Vegas Pro 9 out - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 04-20-2009, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know where we can get a trial? It doesn't seem to be availble on the official site..

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 04-20-2009, 01:45 PM
Member
 
osgcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NV5655 View Post

Anyone know where we can get a trial? It doesn't seem to be availble on the official site..

It isn't actually out until the 11th of May.

Steve
osgcn is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 04-20-2009, 06:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by osgcn View Post

It isn't actually out until the 11th of May.

Steve

I would expect the trial to be out a bit after that, but V9 does look good.

Preorder now and you get $50 off and your choice of one of 3 different plugins or sound effect packages free.

I've already ordered.... just have to wait now.
bigbarney is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 04-20-2009, 06:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
I should also add there is a free update patch from DVD5a to b out right now (some minor bug fixes)
bigbarney is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 04-20-2009, 08:29 PM
Member
 
osgcn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 113
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

I would expect the trial to be out a bit after that, but V9 does look good.

Preorder now and you get $50 off and your choice of one of 3 different plugins or sound effect packages free.

I've already ordered.... just have to wait now.

Yeah, I've placed my order also... though oddly enough, there is no record of the order on my account and I never received a confirmation email.

Oh well, I have an order number.

Steve
osgcn is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 12:35 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What I'm hoping in this one is Video-Redo like Smart Rendering for HD files.

IT doesn't have to be as quick, but I would like to be able to join multiple MTS files without any quality loss

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 02:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
img eL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,082
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Wow 64-bit action, 4k, RED editing! Will there be smoother avchd editing?
img eL is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 04:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by NV5655 View Post

What I'm hoping in this one is Video-Redo like Smart Rendering for HD files.

IT doesn't have to be as quick, but I would like to be able to join multiple MTS files without any quality loss

"Smart render" is not on the upgrade list and one would suspect that if existed they would have mentioned it so I wouldn't hold my breath.
bigbarney is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 05:10 AM
Senior Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

"Smart render" is not on the upgrade list and one would suspect that if existed they would have mentioned it so I wouldn't hold my breath.

I thought this quote from Sony's site referred to "smart rendering" in the section that talks about AVCHD/HDV support:

Quote:


Vegas Pro 9 software also has powerful no-recompress technology for faster render times.

If not, what does this refer to?


Also, is there a "usual" sequence in terms of the newer version becoming available in the Sony Vegas Movie Studio line? The Pro is still more money/features than I need, and if the next version of Movie Studio will fix the AVCHD rendering bug, that's all I'll need. Any idea on when SVMS 10 would appear, based on the schedule for Pro 9?

DLCPhoto is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post

I thought this quote from Sony's site referred to "smart rendering" in the section that talks about AVCHD/HDV support:



If not, what does this refer to?


Also, is there a "usual" sequence in terms of the newer version becoming available in the Sony Vegas Movie Studio line? The Pro is still more money/features than I need, and if the next version of Movie Studio will fix the AVCHD rendering bug, that's all I'll need. Any idea on when SVMS 10 would appear, based on the schedule for Pro 9?

Is there a Platinum 9 update that addresses this bug?
Pro 8 works great with AVCHD.
xfws is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,684
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
I think the "no-recompress" is for MPEG2 only as it is on previous version.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xfws View Post

Is there a Platinum 9 update that addresses this bug?

In a word, no!.

The bug has been known and documented on Sony's support forums for at least 6 months, probably more, and there is no official acknowledgement from Sony, nor any hint of a bug fix.

Quite ironic, in that a Sony product that emphasizes its ability to work with AVCHD files, has problem rendering this very same format, even when using AVCHD files created by a Sony HD Camcorder. Pretty embarassing for them, if you ask me.

I have no hope for a bug fix for SVMSPlatinum 9, and a small hope for it being fixed in Ver. 10 (whenever that is slated to come out).

DLCPhoto is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 11:46 AM
Newbie
 
burnside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NV5655 View Post

What I'm hoping in this one is Video-Redo like Smart Rendering for HD files.

IT doesn't have to be as quick, but I would like to be able to join multiple MTS files without any quality loss

Hey, VideoRedo has a Quickstream Fix option. Does Vegas Pro have something similar?

b
burnside is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post

In a word, no!.

The bug has been known and documented on Sony's support forums for at least 6 months, probably more, and there is no official acknowledgement from Sony, nor any hint of a bug fix.

Quite ironic, in that a Sony product that emphasizes its ability to work with AVCHD files, has problem rendering this very same format, even when using AVCHD files created by a Sony HD Camcorder. Pretty embarassing for them, if you ask me.

I have no hope for a bug fix for SVMSPlatinum 9, and a small hope for it being fixed in Ver. 10 (whenever that is slated to come out).

Maybe they leave it like that so that more people will buy the pro version...just a guess.
xfws is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: South Florida
Posts: 4,684
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by xfws View Post

Maybe they leave it like that so that more people will buy the pro version...just a guess.

No way. The pro version is 5 times more expensive, different market. It would be very stupid since they would lose customers to Ulead and Pinnacle instead.

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli View Post

No way. The pro version is 5 times more expensive, different market. It would be very stupid since they would lose customers to Ulead and Pinnacle instead.

I would agree, yet they must be able to fix it, but are not. So, why not?
xfws is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 04-21-2009, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by xfws View Post

Is there a Platinum 9 update that addresses this bug?
Pro 8 works great with AVCHD.

I don't know if Platinum has the same file IO plugins as vegas pro does but we had some crashing problems with pro and avchd that we managed to pull together a work-around for. You can try it on Platinum:

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=648152
bigbarney is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 04-22-2009, 04:27 AM
Senior Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

I don't know if Platinum has the same file IO plugins as vegas pro does but we had some crashing problems with pro and avchd that we managed to pull together a work-around for. You can try it on Platinum:

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=648152

This does sound very encouraging.

Can anybody here who has trouble rendering m2ts/AVCHD files with Sony Vegas Movie Studio Platinum 9.0b try this work-around and see if things improve as dramatically as most are reporting in the thread Bigbarney references?

Bigbarney - do you know if the files he suggests editing would be the same in the Movie Studio version of Vegas? ETA: Just saw that you mentioned you didn't know if the files were the same. Anyone?

Thanks! My trial version of SVMS9 is long expired so I can't try this out, but if results are encouraging, I may just have to buy it and take the chance.

DLCPhoto is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 04-22-2009, 11:23 AM
osv
AVS Special Member
 
osv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

I don't know if Platinum has the same file IO plugins as vegas pro does but we had some crashing problems with pro and avchd that we managed to pull together a work-around for. You can try it on Platinum:

http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/...ssageID=648152


thanks for the link, that is interesting... i have 3 hour raw avchd project on the vegas pro timeline right now, but i have no intention of rendering it out to avchd again, so i hopefully won't need to hassle with this.
osv is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 04-22-2009, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,610
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post

ces?

Bigbarney - do you know if the files he suggests editing would be the same in the Movie Studio version of Vegas? ETA: Just saw that you mentioned you didn't know if the files were the same. Anyone?

I have Vegas Pro so to be honest I could not tell you. BUT.... if it's anything like Vegas pro then you should have your main EXE program file (in pro it's called vegas80.exe... in vms it would PROBABLY be vms.exe... or something close to it) located in your root VMS folder. Then in a subfolder called "fileIO plugins" you will find a bunch more subfolders in there. Look for a folder called M2TSplug. It's the dll files in there you need to change the flag on.

This is all assuming of course that VMS is similar to Vegas pro.
bigbarney is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 04-22-2009, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

I have Vegas Pro so to be honest I could not tell you. BUT.... if it's anything like Vegas pro then you should have your main EXE program file (in pro it's called vegas80.exe... in vms it would PROBABLY be vms.exe... or something close to it) located in your root VMS folder. Then in a subfolder called "fileIO plugins" you will find a bunch more subfolders in there. Look for a folder called M2TSplug. It's the dll files in there you need to change the flag on.

This is all assuming of course that VMS is similar to Vegas pro.

Just had a look, and you're exactly correct. SVMS9 has the same subfolder and files as the Pro version. Unfortunately, while it is still installed on my system, it is the expired trial version, so I can't use it. I might have to take a chance, as I really need to something to work with my AVCHD files.

Has anybody tried this fix with the Movie Studio Platinum version of Vegas??

DLCPhoto is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 04-22-2009, 07:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post

Just had a look, and you're exactly correct. SVMS9 has the same subfolder and files as the Pro version. Unfortunately, while it is still installed on my system, it is the expired trial version, so I can't use it. I might have to take a chance, as I really need to something to work with my AVCHD files.

Has anybody tried this fix with the Movie Studio Platinum version of Vegas??

Vegas Movie Studio 9 Platinum Pro Pack looks to be a separate trial download; which is essentially Platinum 9 with extras included with the program.
If you haven't downloaded that one already, you can see if it works with what you're trying to do.

list of trials
http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/download/trials

download VMS9PPP
http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/.../moviestudiopp
xfws is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 04-22-2009, 08:02 PM
Senior Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by xfws View Post

Vegas Movie Studio 9 Platinum Pro Pack looks to be a separate trial download; which is essentially Platinum 9 with extras included with the program.
If you haven't downloaded that one already, you can see if it works with what you're trying to do.

list of trials
http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/download/trials

download VMS9PPP
http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/.../moviestudiopp

Thanks. This might be an option, as I think I have the plain Platinum version as a trial, not the Propack flavor. Guess I'll uninstall the one I have and try the Propack one, and see if I can get a fresh trial to check this out further.

Don

DLCPhoto is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 04-23-2009, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
DLCPhoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DLCPhoto View Post

Thanks. This might be an option, as I think I have the plain Platinum version as a trial, not the Propack flavor. Guess I'll uninstall the one I have and try the Propack one, and see if I can get a fresh trial to check this out further.

Don

Well, no dice - I either had the Platinum Propack Trial version the first time around, or in any case, after a complete uninstall/reinstall, it's still telling me my trial period is over.

Anybody try the fix that Bigbarney referenced on Sony VMS9b, to see if it enables relatively stable m2ts rendering?

DLCPhoto is offline  
Reply Camcorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off