Windows 7 64-bit and Pixela ImageMixer 3 SE - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-07-2009, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
juaniquillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was so happy with Windows 7, until I installed Pixela ImageMixer 3.

The program install without any problems, but when I try to save the videos to the computer, I get the following message:

"No memory card in the camcorder. Insert memory card, then re-connect"

I have the Canon HF-10, that has an internal memory. Pixela works fine in Windows XP in the same computer (dual boot)

I already updated the software to the lastest version and the camcorder to the latest firmware.

Has somebody here got pixela working in Windows 7?

It seems that the computer treat the camcorder as an USB hard drive, is there any special driver for this camcorder or just the generic USB one?
juaniquillo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-10-2009, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
juaniquillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After further investigation I can say that in windows 7 64-bit:

- Pixela works fine editing movies: cutting, adding transitions and audio tracks. As always, I get the best posible video quality.

- Pixela recognize a memory card inserted in my Canon HF-10, but it doesn't recognize the camcorder's internal memory.

I think the cause of this issue may be driver related.

If anyone here has any idea why the internal memory isn't detected by the program, please let me know.

Thanks.
juaniquillo is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-10-2009, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
juaniquillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Problem solved!

Windows 7 was working so well that I forgot to update the chipset drivers, once I did this, an Unknown Device appeared in the Device Manager, right click to update drivers and pixela recognized the camcorder's internal memory inmediately.

Another point to Windows 7!

Thank you so much for your help! (I love talking to myself)
juaniquillo is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-10-2009, 03:26 PM
Newbie
 
mitchelt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm curious as to why you would want to save the edited movie back to the camera?
mitchelt is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-10-2009, 04:17 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
juaniquillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mitchelt View Post

I'm curious as to why you would want to save the edited movie back to the camera?

I didn't want to, I was trying to get the movies from the camcorder to the computer.
juaniquillo is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-17-2009, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
jeffwine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I JUST RETURNED THE JVC EVERIO to costco. I spoke told pixela software does not work with vista 64. I am now looking at the Canon hf20, I called Pixela and they said this software is also not working with Vista 64. The canon uses Imagemixer 3, the JVC used Pixela media browser hd. Any thoughts
jeffwine is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-17-2009, 09:36 PM
Member
 
warriorking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dump Pixela altogether, Nero 8 and 9 works as well as Pinnacle 12 with your AVCHD camcorder footage in Vista 64Bit, I have used both with no issues, although I currently am using Sony Vegas Pro, Pinnacle 12 would be your best bet for a reasonable price point.....
warriorking is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-18-2009, 09:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
juaniquillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffwine View Post

I JUST RETURNED THE JVC EVERIO to costco. I spoke told pixela software does not work with vista 64. I am now looking at the Canon hf20, I called Pixela and they said this software is also not working with Vista 64. The canon uses Imagemixer 3, the JVC used Pixela media browser hd. Any thoughts

Everything is working perfect for me in Windows 7 RC 64 bits. I highly recommend to try windows 7, it is free.

Quote:
Originally Posted by warriorking View Post

Dump Pixela altogether, Nero 8 and 9 works as well as Pinnacle 12 with your AVCHD camcorder footage in Vista 64Bit, I have used both with no issues, although I currently am using Sony Vegas Pro, Pinnacle 12 would be your best bet for a reasonable price point.....

There's no much difference between Nero and Pixela, both Smart Render and you get the best possible video quality. At the same time, they are really basic tools.

I haven't used Pinnacle, but every single software out there has flaws and bugs editing AVCHD. Therefore, the convenience of using Pixela.
juaniquillo is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-18-2009, 11:24 AM
Newbie
 
jeffwine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This might seem like stupid question, but pinnacle or nero will work fine and see my camera when I plug it in the USB port?
jeffwine is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-18-2009, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
jeffwine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you get windows 7?
jeffwine is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-18-2009, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
juaniquillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffwine View Post

How do you get windows 7?

Hurry up, I think you can download it just until the end of the month. Also, Windows 7 RC is a valid path to the Retail Upgrade comming up in October.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win.../download.aspx

If you don't want to dish Vista, use a dual boot. GOOGLE it.
juaniquillo is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-18-2009, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
jeffwine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank You All. Pinnacle 12 worked perfect. I just need to figure out how to save Video like I saved photo. Folder by event or vacation. Thanks Again
jeffwine is offline  
Reply Camcorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off