Panasonic TM700 ► Looking for a Shallow DoF adapter / lens - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 83 Old 01-26-2011, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rickswan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jogiba View Post
I just don't get it, I have the TM700 and would not touch an adapter to give me DOF like a DSLR for it with a 10ft pole when I just paid only $375 for a GH1 with 14-42mm zoom that works with a myriad of fast lenses for shallow DOF.
Well, here's the problem: that deal on the GH1 ends 2/28/2011. Unless I really pull some strings, I can't afford it by then - and after the deal ends, I definitely can't afford it (and honestly, wouldn't want to if I missed out on that deal). I am considering this option Jogiba, but it needs to be worth my while - I'm in a hard place and I don't have a whole lot of time with that option!

UPDATE: Jogiba, I really like this option, I wanna let you know. I'm saving up my $$$ - let's see if I can rack up $400 by the due date (and that's excluding necessities and other things I have to pay for). Cross your fingers.

░▒▓█ R I C K S W A N █▓▒░
Rickswan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 83 Old 01-26-2011, 08:25 PM
Senior Member
 
ronrosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a quick clip shot with the Jag35, Canon 50mm 1.8 lens and a Sanyo FH1.

http://www.vimeo.com/7091897

I also have a Canon 85mm lens for the Jag. I don't remember what I paid for the Jag. You live anywhere near NYC ?
ronrosa is offline  
post #33 of 83 Old 01-26-2011, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rickswan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronrosa View Post
Here is a quick clip shot with the Jag35, Canon 50mm 1.8 lens and a Sanyo FH1.

http://www.vimeo.com/7091897

I also have a Canon 85mm lens for the Jag. I don't remember what I paid for the Jag. You live anywhere near NYC ?
Looks great! I don't see any of the usual problems in this video, except for 1: In the second scene I could see the texture on the glass. The rest of the shots look great though. On the site it says $199 for the JAGPro. I live in Michigan.

░▒▓█ R I C K S W A N █▓▒░
Rickswan is offline  
post #34 of 83 Old 01-27-2011, 07:06 AM
Senior Member
 
ronrosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickswan View Post

Looks great! I don't see any of the usual problems in this video, except for 1: In the second scene I could see the texture on the glass. The rest of the shots look great though. On the site it says $199 for the JAGPro. I live in Michigan.

Yeah, in the 2nd scene I forgot to turn on the vibrating motor.

Private message coming your way on pricing.
ronrosa is offline  
post #35 of 83 Old 02-01-2011, 11:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pepster returns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I have been shooting @ F2.8 on my CANON 60D.

One word:

BEAUTIFUL.

This camera really is astoundingly nice and has the same image quality as the CANON T2i and CANON 7D, but the 60D is much easier to use.

Seriously, Hollywood is using the 7D in all sorts of low light scenes in big budget films - eg, the subway scene in 'Black Swan'.

The GH2 is NOT being used in this type of budget film, & the GH1 is much worse.

BTW - the quality of your glass IS very important. You are wasting your time sticking a DOF adapter on to the crappy glass of the TM700.

Much, much better results (in an entirely different league) will be achieved with a T2i + a Canon EF-S 17-55MM f2.8 IS USM Lens. This lens has the premium PQ of CANON's L series glass and only costs 1000 bucks. I leave this lens on my 60D and I am routinely impressed with its sharpness. You won't regret it
Pepster returns is offline  
post #36 of 83 Old 02-05-2011, 05:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronrosa View Post

Here is a quick clip shot with the Jag35, Canon 50mm 1.8 lens and a Sanyo FH1.

http://www.vimeo.com/7091897

I also have a Canon 85mm lens for the Jag. I don't remember what I paid for the Jag. You live anywhere near NYC ?

That is awesome! Where can I buy this jag35? How much does it cost? Is the video inverted? Show me your setup please.

Thanks!

EDIT: found their site! I also commented on your video!
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #37 of 83 Old 02-05-2011, 06:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jogiba View Post

I just don't get it, I have the TM700 and would not touch an adapter to give me DOF like a DSLR for it with a 10ft pole when I just paid only $375 for a GH1 with 14-42mm zoom that works with a myriad of fast lenses for shallow DOF.

+1 jogiba. That's the most rational and economical solution for the DOF.
GH1 with the native 14-42 and the "unlimited" amount of the cheap legacy glass which can be used with a cheap adapter. Canon, Nikon, C Mount, you choose.
Unbeatable. And very much sellable when you decide you'd like to upgrade.

Update: got the body, waiting for the lens. Getting this deal was like a lottery. Some people got their orders cancelled w/o apparent reason. Some got their shipments intercepted and returned to PD. So YMMV.

Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post

That is awesome! Where can I buy this jag35? How much does it cost? Is the video inverted? Show me your setup please.

Thanks!

EDIT: found their site! I also commented on your video!

I looked at JAG35 long time ago and decided against it.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
post #38 of 83 Old 02-05-2011, 09:17 PM
Senior Member
 
ronrosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post

That is awesome! Where can I buy this jag35? How much does it cost? Is the video inverted? Show me your setup please.

Thanks!

EDIT: found their site! I also commented on your video!

Thanks. It takes a little practice with the focus and using a tripod helps.

I just sold my Jag35 Pro and 2 Canon lenses. You should be able to find a good price on a used Jag35. Yes, the image is recorded inverted unless you hold the camcorder upside down. Flipping the footage in editing is very easy.

The setup is best used outdoors or indoors with a lot of light. The image will definitely have a soft look to it, but that can help create a certain mood.

My Jag came with a 52mm to 37mm adapter to fit my camcorder, so it looks like the Jag itself is 52mm.
ronrosa is offline  
post #39 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 03:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by galileo2000 View Post
+1 jogiba. That's the most rational and economical solution for the DOF.
GH1 with the native 14-42 and the "unlimited" amount of the cheap legacy glass which can be used with a cheap adapter. Canon, Nikon, C Mount, you choose.
Unbeatable. And very much sellable when you decide you'd like to upgrade.

Update: got the body, waiting for the lens. Getting this deal was like a lottery. Some people got their orders cancelled w/o apparent reason. Some got their shipments intercepted and returned to PD. So YMMV.
Cool! I'll look for a GH1 body then.

Quote:
I looked at JAG35 long time ago and decided against it.
Please tell me why. Thanks.
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #40 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 04:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post
Cool! I'll look for a GH1 body then.
You can try, good luck.

GH2 would be even better



Quote:
Please tell me why. Thanks.
Price//Performance/Result. Had no lens laying around. All together that would be a huge hit on my wallet. Motorized JAG is what, $400 or so?

Now with the cheap GH1 + cheap old lens + cheap adapters it makes a lot of sense.

GH1 can also be used for stills, yes! We are talking about DSLR quality stills. Not at the level of Nikon 7000D ($1200 body-only if u r lucky) but still quite decent.

Hope it answers your question.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
post #41 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 05:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I also heard about GH1 hack, what is it really? Is it a firmware hack?
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #42 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post
Thanks! I also heard about GH1 hack, what is it really? Is it a firmware hack?
Yes, it is a firmware hack by the Russian guy named Vitaliy Kiselev. It lets the users to significantly raise the data rate for both AVCHD and MJPEG in GH1, shoot "native" 24p instead of 24p in 60i container, and some other cool things.

Unfortunately any GH1 produced after June 2010 has a "new" version of the firmware, 1.34, which cannot be hacked. Panasonic never put it on website.
Until Mr. Kiselev gets this firmware or until Pana releases new version of the firmware all after-June-2010 GH1s are non-hackable.

You can get "hackable/hacked" used GH1 on ebay, but they are sold for a premium.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
post #43 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
ronrosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How much are GH1's going for ? That $375 price doesn't look valid anymore.
ronrosa is offline  
post #44 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ronrosa View Post

How much are GH1's going for ? That $375 price doesn't look valid anymore.

Panasonic says that they ran out of bodies and they are not going to make them anymore.
It was kind of the fire sale event, guess it is over by now.

Also, you would have to be the Pana EPP member to get this deal.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
post #45 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish I can use my Canon f4L 70-200 and Tamron f2.8 17-55 with this GH1 body. What are some really good adapters?
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #46 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post

I wish I can use my Canon f4L 70-200 and Tamron f2.8 17-55 with this GH1 body. What are some really good adapters?

Is it Canon FD or Canon FL or something else?

People speak highly of ciecio7 adapters. They are like $55 on ebay.

I am cheap so I've got one for $23 from the ebay seller rainbow imaging.

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
post #47 of 83 Old 02-06-2011, 08:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks!
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #48 of 83 Old 02-07-2011, 04:22 AM
Newbie
 
kimbahpnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just stumbled upon this thread and I'm in the same situation as the OP. I have the TM700 + .7x Panny conversion lens. If I were to go the Encinema route, I would have to buy the $199 canon mount in the 46mm thread, but do I need to buy another lens with that or could I just use my Panny conversion lens?
kimbahpnam is offline  
post #49 of 83 Old 02-07-2011, 09:16 AM
Senior Member
 
ronrosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by galileo2000 View Post

Is it Canon FD or Canon FL or something else?

People speak highly of ciecio7 adapters. They are like $55 on ebay.

I am cheap so I've got one for $23 from the ebay seller rainbow imaging.

Is that adapter meant for the old pre 1987 Canon lenses with manual aperture ? In 1987 Canon changed their lenses to electronic aperture adjusted by the camera. There is also the issue if you want to use autofocus.

If you have a lot of Canon lenses you might want to stick with a Canon like the T2i, 60D, 7D, 5D.
ronrosa is offline  
post #50 of 83 Old 02-07-2011, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jogiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 62
The micro4/3rds cameras work better with the Canon FD lenses.




jogiba is online now  
post #51 of 83 Old 02-07-2011, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't make me drool please!!! I love your setup! I'm a canon guy. I own 50D. I read that Nikon's prime lenses are sharper than Canon. Do you believe it?

How much did you get that f1.4? And why did you get 24mm and not 50mm? Also, what is the crop ratio of the GH1's sensor?
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #52 of 83 Old 02-07-2011, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jogiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 62
That is not my setup, here is my setup:
The Voigtländer Nokton 25mm f/0.95 is a much better lens than the 24mm F1.4 on the GH2.






jogiba is online now  
post #53 of 83 Old 02-07-2011, 06:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice! I have a Tamron too!

How much is Voigtländer Nokton 25mm f/0.95?
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #54 of 83 Old 02-07-2011, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
galileo2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 3,816
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
jogiba, you freaking rock!!!!

Take it from an old geek

Good time to buy computers and computer parts: NEVER
galileo2000 is offline  
post #55 of 83 Old 02-07-2011, 06:52 PM
Senior Member
 
ronrosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kimbahpnam View Post

I just stumbled upon this thread and I'm in the same situation as the OP. I have the TM700 + .7x Panny conversion lens. If I were to go the Encinema route, I would have to buy the $199 canon mount in the 46mm thread, but do I need to buy another lens with that or could I just use my Panny conversion lens?

Sounds like your Panny conversion lens is a camcorder lens. 35mm adapters are for using 35mm camera lenses on camcorders to create a shallow depth of field. Meaning certain areas of the scene are in focus while other areas are out of focus.

People do this so they can control what the viewer pays attention to. Watch any major TV show or movie and look what's in focus. Very rarely is the entire scene in focus.

Here is a link to one of the 1st videos shot with a digital camera instead of a camcorder to take advantage of depth of field. It's frequently credited with creating the buzz of using DSLR's to shoot video.

Canon 5D Reverie
ronrosa is offline  
post #56 of 83 Old 02-08-2011, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jogiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by v1rtu0s1ty View Post

Very nice! I have a Tamron too!

How much is Voigtländer Nokton 25mm f/0.95?

$899.99


http://photovillage.com/product.php?...6&cat=0&page=1
jogiba is online now  
post #57 of 83 Old 02-08-2011, 04:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Rickswan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't checked this thread in a bit, tons of activity! Well I ended up finding such a good deal I couldn't pass it up: a used JAG35Pro, plus a 50mm and 85mm lens!

I decided to pass up on getting a DSLR (for now) because if I do get one I want one that can shoot well in low light, an area in which the GH1 doesn't impress me. My friend is probably getting a 7D, which is another reason I decided to go the adapter route. Also, the footage of the vibrating adapter I'm getting looked quite impressive in HD, the vibration doing well to remove dust and grain.

I have also seen an ingenious youtube video in which a man uses a shaving mirror to invert the LCD screen, which is what I plan to do about the inversion problem. When my new adapter arrives, I will check out the threading to make sure which step ring I need (TM700 has 46mm threading), then when I get everything I'll post some footage!

░▒▓█ R I C K S W A N █▓▒░
Rickswan is offline  
post #58 of 83 Old 02-12-2011, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
v1rtu0s1ty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: n0rth3rn 1ll1n01s
Posts: 3,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jogiba or anyone with GH1. How is the low light recording when it's used with f1.4? I'm thinking of getting Canon 50mm 1.4. Or should I go lower in focal length?
v1rtu0s1ty is offline  
post #59 of 83 Old 05-18-2011, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Bud B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
Posts: 653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi all,
I know that this thread has sat dormant since February but thought that I would ask anyway...
When I was in the HD Camcorder vs Canon T2i or similar DSLR's decision process, the bottom line seemed to be, that with the T2i it would get Hot or very warm when shooting HD video and also you could only shoot short sequences of video.

Because I wanted the ability to shoot everything from a short video to an hour plus video the DSLR's were just not going to cut it for any Lengthy HD Video rendering.
Also the Panasonic TM-700 series and now the 900 Series could shoot HD at 1920 x 1080/60P.
Lets face it the Canon T2i combos were going for around $899.00 and the TM-700 was (when I bought it) $775.00 so $125.00 was not a big deal or jump..so it really came down to which would be the best fit, especially since my primary concern was always Video and not taking Pictures.
It seemed a no brainier at the time and still does today!
None of this seemed to be addressed through this post and the continual pushing of DSLR's for Rick....?

DSLR's DO have their Limitations when it comes to Video...

I would also like to know what the bottom line was for Rick Swan and how it actually turned out for his TM-700 setup.

His last post was...
Quote:


then when I get everything I'll post some footage!

This thread was like a movie with no ending....LOL!

Later,
Bud B
Bud B is offline  
post #60 of 83 Old 11-30-2011, 06:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
bowmah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
So, is there a cheap solution for getting shallow DoF video from the TM700?
bowmah is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off