Sony PMB - trim not working - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 12-20-2010, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Carbon Blob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to get Sony's PMB software to trim some .m2ts files. PMB sees them, and I can start previewing. Within preview there is the 'Trim Video' button. I click, and get into the Trim function.
Regardless of how much I trim (even none), I cannot save the file. Once I click 'Save Edited Video...' it gives me the Save Video dialog, and the file name and type are there.
The file type says AVCHD 1080i Format (*.m2ts), which is correct. When I click Save, I get an error box for Video Trimming.

Cannot open 'myfilename.m2ts'. The file format is not supported.

I have tried the version of PMB that came with the camcorder as well as the latest update (5.3? not sure now since i just reinstalled 5.2 to see if that was the problem)

Oh, and when I go to About PMB, it lists AVCHD 1080i as a supported format.

Any help appreciated.

-CB
Carbon Blob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 12-21-2010, 10:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Gull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbon Blob View Post

I'm trying to get Sony's PMB software to trim some .m2ts files. PMB sees them, and I can start previewing. Within preview there is the 'Trim Video' button. I click, and get into the Trim function.
Regardless of how much I trim (even none), I cannot save the file. Once I click 'Save Edited Video...' it gives me the Save Video dialog, and the file name and type are there.
The file type says AVCHD 1080i Format (*.m2ts), which is correct. When I click Save, I get an error box for Video Trimming.

Cannot open 'myfilename.m2ts'. The file format is not supported.

I have tried the version of PMB that came with the camcorder as well as the latest update (5.3? not sure now since i just reinstalled 5.2 to see if that was the problem)

Oh, and when I go to About PMB, it lists AVCHD 1080i as a supported format.

Any help appreciated.

-CB

Am I correct in guessing that these files weren't produced by a Sony HD camcorder? That's the only case I can think of where there might be a subtle internal format difference that PMB isn't designed to handle.

However, I just took a clip created in Corel's VideoStudio Pro X3 from Sony 1080i files and trimmed it successfully in PMB. So apparently PMB will successfully trim some AVCHD files produced by other software.
Tom Gull is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 12-21-2010, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Carbon Blob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have several files, none of which it will trim. Some are files created by my HDR-CX550V.

I found this last night:

http://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/...ble/index.html

It says free codecs installed may cause a problem. I'm not sure what I have that could cause a conflict. I do have PS3 Media Server installed, but I would think many people have this.

-CB
Carbon Blob is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 12-22-2010, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Tom Gull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 936
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbon Blob View Post

I have several files, none of which it will trim. Some are files created by my HDR-CX550V.

I found this last night:

http://support.d-imaging.sony.co.jp/...ble/index.html

It says free codecs installed may cause a problem. I'm not sure what I have that could cause a conflict. I do have PS3 Media Server installed, but I would think many people have this.

-CB

When experimenting with change, I'd stick with the CX550V-produced clips. That way an actual format issue should be eliminated from consideration as you're debugging.

I see it also mentions out of date graphics drivers as a possible source of certain types of problems (makes sense, common wisdom with game players). So you might try updating those if they're not recent. But a format issue really sounds more like a codec getting in the way. Have you installed any graphics-heavy stuff since you installed PMB?

Maybe uninstalling PMB and reinstalling it would help...
Tom Gull is offline  
Reply Camcorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off