The Sony HDR-XR500V and XR520V Owners thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1682 Old 02-26-2009, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks for the heads up Skywise, I placed my order and it should be here Monday.

Quote:


Sony SOHDRXR500V - HDR-XR500V 120GB High Definition Handycam Camcorder

Pained me to pay full retail but I figure I'll get to do the whole unboxing thing and be the sucker/guinea pig for once =) I'm in a wedding in April so the Canon won't be out till after that and this gives me a chance to learn the ropes with the Sony before the big day.

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1682 Old 02-27-2009, 07:51 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
It's shipped, so it really is in stock.

Sam

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #33 of 1682 Old 02-27-2009, 09:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Since folks here know how to record and edit and render video properly so it stays in it's native shot state, PLEASE can someone post some nature video or something in both day and night shots when their cameras arrive?

The test video I saw looked super bright. And that was from a Japanese website. I'm hoping that's not how all footage looks...because where it not for that feature, this looks like it could be near broadcast HD.

Thanks!
Neil (waiting till some Best Buy Deals come around. Those 12% coupons will finally come in handy...along with the trade in center)

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #34 of 1682 Old 02-27-2009, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suzook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 5,483
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
just ordered mine from onecall.
Suzook is offline  
post #35 of 1682 Old 02-27-2009, 09:50 AM
Senior Member
 
the_Skywise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadath View Post

It's shipped, so it really is in stock.

Sam

Alright, I demand a review from you by Monday night so I know if I can purchase one.
the_Skywise is offline  
post #36 of 1682 Old 02-27-2009, 10:09 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I won't have it in my hands until at least 5:15 Monday, so lets not push things. I do have a pro account at Smugmug tho and it's my understanding they will host videos of any size, so I will take and post a few different test shots at different resolutions and lighting schemes for folks to see....

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #37 of 1682 Old 02-27-2009, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #38 of 1682 Old 02-28-2009, 10:56 PM
Newbie
 
clarkada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Fwiw, I received my HDR XR500V Friday from BHPhotoVideo. My last camcorder was a DCR-TRV38, so this was going to be a big step up no matter what. Having said that, so far I'm very impressed.

I haven't watched any of the footage I've taken on my big-screen, but I previewed some footage on my PC and was very impressed... And I'm extremely impressed by the steady shot. It's miles beyond what the 38 had. And I was very impressed that the GPS was able to quickly acquire a signal indoors, even though my Garmin GPS (2-3 years old) has a very hard time inside. I haven't had much time to really play with all the features, but I'm a happy camper so far.

I've been watching this (and other threads) for info on new camcorders, and since no one else seems to have firsthand experience yet I thought I'd share mine with everyone. Enjoy!
clarkada is offline  
post #39 of 1682 Old 03-01-2009, 07:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does it look so bright that the image looks like it's over contrasted or something? Or does it have good black resolution where dark as night really DOES look dark as night rather than dark with a bit of lightness to it?

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #40 of 1682 Old 03-01-2009, 07:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Interesting.... I just noticed the codec...

Quote:
High Definition: MPEG4 AVC/H.264

Is this an indication that Sony is moving AWAY from avchd?

....or is B&H photo wrong because camcorderinfo.com is clearly saying avchd
bigbarney is offline  
post #41 of 1682 Old 03-01-2009, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkada View Post

Fwiw, I received my HDR XR500V Friday from BHPhotoVideo.

Can you confirm for me whether or not is has the REAL infra red night shot for me? That's a pretty important feature and I hate the thought of losing that ability.
bigbarney is offline  
post #42 of 1682 Old 03-01-2009, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
clarkada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@NV5655: I took some video this morning of my snow-covered lawn with bright sun coming down, and yet my BBQ cover still looked good and dark. I think contrast quality is pretty subjective, but I'm pretty happy with the dark levels on it.

@bigbarney: good question. I can tell you that the video files from it are coming off as AVCHD video files, though.

and

What do you mean by "real" infra red? It has three light setting on the inside panel: "STD", "Low Lux", and "Nightshot". The latter is what I'm used to for "infra red" video, but I don't know if you're talking about something else... The middle one is just an increased sensitivity, but still color and all.
clarkada is offline  
post #43 of 1682 Old 03-01-2009, 09:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I can't wait to see some video shots uploaded uncompressed from folks.

I just had a rare shot opportunity ruined with my Sony SR11 because the shot came out super blurry.

Has anyone tested to see if the focus abilities are improved?

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #44 of 1682 Old 03-01-2009, 06:18 PM
Member
 
brothers's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sudbury, MA
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HDR-XR520V is supposed to arrive Wednesday (directly from Sony, since nobody that I would consider reliable seems to be discounting it yet). A couple of points of curiosity, for those who have already received theirs:

From pictures in the various reviews, it appears that the viewfinder extends (telescopes). Does it? My DCR-TRV20 did that, but I missed it on the HDR-SR12. There were just some situations that the non-extending viewfinder made awkward.

Second, what limitations does the "Easy" button impose? I'd love to be able to tell my wife to just press that button and shoot, but on the SR12, it set a lower resolution than the camera was capable of, and I considered that unacceptable.

Thanks -
- Dennis Brothers
brothers is offline  
post #45 of 1682 Old 03-01-2009, 09:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I'm taking tomorrow morning off to ensure UPS does not hose me.

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #46 of 1682 Old 03-01-2009, 10:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkada View Post


What do you mean by "real" infra red? It has three light setting on the inside panel: "STD", "Low Lux", and "Nightshot". The latter is what I'm used to for "infra red" video, but I don't know if you're talking about something else... The middle one is just an increased sensitivity, but still color and all.

With the infra red night view on my HC3 I can shoot in total darkness. There is an infra red light on the front of the HC3 which emits an infra red beam. You can't see anything in front of you (pitch black) but you look at the lcd panel and everything is clearly visible... it's simply in that mono green color. That's real infra red night shot. I know the old Sony's have it.... i just don't know about the new ones... and it's an option that I would find tough to live without!!
bigbarney is offline  
post #47 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another question...

Since I don't need to buy it right away (Despite LOVE getting new gadgets instantly), does anyone know the following:

1 - Does best buy have the gadget trade in actually IN stores, or only via an online web portal, for instant discounts?

2 - When do the 12% off BB coupons usually come in the mail? I'm hoping once a month .

3 - when is the next big holiday sale?

Only a few months after I bought the SR11 at full price at BB, did it go down to about $995's. So now I'm waiting till at least May to purchase the upgrade for the best deal .

Eagerly awaiting footage uploads .

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #48 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Thanks to Snow Day I was off anyway and UPS wasn't, it's here! Pix soon!

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #49 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Full Unboxing Flickr Set is here at:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kadath/...7614709169036/

Will be blogging my tests at:
http://www.navesink.net/2009/03/sony...d-testing.html

Will post Videos at:
http://www.eaholaula.com

Battery is charging now, so vids soon! Yay for Snow days!

Sam

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #50 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 01:44 PM
Senior Member
 
the_Skywise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadath View Post

Full Unboxing Flickr Set is here at:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kadath/...7614709169036/

Will be blogging my tests at:
http://www.navesink.net/2009/03/sony...d-testing.html

Will post Videos at:
http://www.eaholaula.com

Battery is charging now, so vids soon! Yay for Snow days!

Sam

Danke!

2 questions -

Does the documentation say if the AVCHD compression is still set for 16-17mbps instead of 24?

Does it allow you to record directly to memory stick or must you use the hard drive?
the_Skywise is offline  
post #51 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 01:59 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Will try to look up in the manual to answer both of those authoritatively but I believe the answers are it is a 17mb max and you can menu select which device to record to only at capture time, ie I dont think you can internally transfer stuff recorded on HD to Stick or vice versa.

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #52 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 02:26 PM
Senior Member
 
elifino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadath View Post

Will try to look up in the manual to answer both of those authoritatively but I believe the answers are it is a 17mb max and you can menu select which device to record to only at capture time, ie I dont think you can internally transfer stuff recorded on HD to Stick or vice versa.

(since you sony guys were so kind to invade the panny thread)

On the new Panasonic, the published specs indicate that the camcorder can fill up one media, then continue recording on the other media in real time, without having to stop. Pretty cool, but I wonder how that continuity is structured when importing into the editor.
elifino is offline  
post #53 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Don't think the Sony can do anything like that.

First Video is up on http://www.eaholaula.com, but it will be of dubious help for you judging the capabilities of this camera.

-Only changes I made to the out of box settings was to select full HD recording, and yes it seems to cap at 16MB.
-I'm not sure if the IS was on or not. I havent read the book yet and the menus were somewhat obtuse. I'm hping it wasnt cause it looks like it could use some stabilization.
-It was shot at Dusk
-I only have iMovie 08, which resizes all files to a max of 920 wide or something stupid like that.
-I'm a total noob with iMovie
-It was shot at dusk
-After iMovie resized it, Smugmug resized it again.

I'm uploading the same file to Flickr to see how that looks. Smugmug makes it look very 'jumpy'.

I'm also going to hook it up to my lcd flat panel later, but that's only a 720p set...

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #54 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heya,

There are some free websites that let you upload the raw file for free, but I can't remember the names. It was something along the lines up MegaUpload, but I don't think that was it...

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #55 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 04:36 PM
Senior Member
 
the_Skywise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis, IN, USA
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice. In the tower shot when you zoom in on it, do you notice the color pixelation on the original or is that artifacting just part of the reconversions?

Thanks!
the_Skywise is offline  
post #56 of 1682 Old 03-02-2009, 07:13 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
The problem is iMovie natively downresses. Here is the raw iMovie 08 output:
http://www.navesink.net/2009/03/sony...test-film.html

Once I get a better editor tomorrow (Hopefully iMovie 09 or Premier) I will post the full 1080p file on Navesink.Net

Here's a native .MTS file, it plays like crap on my Mac Pro via VLC...

Don't kill my bandwidth please if you don't need a real MTS file =)

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #57 of 1682 Old 03-03-2009, 06:55 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Tried hooking it up to my flat panel last night only to discover it has a MINI-HDMI connector and not a full sized one. WTF, wasn't this the reason HDMI was invented so we didn't have all these different cable standards?

Rather than a Mini HDMI to HDMI cable I ordered an adapter dongle, hopefully they ship me the right one with the tapered end and not the blocky one. Since I was ordereing anyway I added on the neoprene case, the travel charger and the monster sized NPFH100 battery too so if I do longer events like a Wedding I'll have plenty of juice between the two batteries...

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #58 of 1682 Old 03-03-2009, 10:25 AM
Member
 
Tegels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadath View Post

The problem is iMovie natively downresses. Here is the raw iMovie 08 output:
http://www.navesink.net/2009/03/sony...test-film.html

Once I get a better editor tomorrow (Hopefully iMovie 09 or Premier) I will post the full 1080p file on Navesink.Net

Here's a native .MTS file, it plays like crap on my Mac Pro via VLC...

Don't kill my bandwidth please if you don't need a real MTS file =)

Thanks Kadath for uploading a raw file. I downloaded it and tested in CS 4 and Studio 12. It plays smooth on my computer. I'm waiting the new Sony's are available in Europe (Holland), maybe I've to wait till april..... whoehoehoe!! Why're the Americans always first...

Greetings
Tegels is offline  
post #59 of 1682 Old 03-03-2009, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Kadath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 835
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
What kind of machine are you playing back on? I'm investigating editors and Premiere CS4 sounds like it might work for me, might not be great on my Mac Pro...

Buncha savages in this town....

Sam Posten
Kadath is offline  
post #60 of 1682 Old 03-03-2009, 11:55 AM
Member
 
oldcpu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Europe
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kadath View Post

Here's a native .MTS file, it plays like crap on my Mac Pro via VLC...

Don't kill my bandwidth please if you don't need a real MTS file =)

Thanks from me to Kadath for also uploading a raw mts file.

Under openSUSE-11.1 Linux, I was able to play it poorly (no audio) with vlc. It played correctly with ffplay (a player that comes with ffmpeg). And it did not play with mplayer.

More precisely, on openSUSE-11.1: I dragged and dropped it into the kdenlive non-linear-video editor's project tree (place to store input files). I selected it with the "clip monitor" in kdenlive, marked the stop and start position of a portion of it, and dragged that marked portion into the time line. I then selected render, selected my output format, and it rendered properly. Nice video! I could easily add it NOW (ie today) to any video project. No expensive software additions required.

This was on my Dell Studio 15 laptop, with an Intel Dual Core P8400 CPU and 4GB of RAM and an ATI-3450 graphic card. I then took the raw mts file on my very old 32-bit athlon-2800 PC, with 2GB RAM and an old nVidia FX5200 graphics. Again, I dragged it into kdenlive ... etc ... clicked render and it rendered properly. I do note that the raw mts file played properly with ffplay on my old athlon-2800 but the audio was poor. However the final rendered version played good with audio and video on the old athlon-2800 using vlc, mplayer, ... etc ....

Now the very old Athlon 2800+ CPU was much slower than the Dual Core P8400 (and I don't like slow) , but it was stable, and it shows what one can do with good software !

So I am happy to note the free open source Linux application kdenlive http://kdenlive.org/ appears to handle that video format. [Note not all Linux distributions have the updated ffmpeg svn version that makes this possible with an older PC ... for example I've read complaints from Ubuntu users]. I think kdenlive with this sort of success may help to claw back a very small amount of the big edge that Windows and Mac have on NLE in Linux.
oldcpu is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off