Sony HVR-HD1000 connection problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-30-2008, 06:21 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aaron98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A year or so ago, I purchased a (new) Sony HVR-HD1000 high definition camcorder.

With my new laptop, I can't get the camera to be recognised by the laptop.

Here's the story behind the problem:

I also bought a PCI firewire port slot for my PC so that I could connect the camera to the computer. That was with Windows XP. Connection was unreliable at times, but usually it worked and thus I was able to 'capture' video from my camera. All was good.

Then, my PC broke (later found to be the result of the power supply giving up). After giving up on fixing it for a while, I deemed it a good time to buy a new computer - this time a laptop. I made sure that it had a firewire port (4 pin). It ran on Vista Home Premium (32 bit).

When I connected the camera to the computer using the firewire cable, nothing happened. No device detected, nothing on 'My Computer' to suggest anything had been connected.

By this time, I figured out that my PC may have had a power supply failure, and so I replaced the power supply and one of the first things I did was check that the camera connected. It did. (Remember: this PC runs on XP).

Then, soon afterwards my desktop PC broke again: I think it was the power supply. Seeing as I don't want to throw power supply after power supply at it, I kinda need my laptop to work with my camera.

So, the cable isn't the problem, the camera isn't the problem. What is? Something to do with my new laptop, then, surely?

-I check device manager: sure enough, my firewire port is fully functioning.
-I look for a new driver from Sony: no luck finding that.
-I start up in Safe Mode: no success.

Anyone know where to find a driver for the HVR-HD1000 so that it works with Vista (etc)?
Any other ideas would be deeply appreciated.
aaron98 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-30-2008, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaron98 View Post

A year or so ago, I purchased a (new) Sony HVR-HD1000 high definition camcorder.

With my new laptop, I can't get the camera to be recognised by the laptop.

Here's the story behind the problem:

I also bought a PCI firewire port slot for my PC so that I could connect the camera to the computer. That was with Windows XP. Connection was unreliable at times, but usually it worked and thus I was able to 'capture' video from my camera. All was good.

Then, my PC broke (later found to be the result of the power supply giving up). After giving up on fixing it for a while, I deemed it a good time to buy a new computer - this time a laptop. I made sure that it had a firewire port (4 pin). It ran on Vista Home Premium (32 bit).

When I connected the camera to the computer using the firewire cable, nothing happened. No device detected, nothing on 'My Computer' to suggest anything had been connected.

By this time, I figured out that my PC may have had a power supply failure, and so I replaced the power supply and one of the first things I did was check that the camera connected. It did. (Remember: this PC runs on XP).

Then, soon afterwards my desktop PC broke again: I think it was the power supply. Seeing as I don't want to throw power supply after power supply at it, I kinda need my laptop to work with my camera.

So, the cable isn't the problem, the camera isn't the problem. What is? Something to do with my new laptop, then, surely?

-I check device manager: sure enough, my firewire port is fully functioning.
-I look for a new driver from Sony: no luck finding that.
-I start up in Safe Mode: no success.

Anyone know where to find a driver for the HVR-HD1000 so that it works with Vista (etc)?
Any other ideas would be deeply appreciated.

I dont know what software you are using but firstly get it to recognise the the cam,does the laptop bong when you switch the cam on.
flintyplus is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-30-2008, 08:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
aaron98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nope. There's no form of acknowledgement from the laptop whatsoever.
aaron98 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-06-2009, 02:13 PM
Newbie
 
johanbju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi!
Sorry.. Old thread, but have you found a solution for this problem? I have - all of a sudden - exactly the same problem with my SONY HVR-HD1000E! I have tried several computers, and none can find the camera. It works with other DV cameras...

Thank's! /JOHAN
johanbju is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-14-2011, 06:13 AM
Newbie
 
julekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also have the same sony HVR-HD1000e camera firewire problem.

I try to connect the camera to a pc by the firewire port using Adobe CS4. But Adobe is displaying "Capture Device Offline" in capture mode.

So I tried to connect the camera to a laptop, but that fails to.

Then i tried to connect a Panasonic NV-GS300 to the same laptop with the same cable, and the panasonic camera has connection.

So I think the hardware of the firewire output interface of the sony HVR-HD1000e camera is damaged, and that we were ripped off by Sony
julekker is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-28-2012, 02:53 AM
Newbie
 
julekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10



julekker is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off