Official Sanyo FH1/ FH1A/ HD2000 owners thread - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 592 Old 02-14-2010, 08:43 AM
Member
 
simpucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You would want to do time lapse video with still photographs; you do not need a camcorder for that.

Since the Sanyos do offer still photography, they are a safe bet. If you insist on using the video function and speed up the recording, you should consider that the Sanyos cannot record files larger than 4 GB. This is appx. 20+ minutes at the highest quality. You can, however, resume recording once the 4 GB file has been finalized. This takes several seconds and will probably go unnoticed once the recording is sped up in post-production.

Bottom line: Use still pictures for time lapse videos.
simpucker is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 592 Old 02-14-2010, 03:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 32
I just set up a new group in Vimeo for people to dump their native 1080 60p videos. I want them to be unaltered clips directly from the camera.
http://vimeo.com/groups/native1920x108060pclips
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #183 of 592 Old 02-15-2010, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by B.A.T View Post

I'm soon to become a first time camcorder owner and like a lot of you I am debating between this camera and the Canon HF 200. Can anybody tell me if the Sanyo has the capability to do time lapse video? If so, has anybody used it and how easy is it to use? Thanks for your help.

AFAIK, there is no option the tell it to take a snapshot every five minutes. That doesn't prevent your from using the remote and doing it the manual way. Or just recording video and extracting the needed frames at whatever interval. It does have a slight pause / transition period between 4GB files at about 23 minutes at 1080p60. A duration of about 5 seconds, I've manually done this pause and got a duration less than 6 seconds till it was recording again. As verified by an external sound source that didn't have an interruption. The Canon HF S10 probably has a lot more features towards this end if you're looking for a bit more automated approach.
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #184 of 592 Old 02-15-2010, 02:35 PM
Newbie
 
joyandrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
I'm considering the purchase of a .7 or .4 wide angle adapter for my vh1, but I'm wondering if I'll still be able to zoom with it on. Also, do I have to have Macro set to "on"?
joyandrob is offline  
post #185 of 592 Old 02-15-2010, 04:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joyandrob View Post

Hi,
I'm considering the purchase of a .7 or .4 wide angle adapter for my vh1, but I'm wondering if I'll still be able to zoom with it on. Also, do I have to have Macro set to "on"?

0.7x wide angle
0.4x fish eye

If it's on brand it "should" function through the zoom range. But if you're using a wide angle, zooming sort of defeats the function. Off brand varieties should work but there's really no way to know for sure, until you use one. The two main issues will be vignetting (black corners) and focus across the full image. In addition to the typical WA issues, curved lines aka semi-fish eye.
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #186 of 592 Old 02-15-2010, 06:36 PM
Newbie
 
B.A.T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your help. Looks like I'm leaning towards the Canon.
B.A.T is offline  
post #187 of 592 Old 02-16-2010, 06:41 AM
Newbie
 
joyandrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! Anyone know a good 3rd party option for a .7 wide angle lens for the fh1?
joyandrob is offline  
post #188 of 592 Old 02-16-2010, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
checking out youtube and vimeo clips for the FH1 with WA lens might helps isolate what works / doesn't. Plus potential feedback from those actually using them.
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #189 of 592 Old 02-16-2010, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
joyandrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good advice. I found a video on Vimeo where an english dude has had good success with a .45x lens from digital concepts. $30 + $8 shipping. I think I'll give it a try
joyandrob is offline  
post #190 of 592 Old 02-17-2010, 04:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Some shots from this past weekend at Mardis Gras in NOLA. Mostly full auto, and scaled down to 640x360 @ 30fps to facilitate a 7 minute+ clip and my dialup connection. Per usual youtube hoses the first 9 seconds on the reconvert. But not too bad considering that it's hand held. With a mellophone assist in some portions.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jv7yF62lD4c
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #191 of 592 Old 02-17-2010, 07:58 AM
Newbie
 
chungchau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I own the FH1A. When I transfer the media from camcorder to PC the video do not have date/time stamp. Is there a way to add date/time stamp to the video files? Also what is the difference between transferring using "Card Reader" vs "MTP"? I have been using ‘MTP’ since I am using Vista OS but I am wondering is there a diffenence.
chungchau is offline  
post #192 of 592 Old 02-17-2010, 08:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I use a card reader. If I "mv" the file in linux it keeps the original timestamp (assuming that you set the camcorders date/time right). If I "cp" the file it creates a new timestamp with the current date/time as perceived by the computer. I've never tried using the camcorders protocols, mainly because I don't like drawing down the battery any more than I have to. You can only drain+charge those things so many times. Not that $50 is a fortune, but why spend it if you don't have to?
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #193 of 592 Old 03-02-2010, 01:36 PM
Member
 
83trekker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump

To keep this thread going.
83trekker is offline  
post #194 of 592 Old 03-05-2010, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
Nala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ready to purchase a fh1a, but aresanyo's new releases, sh1, and gh1, improvements? the new video cams seem to have higher photo pixel counts but are they better for video. the website doesn't allow side by side comparisons. thanks.
Nala is offline  
post #195 of 592 Old 03-05-2010, 11:23 AM
Member
 
simpucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nala View Post

ready to purchase a fh1a, but aresanyo's new releases, sh1, and gh1, improvements? the new video cams seem to have higher photo pixel counts but are they better for video. the website doesn't allow side by side comparisons. thanks.

The HD2000 has a nice lens that can gather lots of light as indicated by the low F number (1.8). The lower that number, the better the low light capabilities. Additionally, the 2009 Sanyos can shoot at 60 (progressive) frames per second at Full HD resolution. The new 2010 models do not offer this feature.

I think they took a step back with their new models.

EDIT: The FH1 and FH1a offer 60 fps as well. The HD2000 and HD2000a have a better lens and a microphone input though.
simpucker is offline  
post #196 of 592 Old 03-05-2010, 12:50 PM
Senior Member
 
ronrosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The difference between F1.8 vs F2.0 aperture is nothing.

Biggest difference between FH1 and HD2000 is the mic input on the HD2000 and the physical layout. FH1 is horizontal, HD2000 is vertical.
ronrosa is offline  
post #197 of 592 Old 03-08-2010, 07:49 AM
Member
 
semifast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
F stop 1.8 is 1/3 more light than F 2.0.
semifast is offline  
post #198 of 592 Old 03-08-2010, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by semifast View Post

F stop 1.8 is 1/3 more light than F 2.0.

10% difference * PI for area. Not that any of that matters if the difference is off sensor, decreased by the quality of the glass, and other factors.
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #199 of 592 Old 03-08-2010, 03:15 PM
Senior Member
 
ronrosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by semifast View Post

F stop 1.8 is 1/3 more light than F 2.0.


F 1.8 is 1/3 of a F-Stop more open than F2.0.

That doesn't mean video will look 1/3 brighter on the HD2000 than the FH1. Side by side, it will look a little brighter. Some might not even see a difference.
ronrosa is offline  
post #200 of 592 Old 03-08-2010, 05:28 PM
Member
 
ronaldkwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldkwok View Post

Has anybody tested this with the 60p video from a HD2000/FH1? Upon further searching, I found that this Hornettek is identical to the Patriot Box Office media player that came out last year. Has anybody tested the PBO with a 60p Sanyo clip?

I managed to test the Hornettek Phantom recently with a Full HR, 60p Sanyo clip and it played OK. In fact, I tested the clip on an Asus O!Play and it played as well. Since both these media players use the Realtek 1073DD chip, I believe that any media player that uses the same chip should be able to play the Full HR video of the HD2000/FH1.
It did not work on the older version of WDTV where the picture breaks and the audio is jerky (my Blog has the details) but I was not able to test on the newer WDTV Live to see if it will work. This uses the Sigma 8655 chip, the major alternative to the Realtek chip currently. Has any user of the Sanyo HD2000/FH1 tried viewing a Full HR video using the WDTV Live? Did it work? Please share your experience.
ronaldkwok is offline  
post #201 of 592 Old 03-09-2010, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nala View Post

ready to purchase a fh1a, but aresanyo's new releases, sh1, and gh1, improvements? the new video cams seem to have higher photo pixel counts but are they better for video. the website doesn't allow side by side comparisons. thanks.

I was bumping through sanyo's site the other day looking for item numbers on the battery + wide angle options and saw the sh1. Specs wise, it appeared devoid of 60p (30p/60i), you gain a lot of zoom, but there's a footnote (* 4MP effective sensor or something like that). I'm not sure how you get a 10MP image from a 4MP sensor. I'm pretty sure the FH1 is an 8MP sensor, although it offers 12MP images.

If you need the zoom, probably the better option. If you desire 60p more, then not. I don't recall seeing the sensor specs, although I think I saw CCD in there, which I hate because of that star pattern light smear thingy. Anything shiny (car window, chrome, bald guy, light source) gets that effect.

However if the sensor is the same size that could mean more light per area and better low light performance. And maybe a higher bitrate for more accurate video content. Although I think the specs were still a bit missing for a lot of that detail to be determined. And if the stabilization isn't improved, 30x zoom could be pretty hideous, even on a decent tripod.

As I hook up my 42" 1080p HDTV to my desktop again and realize that some upgrade along the way makes 1080p a usable video resolution. Finally, as 1776x1000 was the last best effective usable resolution. Still a little grainy as a computer monitor, but 1080p video on a 1080p display is refreshing. Even if my 1.9GHz dual core isn't quite there with 60p just yet. 1080p video, unscaled and unedited, so refreshing. And revealing as the FH1 makes a better 720p cam IMO. But don't they all.
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #202 of 592 Old 03-09-2010, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,667
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The SH1 is basically a step below the FH1. Not just because of the lack of 1080 60p but because of the very slow lens which means that the low light capabilities of the FH1 should be better.
http://sanyo.com/xacti/english/produ..._sh1/spec.html
That camcorder should be $300 not $400 since you can already get the FH1A for $400.

Sanyo has not releases successors to the FH1A or the HD2000A yet. It would be nice if Panasonic gives it an optical stabilizer.
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #203 of 592 Old 03-10-2010, 04:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kCxbETf0zNo

Some bees that got confused. No flowers in bloom at that time, there are some this week though. So nice to be off of dialup. What would have taken 4 hours to upload took about 10 minutes. YT is still hosing the first 8 seconds on the reconvert. But that still leaves 52 seconds of goodness. Through the dirty kitchen window, so don't read too much into the optics.
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #204 of 592 Old 03-10-2010, 11:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
mariner888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Class 10 SDHC card

Has anyone tried using a Clsss 10 card?
mariner888 is offline  
post #205 of 592 Old 03-11-2010, 03:45 PM
Member
 
ramsinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boise
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello.
Just bought an FH1. Had one evening to play with it. Ordered a 16GB class6 SDHC card, but tested with a cheap 2GB card for now.. which works fine for testing. This is my first "nice" HD camera.. I just sold off my A-HD 720p camera.

First of all I like this camera so far. I don't plan on using it for stills, only HD video. Mostly my two boys, RC planes flying, and random soldering tuts etc. Planes flying could be at night. Also for a nice "web cam" for live shows.. etc. I use imovie which I love and works great with this camera. I've already set it to Full HR video. I use CoreAV to play the vids on Win7, but looks like they don't have one for the mac.

A limitation or two I've found so far:
- I was hoping to get to adjust focus while filming.. "turn the lens style"
- a mic in

I knew these issues going in, so it's fine.


I have a few questions if someone don't mind. I'm new at this.

1: I plan on getting these lenses any good?
2: Where can I learn or is there a quick/dirty guide on |ISO,shutter,white balance,exp measure, exposure, image settings, brightness, etc|
....(I'd be happy with just a :if you shoot this = use these settings: list to get me started)
3: If I decide to step it up a bit, what would be the next camera up? (I almost bought a Canon VIXIA HF200)
4: How do guys film video, and move in-out focus with this camera?


Thanks for any help!!

burke
ramsinks is offline  
post #206 of 592 Old 03-11-2010, 04:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The shortcuts options let you set/unset focus lock while recording. Be sure to scroll significantly up to find that option. Which only lets you hold previous focus until you unlock it, then it only goes into focus (in a favorable wind). My first "nice" HD cam as well. Beyond that not much of an effects camcorder. Auto Focus lock and Auto Exposure lock are the only things you can change WHILE recording AFAIK.

You could lock focus and use an external lens with a focus ring, but you'll only have the 3" LCD to judge focus on. Which for 1080p is quite impossible. With the right software, you could probably digitally blur the footage in post. But that's a lot of extra work. Auto focus lock is a very useful feature. For stills and other applications like RC stuff at night. Or just capturing lightning strikes at night. You pretty much can't do that without locking focus. And have usable results.
Shadow_7 is offline  
post #207 of 592 Old 03-11-2010, 04:31 PM
Member
 
ramsinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Boise
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
oo, shortcuts. I have yet to even look at that!
Thank man. I'll play with that and see how to do it.
ramsinks is offline  
post #208 of 592 Old 03-11-2010, 08:37 PM
Member
 
ronaldkwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldkwok View Post

I managed to test the Hornettek Phantom recently with a Full HR, 60p Sanyo clip and it played OK. In fact, I tested the clip on an Asus O!Play and it played as well. Since both these media players use the Realtek 1073DD chip, I believe that any media player that uses the same chip should be able to play the Full HR video of the HD2000/FH1.
It did not work on the older version of WDTV where the picture breaks and the audio is jerky (my Blog has the details) but I was not able to test on the newer WDTV Live to see if it will work. This uses the Sigma 8655 chip, the major alternative to the Realtek chip currently. Has any user of the Sanyo HD2000/FH1 tried viewing a Full HR video using the WDTV Live? Did it work? Please share your experience.

I have a comment in my Blog that the Full HR video can also play on the WDTV Live media player. Can any Sanyo HD2000/FH1 owner that also has a WDTV Live player confirm this or otherwise?
ronaldkwok is offline  
post #209 of 592 Old 03-12-2010, 07:28 AM
Member
 
semifast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronrosa View Post

F 1.8 is 1/3 of a F-Stop more open than F2.0.

That doesn't mean video will look 1/3 brighter on the HD2000 than the FH1. Side by side, it will look a little brighter. Some might not even see a difference.

If everything else is identical, it will be 1/3 brighter. The human visual system might compensate for the difference and therefore the perceived difference could be less.

But my point is the average person may think 1.8 and 2.0 are about the same, it's only .2, how much difference could there be ? The true difference is more like the difference between 67 and 100.
semifast is offline  
post #210 of 592 Old 03-12-2010, 09:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Shadow_7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's assuming a lot of perfect world scenarios though. Glass is not that pure. Sensors are not that perfect. And all that extra light might be hitting that area to the sides of the sensor and not the sensor itself. Human visual system / pupil dilation aside. Yeah it's different. But only side by side results all other variables removed can one tell (in a non-perfect world), IF the difference shows any improvement. It might even cause other issues (lens flare) that makes things worse.

Just because someone is taller does not make them a better basketball player. It might help make conditions favorable, but not a guarantee.
Shadow_7 is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off