you need a pretty powerful computer to play it smoothly. Otherwise, the video would stutter.
kalak is offline  
post #1698 of 3812 Old 07-31-2008, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
HDTV Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For those with the charger, can you tell me the dimension? Thank you!
HDTV Freak is offline  
post #1699 of 3812 Old 07-31-2008, 06:42 PM
Newbie
 
henrysunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=kalak;14402702]LOL, I am a bit puzzled by your strong reaction to the folder structure...QUOTE]

I have gotten very accustomed to the way digital cameras which record stills and videos collect both filetypes in the same folder. This makes backup of my photos and videos very easy and I don't worry about forgetting the photos when I copy the videos.

The second, and perhaps larger complaint is the lack of continuous file numbering. With a digital camera, it remembers what number I am on even as I switch memory cards. If the last media I recorded was 2136, I like knowing that the next one will be # 2137 whether it is a photo or a video.


These numbering kinks and the limit on olders digital cameras of 100 photos per folder are issues that were common on older digital cameras, but "just work" on the newer ones. I guess I am simply frustrated since this seems like a big step backwards in terms of intelligent, in-camera organization of my digital memories. I feel like I've stepped back into the dark ages of digital photography.

(P.S. I don't know what "chapter" information is stored in the AVCHD. From what I can tell, each file is just pretending to be a separate chapter. This is obvious behavior that the PS3 or PC should be able to deliver without needed a complex file and folder structure. I don't need a DVD's worth of complexity, I just want videos and photos in one convenient place.)
henrysunset is offline  
post #1700 of 3812 Old 08-01-2008, 06:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,087
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 24
So I've been looking for a case for the HF100 that kind of mirrored the one that I had for my PC100E Sony.

I wanted a case that wasn't much larger than the camcorder itself, was fairly protective and had a belt loop.

The Canon stuff was all too expensive and didn't look like it fit my requirements.

I did buy a holster type case that also had a keyclick type thing from a guy on ebay for about 20$. I works pretty well but does not fully cover the HF100, is a little tight with the 809 attached (I haven't tried it with my knockoff 819 yet), has no room for batteries etc and is a little flimsy for my tastes. It will work well for inside gigs where you won't need any spare stuff, or can store it elsewhere but would not work if it was raining outside.

In my never ending quest, I went to a couple of big box places, ebay and then stumbled across the Case Logic stuff. I've had other cases from them for cd type stuff and have usually liked their gear.

So I went to their website and think I have found what I am looking for. They have a case, labeled TBC-4, that looks like it will be ideal. I've ordered one and will get back to you all with some pics once it arrives.

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and an Oppo 103 (bye bye PS3). There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is online now  
post #1701 of 3812 Old 08-01-2008, 07:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,298
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV Freak View Post

For those with the charger, can you tell me the dimension? Thank you!

I have one, the dimensions are roughly 3 1/2" x 2 1/2" x 1". It's quite compact. The 110v electrical prongs fold flat into the back of it. Works nicely.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #1702 of 3812 Old 08-01-2008, 04:57 PM
Senior Member
 
comptr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Arizona
Posts: 353
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well I bought the HF-100 for my vacation and I came back and it worked great. I bought the HF-100 2 16gig pny SDHC cards. For batteries I used the original BP-809S, I also bought a BP-809B locally to have a secound battery, and while I was on my trip at a store I found a BP-819 and I bought it. So with 3 batteries and 2 SDHC cards it was great. The only thing I wished I had is more SDHC cards other then that its great. I stuck one of the SDHC cards in the ps3 and the video looks great. Is there any way of copying the card onto the ps3?
comptr is offline  
post #1703 of 3812 Old 08-01-2008, 06:54 PM
Member
 
JeffInDFW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Like the rest of the free world, I am also looking for a BP-819 for my vacation in one week. During my frantic research, I have found out that The BP-827 has just been announced in Japan. Larger capacity than the 819, but I have no further information.
JeffInDFW is offline  
post #1704 of 3812 Old 08-01-2008, 09:48 PM
Senior Member
 
kalak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffInDFW View Post

During my frantic research, I have found out that The BP-827 has just been announced in Japan. Larger capacity than the 819, but I have no further information.

Yes, I have posted about this a while ago in the HF11 thread. Here are the specs:

BP-827: 2670mAh; 121g
BP-819: 1780mAh; 85g
BP-809: 890mAh; 47g
kalak is offline  
post #1705 of 3812 Old 08-01-2008, 11:05 PM
Senior Member
 
HDTV Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you think the BP-827 will be bigger than the 819?

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

I have one, the dimensions are roughly 3 1/2" x 2 1/2" x 1". It's quite compact. The 110v electrical prongs fold flat into the back of it. Works nicely.

That's much smaller than the charger for the knockoff battery.
HDTV Freak is offline  
post #1706 of 3812 Old 08-01-2008, 11:10 PM
Senior Member
 
kalak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDTV Freak View Post

Do you think the BP-827 will be bigger than the 819?

Absolutely!

809 vs 819 vs 827:


Here's another coming new accessory, the VL-5 video light powered by the accessory shoe:
kalak is offline  
post #1707 of 3812 Old 08-01-2008, 11:17 PM
Senior Member
 
HDTV Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doh! I already got 2 bp-819 knockoffs from ebay.
HDTV Freak is offline  
post #1708 of 3812 Old 08-11-2008, 07:59 AM
Member
 
Nerte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia, EU
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
WTF where are our newest posts?
Nerte is offline  
post #1709 of 3812 Old 08-11-2008, 08:07 AM
Member
 
liamtoh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Near Detroit
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsimmons2005 View Post

Just as a reminder, that when you buy using your Amex from a decent online retailer, your warranty is extended 2 more years, whereas ebay sales are not included....something to consider. Plus much easier to get service on authorized dealers instead of ebayers

How will it (Amex Warranty) work when you purchase it from an authorized dealer on Ebay?
liamtoh1 is offline  
post #1710 of 3812 Old 08-11-2008, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
HDTV Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Something happened to the database?
HDTV Freak is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off