The "Official" Canon HFS10 / HFS100 Owner's Thread - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 476 Old 06-21-2010, 06:49 AM
Newbie
 
rocknrollchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
(one more) How does your fancy rig translate towards run & gun/shoulder mounted shooting? Or do you have other gear for that? I would love any/all input on the best accessories for the handheld shots.

thanks,

m
rocknrollchef is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 476 Old 06-22-2010, 04:30 AM
Newbie
 
rocknrollchef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aloha All:

Just got my VIXIA a few weeks ago from B & H Photo - I think this camera is now discontinued, so I got it for $700.00.

QUESTION: Even though I love the ability to control the audio level, I've noticed some pretty pronounced (annoying) compression/limiting from my lavalier mic on the footage - is there any way to turn it off? FYI, I've been shooting in 24p Cine mode, if that makes a difference.

OVERVIEW. More, as an "old school" shooter, I would say the difference here is how much of the controls are internal/digital, vs. knobs & buttons. Quite a learning curve, but it's looking like it will be worth it when it comes to HD quality footage.

Finally, I'm wondering where the best place is to get answers to some of the tricky stuff and/or "inside tricks" for this camera?

thanks,

m
rocknrollchef is offline  
post #453 of 476 Old 07-30-2010, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
tenks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by redshinobi View Post

This might have been covered somewhere but i started to get a headache looking for it

How do you encode it videos and not get this choppy result:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TNiunblbLnw

i have a canon hf s100. i use adobe premier. i shoot in MXP @ 24p and i set the premier project at 1080 24p. i use the export encoder and this is what i get

When you find this answer, you and I will both be suprised. Canon's "24p" option is a ****ing crap lie and it has wasted probably 50+ hours of my time for nothing.
tenks777 is offline  
post #454 of 476 Old 07-30-2010, 10:12 AM
Newbie
 
tenks777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HAS ANYONE FOUND OUT HOW TO EDIT the footage shot with this camera's "24p" setting??

I've looked+tried for what seems like a year, and still haven't found a solution. The entire year I've owned this camera, i have been trying to figure out how to edit 24p footage from the HFS10. It doesn't go into any Adobe Premier CS5 preset timeline, even the canon ones.
tenks777 is offline  
post #455 of 476 Old 07-30-2010, 02:39 PM
Member
 
eiker_ir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Posts: 115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone knows a good lens hood that fits the WD-H58 wide lens adapter?
eiker_ir is offline  
post #456 of 476 Old 08-05-2010, 11:29 AM
Newbie
 
chops411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenks777 View Post

HAS ANYONE FOUND OUT HOW TO EDIT the footage shot with this camera's "24p" setting??

I've looked+tried for what seems like a year, and still haven't found a solution. The entire year I've owned this camera, i have been trying to figure out how to edit 24p footage from the HFS10. It doesn't go into any Adobe Premier CS5 preset timeline, even the canon ones.

eugenia.gnomefiles.org/2008/01/04/canon-avchd-24p-pulldown-removal/
or
cineform.com
chops411 is offline  
post #457 of 476 Old 08-05-2010, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,779
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by tenks777 View Post

When you find this answer, you and I will both be suprised. Canon's "24p" option is a ****ing crap lie and it has wasted probably 50+ hours of my time for nothing.

It is not exactly what you think it is, but I agree that Canon should have implemented native 24p on their AVCHD models right from the start.
Ungermann is offline  
post #458 of 476 Old 08-08-2010, 10:28 PM
Member
 
Shinnbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All

I have an odd issue with the auto closing lens on my hfs100. All of a sudden only one half (the same half) will open or close. Is this mechanism easily broken and/or fixed?

Any thought would be helpful before I send it in for service.

Thx
John

P.s. Apologize that I couldn't search thoroughly for previous responses but am on vacation and only have iPhone kludgy access. Thx.
Shinnbone is offline  
post #459 of 476 Old 09-03-2010, 08:29 PM
Newbie
 
Bondtana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone recommend a good bang for your buck macro lense for the HFS100?
Bondtana is offline  
post #460 of 476 Old 09-16-2010, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
mark-mvs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it my imagination or does the picture stutter a lot in this mode? I know everyone tells me that it looks more like film but when I've experimented with it, the display on my camera is very very jerky. Especially if both I and the subject are moving. If the camera is on a tripod and the subject is not moving or not moving much, it looks ok, but well.... I don't get it... it doesn't look so good to me in this mode (with or without cinema mode enabled.)

thoughts... maybe I'm doing something wrong...

thanks
Mark
mark-mvs is offline  
post #461 of 476 Old 09-16-2010, 04:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,779
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark-mvs View Post

Is it my imagination or does the picture stutter a lot in this mode? I know everyone tells me that it looks more like film but when I've experimented with it, the display on my camera is very very jerky. Especially if both I and the subject are moving. If the camera is on a tripod and the subject is not moving or not moving much, it looks ok, but well.... I don't get it... it doesn't look so good to me in this mode (with or without cinema mode enabled.)

If you don't know how to use it then do not use it. This frame rate is for those with "indie film" aspirations. Forget about it. Use 60i for converting to DVDs, or 30p for uploading to YouTube.
Ungermann is offline  
post #462 of 476 Old 09-17-2010, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
ktoolsie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 656
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

If you don't know how to use it then do not use it. This frame rate is for those with "indie film" aspirations. Forget about it. Use 60i for converting to DVDs, or 30p for uploading to YouTube.

I agree. Instead use 30p in Shutter speed priority mode, with the shutter speed set to 1/30 sec.
ktoolsie is offline  
post #463 of 476 Old 09-26-2010, 09:35 PM
Newbie
 
gomes_la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may not be the right palce for it bt someone a while back had asked about coverting the mts files. So I'm just sharing some of my experiences over the last 7 months since I've had this camera. I had been looking for something to batch encode a lot of videos at once of my son growing up. For ages the only thing I could find was Sony Vegas Pro that could handle the mts and output to something I could display on the web. Unfortunately I didn't really have the money for it so looked for other things. But as I'm a big fan of open source and I found a good free encoder you can use called ffmpeg. It's all command line and you have to play with it a bit to get the results you want but I am able to encode from and to to a bunch of different formats for the web like flash and quicktime mov, and the newer webm format. This has been useful for me because I've been able to just deal with videos from my canon hsf100, iphone and flip in one place. I'm not bashing Sony Vegas Pro it seems like a fantastic tool for the pro, but if you're someone like me just looking to share some videos on the web with your family then this does the trick. If you're decent at some programming language like java you can write a wrapper around the command line executable to generate different formats. Just search for ffmpeg and google should bring it up as the first result.

Just thought I'd share my experience this may not be for everyone as I'm just experimenting. Here are the command lines I use look at he extension for output type:

ffmpeg.exe -i c:\ emp2\\input\\20100404123623.mts -s 640x480 -y -keyint_min 0 -g 250 -skip_threshold 0 -qmin 1 -qmax 51 -vcodec libvpx -b 614400 -acodec libvorbis c:\ emp2\\vids\\20100404123623.webm

ffmpeg.exe -i c:\ emp2\\input\\20100404123623.mts -qscale 4.0 -s 640x480 -y -ar 22050 -ab 96k -f flv c:\ emp2\\vids\\20100404123623.flv

And for a thumbnail


ffmpeg.exe -i c:\ emp2\\input\\20100404123623.mts -s 320x240 -y -ss 1 -sameq -vframes 1 -an -f mjpeg c:\ emp2\\vids\\20100404123623.jpg
gomes_la is offline  
post #464 of 476 Old 10-10-2010, 03:37 PM
Newbie
 
ddash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Everybody,

I am new here,but this thread really helped me make my decision on what camcorder to get. It was between the Canon HF200 and the Canon HF S100. After reading hundreds of reviews and comments,I finally bought a refurbished Canon HF S100 today. It just seemed to be much better than the HF200 and the price difference was only $150. Canon told me that much of their refurbished camcorders were unused overstock items that were returned from stores. I will see when I get mines,but I got it for a great price.

Canon has a big sale on their website until October 23. I also found a 5% off coupon.

Here is the 5% off code 5VIDRFB
Just copy and paste it in the promotional box when you checkout.

Thanks
ddash
ddash is offline  
post #465 of 476 Old 10-14-2010, 05:42 PM
Newbie
 
ddash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received my camcorder today and man does it looks brand new. I ordered my 8gb sdhc card,but it hasnt arrived yet. It wont be here until monday which sucks. I think i might go buy 1 tomorrow to shoot some test footage.
ddash is offline  
post #466 of 476 Old 10-20-2010, 07:49 AM
Newbie
 
chops411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddash View Post

I received my camcorder today and man does it looks brand new. I ordered my 8gb sdhc card,but it hasnt arrived yet. It wont be here until monday which sucks. I think i might go buy 1 tomorrow to shoot some test footage.

Congrats. Its a great camcorder.
chops411 is offline  
post #467 of 476 Old 10-22-2010, 06:04 AM
Newbie
 
ddash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks chops.

I did a couple test shots around the house and boy does it look great. I only paid $474 for it and it looked perfectly brand new.I bought a 16gb card,8 gb card,BP827 battery,tripod and mini hdmi cable for only $75 extra.

I am very happy with my purchase. The only thing I didnt like was that imovie didnt open up the mts files,which I knew before hand. I found a great little free program called handbrake that converts the mts files nicely.
ddash is offline  
post #468 of 476 Old 10-25-2010, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AbMagFab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know what the best consumer/prosumer software is for video editing video that comes off this, and similar, camcorders?

My main requirement is no transcoding, 30p 60i or 24p, so that all work is native. So if I want to simply chain a couple clips together, it should be nearly instant (time code adjustments aside).

Ideally Mac OSX, but Windows 7 is fine as well.

I've searched around (Vegas, Final Cut), but theres's nothing in the software descriptions that talk about native editing or no transcoding of certain formats.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

TiVo is on it's way out - stream everything!
AbMagFab is offline  
post #469 of 476 Old 10-26-2010, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
chops411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used Sony Vegas Pro.
chops411 is offline  
post #470 of 476 Old 01-12-2011, 08:10 AM
Newbie
 
TheDarkMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys!

I'm new to this forum, so HI!

I need your expert knowledge about settings on my HF S100:

I'm into filming rally car races and there's one race coming up in February. It's winter (lots of snow) and lots of speeding cars going by. Any suggestions about getting the best images for that kind of action?

Thanks for you help!

The Dark Mike
TheDarkMike is offline  
post #471 of 476 Old 01-12-2011, 02:06 PM
Newbie
 
chops411's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDarkMike View Post

Hey guys!

I'm new to this forum, so HI!

I need your expert knowledge about settings on my HF S100:

I'm into filming rally car races and there's one race coming up in February. It's winter (lots of snow) and lots of speeding cars going by. Any suggestions about getting the best images for that kind of action?

Thanks for you help!

Make sure your white balance is right, and have your shutter speed up high, maybe around ( TV 250) or higher, depending on light.
chops411 is offline  
post #472 of 476 Old 02-02-2011, 03:31 AM
Member
 
akaTRENT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys looking for some help here with a possible mic issue.

Whenever I use external mics with my HFS 100 there is a ton of hiss.

It happens with the DM100 which i promptly returned for a lav (audio technica at898) but I am still having the problems. The hiss with external mics is worse than the built in mic, and no matter how I set the levels I can't seem to fix the issue.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
akaTRENT is offline  
post #473 of 476 Old 03-16-2011, 04:32 PM
Member
 
zero7404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
can the S10 be able to support 64GB and 128GB SD Cards ?

once prices come down a bit, i'll go for one of these cards, it's much easier to pull the card and put it in the pc than set up the charger, usb cable and connect to pc to transfer files over.
zero7404 is offline  
post #474 of 476 Old 08-05-2011, 10:56 AM
Member
 
lt-cartman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all

Toolman here, after using a mates canon hfs10 for some live gig recordings and being very impressed with it. I just got my very own canon hfs10 yesterday from E-bay got the hfs-10 & a spare official Canon BP-819 battery a case, LCD hood & the canon WD-58 .07x58 Wide angle lens for 599 delivered - well chuffed I am :-).

I'm trying to match up the white balance with my hacked Panasonic GH1 - With the Panasonic GH1 I can input custom figures for the white balance say 4400 - which is important for me, as well as selecting the usual sunlight, shade etc settings.

So to my question does anyone here on the forum know what the equivalent degrees Kelvin settings are for the canons built in white balance pre-sets (looked in manual but it does not state them)

This way I can select the incandescent setting on the canon and just input the equivalent Kelvin setting on the GH1 (instead of risking the following scenario) - that the white balance setting for say incandescent is slightly different for canon than Panasonic.

Thanks in advance

Toolman
lt-cartman is offline  
post #475 of 476 Old 11-21-2011, 01:28 PM
Member
 
rudy4rail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by akaTRENT View Post

Hey guys looking for some help here with a possible mic issue.

Whenever I use external mics with my HFS 100 there is a ton of hiss.

It happens with the DM100 which i promptly returned for a lav (audio technica at898) but I am still having the problems. The hiss with external mics is worse than the built in mic, and no matter how I set the levels I can't seem to fix the issue.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Did you ever find a good mic? I'm looking at DM-100 but open to other options. I read it gave you problems. Thx.
rudy4rail is offline  
post #476 of 476 Old 12-30-2011, 05:39 PM
Newbie
 
lottel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have an HF S100 and was wondering if I can get some help with the following concerns:
1) do you have an alternative software that can import, organize, and store clips (better version of Pixela)
2) what is the best way to archive clips?
3) can you edit and then render the clips to a compressed version to make it play smoother in the computer

thanks a lot for your future responses
lottel is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off