PMB Necessary for Sony Camcorders? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-28-2010, 12:42 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With Windows 7 I don't see any need for it, but thought I'd ask before uninstalling it. Clips are easily moved from camcorder to my pc, and played in W7. I just can't see any real value to PMB
Av8tr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-28-2010, 05:42 AM
Senior Member
 
bernhtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some of the things I see PMB do:

- puts the date-timestamp into the file name.
- stitches together video files >4gb.
- extracts the metadata, such as GPS information, into sidecar files.
- provides calendar view and map view of your video (and photos). The map view is unique.
bernhtp is offline  
Old 03-28-2010, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tingham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I have a question about PMB and hope someone can verify. I noticed that you can stitch files together, but I see no option to save the stitched file on your computer. I only see options to burn to disc. Can you save the stitched file to your computer's hard drive "without burning" to DVD? tia

Go Phillies! Go Eagles! Go Sixers! Go Flyers!
tingham is online now  
Old 03-28-2010, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, I can't answer that last question.

I should have made my question more clear. Of course I have an editing program for doing what I want with the video once it's on my pc. I use Pinnacle Studio 12 and am very happy with it. no problem at all stitching clips together and doing many other things; I was just wondering if there were other advantages to PMB that I might be missing. It doesn't sound like it.
Av8tr is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I have never installed the software that came with my Sony. I just drag and drop the files to get them off the cam, then edit in Vegas.

You certainly don't lose any core functionality (you know; shooting, transferring and editing video/audio) but you may lose some of the extra stuff like GPS data, etc. Personally, that means very little to me.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 02:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tqlla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,452
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suntan View Post

I have never installed the software that came with my Sony. I just drag and drop the files to get them off the cam, then edit in Vegas.

You certainly don't lose any core functionality (you know; shooting, transferring and editing video/audio) but you may lose some of the extra stuff like GPS data, etc. Personally, that means very little to me.

-Suntan

Doh, Vegas is made by sony. Thats why it works so well with a Sony camcorder.

The PMB is pretty nice in my opinion. I like how it handles the organization of my videos and pictures.
tqlla is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Av8tr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 548
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Pinnacle Studio 12 also works great with Sony camcorders, and it's not made by Sony. Like "Suntan", I just don't see any need for PMB when using windows7. with Vista it was a whole different story, because Vista couldn't open mts files.
Av8tr is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ericjut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WA
Posts: 1,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To add to what bernhtp listed, PMB also enables you to author AVCHD disks with the date/time stamps as a subtitle track. I haven't seen another tool supporting this as simply as that.
ericjut is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Suntan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Twin Cities
Posts: 7,142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by tqlla View Post

Doh, Vegas is made by sony. Thats why it works so well with a Sony camcorder.

I dinked with the free eval trial of Primere before deciding on Vegas, it didn't seem to have any issue with the footage either.

-Suntan
Suntan is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 11:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
swak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 534
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a DCR-SR100 hanycam and can't find my imagemixer cd. Seems the old cd is needed to install PMB. I called Sony and they wouldn't help, told me I need to find it or repurchase the imagemixer software! Please PM a solution if you have it.

Nevermind found my imagemixer disk.
swak is offline  
Old 04-27-2010, 12:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dave Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I think the pmb software saves the mts file off the camcorder at m2ts though.

It was very easy to grab the digital stills off the camera through pmb whereas in Sony Vegas, (unless I'm missing something) it just imports the video files.
Dave Mack is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 04:16 AM
Newbie
 
bigata61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ericjut View Post

To add to what bernhtp listed, PMB also enables you to author AVCHD disks with the date/time stamps as a subtitle track. I haven't seen another tool supporting this as simply as that.

Did anyone actually create AVCHD disk (with PMB) and checked that date/time stamp runs as a subtitle ? I mean, if you insert AVCHD disk (created by Sony PMB) in Playstation 3 then you can actually switch on Subtitles and see running date/time stamp ? (and I mean "running" date/time)
Would appreciate if anyone could confirm that it works.
bigata61 is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 06:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigata61 View Post

Would appreciate if anyone could confirm that it works.

Can't confirm that.... but I create Blu rays with time/date as subtitle with Sony Vegas pro and a plugin called Excalibur.
Works well.... time/date can be switched on/off with the remote
bigbarney is offline  
Old 06-26-2010, 06:26 AM
Newbie
 
bigata61's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

Can't confirm that.... but I create Blu rays with time/date as subtitle with Sony Vegas pro and a plugin called Excalibur.
Works well.... time/date can be switched on/off with the remote

Yes, I read many times about Vegas, renaming files, Excalibur, region markers,
etc. , but if Sony PMB automatically records "running time/date" as a subtitle,
then you don't need to do anything, you just create AVCHD with PMB and then watch it (let's say) on PS3 and you have time/date on the screen.
I tried to make AVCHD disk with Sony PMB and played it on PS3... result "no subtitles recorded", so I wonder, did anyone ever manage to create AVCHD disk with PMB and then was able to switch on/off the time/date code as a subtitle ?
By the way, if you record directly to Memory Stick, then stick it into USB adaptor and stick the adaptor into PS3, then you really have "running" timestamp as a subtitle and can switch it on and off.
bigata61 is offline  
Old 07-24-2010, 01:46 AM
Member
 
ronaldkwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see this mentioned in this thread so this may or may not be new. I just found that if you ever need to transfer your videos back to the Sony camcorder for viewing, you can only(?) do it by using the Export Media Files function under the Manipulate menu in PMB. You don't even need your camcorder as you can just export the file directly to a SDHC card or other suitable media and then insert into the camcorder. The media may have to be formatted earlier by a Sony camcorder to have the necessary file structure.
ronaldkwok is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off