Panasonic xx700 Jittering/shaking issue - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 187 Old 09-08-2010, 02:26 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Any infos on when Panasonic is coming up with new 1080p model? hopefully they will get rid of the shaking problem so I can buy one, I waited so long.
latreche34 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 187 Old 09-08-2010, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 32
The new models are almost out.

Theirs the SDT750 and the TM750. For the US market, I would assume they will get sold separately from the 3D lens. At least I hope.
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #93 of 187 Old 09-09-2010, 02:07 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
I'm traveling to europe at the end of october hope they will be out by then. however I've noticed that both have shoe mounted on the side so I may just go with HS700 since I'm not interested in the 3D feature and cross my fingers that it will not come with jettering problem, what do you think guys?
latreche34 is online now  
post #94 of 187 Old 09-10-2010, 04:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Djizasse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Posts: 157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think you need to see the big picture.
This camcorder has this problem but it is only visible on large screens. I've been using my cam a lot and I never bumped into this problem as I don't shoot at severe angles.
For "normal" shooting, the shacking does not occur.

On the other hand, if you really need to shoot at angles, then wait.
Djizasse is offline  
post #95 of 187 Old 09-11-2010, 10:08 PM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djizasse View Post

I think you need to see the big picture.
This camcorder has this problem but it is only visible on large screens. I've been using my cam a lot and I never bumped into this problem as I don't shoot at severe angles.
For "normal" shooting, the shacking does not occur.

On the other hand, if you really need to shoot at angles, then wait.

What are the chances that the new camcorders will not have the same problem ?
latreche34 is online now  
post #96 of 187 Old 09-13-2010, 05:03 AM
Member
 
biomedtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djizasse View Post

I think you need to see the big picture.
This camcorder has this problem but it is only visible on large screens. I've been using my cam a lot and I never bumped into this problem as I don't shoot at severe angles.
For "normal" shooting, the shacking does not occur.

On the other hand, if you really need to shoot at angles, then wait.

Isn't' the point of having 'HD', viewing on large screens?
biomedtech is offline  
post #97 of 187 Old 10-14-2010, 01:55 AM
Senior Member
 
latreche34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djizasse View Post

I think you need to see the big picture.
This camcorder has this problem but it is only visible on large screens. I've been using my cam a lot and I never bumped into this problem as I don't shoot at severe angles.
For "normal" shooting, the shacking does not occur.

On the other hand, if you really need to shoot at angles, then wait.

I waited and I will be getting the SDT750 today according to the tracking # I will report if they get rid of the problem in this new model, any suggestions of possible tests that I can do for you guys?
latreche34 is online now  
post #98 of 187 Old 10-14-2010, 07:50 PM
Senior Member
 
alainhubert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. New member here, and proud owner of this fine TM700. It's not perfect, but doesn't cost $10,000 either...

Tested the 45 degrees angle shooting, and in fact tested at a lot of different angles, and so far no shaking on mine when still. Although, it DOES exhibit the shaking when slowly moving the camera on the tripot (especially panning), but it stops as soon as the camera isn't moving anymore.

So this behavior looks like it could be due to hysteresis on the electro-mechanical part of the O.I.S. that moves the floating lens, when the weight distribution is altered by tilting the camera. Fortunately on mine, it stops oscillating when the camera is perfectly still, probably because each camera isn't calibrated exactly the same, but this is pure speculation on my part. Nevertheless, I agree this is an issue. I wonder if the new model will have "the shakes" ?

The other annoying thing with mine aside from the fan noise, which doesn't bother me because I use an external mic, is that the auto white balance is too easily confused and changes too abruptly, sometimes without any change in lighting. Luckily there is the manual mode to keep it fixed, but my 12 years old Sony Hi8 does a better job of it, although its resolution is really really low in comparison (400 lines SD).

But, all that being said, once the color balance is set I have yet to see better video in 1920X1080 at 60 progressive frames/sec on any other camcorder under $900 ! Especially when viewed on a big screen TV (Sharp Aquos Special Edition LCD). So I'll keep mine, with all its little annoyances.
alainhubert is offline  
post #99 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 09:43 AM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all!

After 6 month of waiting let me congratulate you with shaking/jittering issue solution!

The problem has solved by means of new firmware update from Panasonic.

This update was produced recently and as I have told by our local Panasonic-Russia:

1) corrects O.I.S. block (shaking issue)
2) corrects fan ( I do not know what this update corrects)

After updating my camera I have no issues with shaking/jittering at an angle of 50-90 degrees of shooting.

See my video 90 degrees downward from tripod:

http://www.vimeo.com/17238450

As you see (without and with OIS, no matter) this is a "rock solid picture".

Please, call your local Panasonic services and ask for new firmware update.

Please, do not forget to post your results here.

Thank you who reported this problem to Panasonic!

Good luck!

Regards,
MYG
myg is offline  
post #100 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Where is the firmware posted? Or do you have to contact Panasonic directly?
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #101 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by myg View Post

Hi all!

After 6 month of waiting let me congratulate you with shaking/jittering issue solution!

The problem has solved by means of new firmware update from Panasonic.

This update was produced recently and as I have told by our local Panasonic-Russia:

1) corrects O.I.S. block (shaking issue)
2) corrects fan ( I do not know what this update corrects)

After updating my camera I have no issues with shaking/jittering at an angle of 50-90 degrees of shooting.

See my video 90 degrees downward from tripod:

http://www.vimeo.com/17238450

As you see (without and with OIS, no matter) this is a "rock solid picture".

Please, call your local Panasonic services and ask for new firmware update.

Please, do not forget to post your results here.

Thank you who reported this problem to Panasonic!

Good luck!

Regards,
MYG

Do you have to send the camera to Panasonic? Can you do the upgrade yourself?
Ungermann is offline  
post #102 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:14 AM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You should contact your local Panasonic and they will update a firmware in their service center.
There is no update available to download from Internet.
myg is offline  
post #103 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 32
It should really be downloadable if it's easy to do.
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #104 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:32 AM
Senior Member
 
alainhubert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by myg View Post

Hi all!

After 6 month of waiting let me congratulate you with shaking/jittering issue solution!

The problem has solved by means of new firmware update from Panasonic.

This update was produced recently and as I have told by our local Panasonic-Russia:

1) corrects O.I.S. block (shaking issue)
2) corrects fan ( I do not know what this update corrects)

After updating my camera I have no issues with shaking/jittering at an angle of 50-90 degrees of shooting.

See my video 90 degrees downward from tripod:

http://www.vimeo.com/17238450

As you see (without and with OIS, no matter) this is a "rock solid picture".

Please, call your local Panasonic services and ask for new firmware update.

Please, do not forget to post your results here.

Thank you who reported this problem to Panasonic!

Good luck!

Regards,
MYG

I've looked on many Panasonic sites and don't see a firmware update for TM700 anywhere. There are many for the different Lumix models, but not the TM700 yet. Where did you get this information please? Did you send your unit to Panasonic for this update?
Please give us more details... Thanks.
alainhubert is offline  
post #105 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:32 AM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo Teixeira View Post

It should really be downloadable if it's easy to do.

There are two things to consider:

1. If a few people in each country ask for update, it is wise to do it in service center.

2. If thousands people ask for update, it is better to upload this update to Internet site for users.

By now, I was only one man throughout the Russia who asked for update.

Regards,
MYG
myg is offline  
post #106 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:35 AM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alainhubert View Post

I've looked on many Panasonic sites and don't see a firmware update for TM700 anywhere. There are many for the different Lumix models, but not the TM700 yet. Where did you get this information please? Did you send your unit to Panasonic for this update?
Please give us more details... Thanks.

I have wrote in July to Panasonic Russia, they replied: "Please, wait, we have asked Panasonic Japan". Then after 4 months of silence I have wrote to them again. They replied: "A new firmware update has just released, please, go to our service center in Moscow".
myg is offline  
post #107 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
alainhubert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by myg View Post


I have wrote in July to Panasonic Russia, they replied: "Please, wait, we have asked Panasonic Japan". Then after 4 months of silence I have wrote to them again. They replied: "A new firmware update has just released, please, go to our service center in Moscow".

Thank you for a quick reply. So if I understand, the service center has performed the firmware update for you?
If there is indeed a firmware update, that means that Panasonic knew about the problems, and they should make it available for everyone on their sites!

I live in Canada, so I'll try to contact Panasonic here...
In the meantime, let's hope they'll make it available for download soon so we can do it ourselves, instead of having to go to service center (mine is more than 200km away!).
alainhubert is offline  
post #108 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 10:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by alainhubert View Post

Thank you for a quick reply. So if I understand, the service center has performed the firmware update for you?
If there is indeed a firmware update, that means that Panasonic knew about the problems, and they should make it available for everyone on their sites!

Or, they could actually replace the OIS block, because doing this could be simpler than creating a firmware update for just one user. They could have wanted it to look like a firmware update to downplay their engineering defect and to say that the problem was in software and was easy to fix. Who knows.
Ungermann is offline  
post #109 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
alainhubert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

Or, they could actually replace the OIS block, because doing this could be simpler than creating a firmware update for just one user. They could have wanted it to look like a firmware update to downplay their engineering defect and to say that the problem was in software and was easy to fix. Who knows.

Let's hope it is really as simple as a firmware update. The idea of having a $800 camcorder dismantled, and tinkered with, by some repair guy to replace such a critical component isn't too pleasant. Even under warranty. I have had bad experiences with Sony products in the past about that.

Back in 1991, my $2500 CCD V101 Hi-8 camcorder had to have the CCD sensor replaced under warranty (many many dead pixels), and was sent to Sony service center, and came back with new problems, and had to be sent back 2 more times (several weeks each time) to get finally ok. Then, 2 years after the warranty had expired, the camcorder died completely. An estimate of $1800 was given for repair. I smashed it with a baseball bat, and threw it in the garbage bin.

So you see, I don't particularly like the idea of sending anything back to service centers...
alainhubert is offline  
post #110 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 11:37 AM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

Or, they could actually replace the OIS block,

No, they updated a firmware of my camcorder in several minutes.
myg is offline  
post #111 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 11:40 AM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

creating a firmware update for just one user.

There were several reports even on this forum to local Panasonic from different countries.
We have opened this thread to achieve this.
myg is offline  
post #112 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 11:42 AM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by alainhubert View Post


So you see, I don't particularly like the idea of sending anything back to service centers...

They can update your camcorder in your presence.
myg is offline  
post #113 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 11:47 AM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It is very interesting that they did not know what exactly this update must to improve. They said that panasonic Japan accompanied this update with only two short notes:

1) OIS block issue update
2) fan update

They asked me to send them via e-mail if the problem will solve.
myg is offline  
post #114 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Paulo Teixeira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 2,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Still cameras get updated all the time. I remember complaints that the 20mm lens had for making too much noise. With a certain firmware update, not only was the auto focusing in the video less noisy but it became more accurate. You can read a lot of posts saying they got better shooting results after that firmware upgrade.

For sure we don't know if it's that easy for your average person to do it themselves but even if this increases the reliability by as little as 5% even though it could be a bit higher, that's still important. If it's easy to do and for sure it will make the camera at least a little better, than they should put it online.
Paulo Teixeira is offline  
post #115 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 01:04 PM
Senior Member
 
alainhubert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo Teixeira View Post

.... If it's easy to do and for sure it will make the camera at least a little better, than they should put it online.

Agreed.
alainhubert is offline  
post #116 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,757
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Hey MYG, I am wondering have they fixed other issues, like when you click the button on the side of the lens barrel, the camcorder resets aperture to automatic value. Is it still the same with the new firmware? If they did, I might re-buy this camera.
Ungermann is offline  
post #117 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 01:16 PM
Newbie
 
titoxxi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could anybody tell us how the new firmware will aply to the camera? I mean, how it works? Do I have to send the camera to the Panasonic Service?

Thanks!!

Tito
titoxxi is offline  
post #118 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 01:21 PM
Senior Member
 
alainhubert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by titoxxi View Post

Could anybody tell us how the new firmware will aply to the camera? I mean, how it works? Do I have to send the camera to the Panasonic Service?

Thanks!!

Tito

Please read the last few replies about that...
alainhubert is offline  
post #119 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
alainhubert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by myg View Post

No, they updated a firmware of my camcorder in several minutes.

I've sent an e-mail to Panasonic Canada about it. Awaiting a response eventually...
alainhubert is offline  
post #120 of 187 Old 12-01-2010, 01:26 PM
myg
Member
 
myg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by titoxxi View Post

Could anybody tell us how the new firmware will aply to the camera? I mean, how it works? Do I have to send the camera to the Panasonic Service?

Thanks!!

Tito

Tito,

You should contact your local Panasonic again and say that in other countries this update is already available in local Panasonic services.
I do not know how your Panasonic service will organize this. Read my posts above how they did it in Russia. They backed up my old firmware (several minutes) and updated a new one (several minutes). Then engineer asked me to confirm via e-mail if problem solved.
myg is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off