Issues with Sony PMB software and Windows 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dustindu4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a new laptop that has windows 7 pro 32 bit on it. I installed PMB and updated it to 5.5 and I can't see any video files, only pictures. The folders have mixed video and pictures, only see the pictures. You can select viewing photos and videos only, when I do that and select video I see nothing. Has anybody run into this before? I can't figure it out.

I can play and see videos with Windows Media Player just fine
dustindu4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dustindu4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I go to "about PMB" and click on "supported formats", mt2s or any other video file format is NOT listed, hmm
dustindu4 is offline  
post #3 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Videomaker1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Windows 7 software is a 64bit system, I see my downloaded video files from my sony camcorders in my PMB folders. But I hardly use PMB to view them.
I find where the are stored on my HD, when I click on them they open and play. in the windows media player. I click on a file in PMB and it opens in the PMB player.
I can view both AVCHD and AVI also MPG formats.
Videomaker1968 is offline  
post #4 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dustindu4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there any software out there that you can get to copy video off your camera and sort and view them?
dustindu4 is offline  
post #5 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Videomaker1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is where Sony has us snookered, we need the PMB to get our video files off the camera. But once I have them transfered from camera to a file on my HD, then I can do as I wish with them. Just find your files where PMB has put them and then view them in Windows MediaPlayer.
Videomaker1968 is offline  
post #6 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
fishywishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
you can drag and drop them to your hard drive easily. you just miss out on the trim feature the pmb has
fishywishy is offline  
post #7 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 03:16 PM
Member
 
Videomaker1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishywishy View Post

you can drag and drop them to your hard drive easily. you just miss out on the trim feature the pmb has

Are you implying that the Sony PMB program is not needed to transfer the video files off the Sony camcorder? If so show us how it's done.
Videomaker1968 is offline  
post #8 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 04:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dustindu4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I figured it out.

Every time you install it tells you to restart the computer. I tried the install again and didn't restart. Like 15 minutes later a window pops up saying additional PMB features were installed. Was fine after that.
dustindu4 is offline  
post #9 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 04:16 PM
Member
 
Videomaker1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustindu4 View Post

I figured it out.

Every time you install it tells you to restart the computer. I tried the install again and didn't restart. Like 15 minutes later a window pops up saying additional PMB features were installed. Was fine after that.

I take it you can now see your video files.
Videomaker1968 is offline  
post #10 of 25 Old 02-05-2011, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
fishywishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videomaker1968 View Post

Are you implying that the Sony PMB program is not needed to transfer the video files off the Sony camcorder? If so show us how it's done.

the .mts files are @ :\\PRIVATE\\AVCHD\\BDMV\\STREAM

if youre editor needs them to be .m2ts just change the extension
fishywishy is offline  
post #11 of 25 Old 02-06-2011, 07:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dustindu4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videomaker1968 View Post

I take it you can now see your video files.

Yes I can. You'd think with an i7 the thing wouldn't load so slow
dustindu4 is offline  
post #12 of 25 Old 02-07-2011, 06:58 AM
Member
 
Videomaker1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dustindu4 View Post

Yes I can. You'd think with an i7 the thing wouldn't load so slow

I think the loading speed has a lot to do with your Internet provider and the path your file is taking to get on UTube.
Videomaker1968 is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 02-07-2011, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videomaker1968 View Post

Are you implying that the Sony PMB program is not needed to transfer the video files off the Sony camcorder? If so show us how it's done.

As stated, PMB is NOT required to transfer your footage. You can easily make the transfer by dragging and dropping your file(s) from the cam to the computer. This will work for any machine and any avchd cam.
bigbarney is offline  
post #14 of 25 Old 02-07-2011, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Videomaker1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

As stated, PMB is NOT required to transfer your footage. You can easily make the transfer by dragging and dropping your file(s) from the cam to the computer. This will work for any machine and any avchd cam.

PMB gets the file from your Sony camcorder, then you use your video editing software to do what you feel you want done.

Then using your software not PMB you can export the file to what ever format you wish.

Then from your computer you pick the file you want to upload to UTube.
Videomaker1968 is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 02-07-2011, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bigbarney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 2,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Videomaker1968 View Post

PMB gets the file from your Sony camcorder

I have a Sony avchd cam and I have never ONCE used the supplied PMB. I don't even have it installed.

Your sony cam is seen as a 'removable drive' by windows and therefore you may treat is as ANY other hard drive with folders. In windows you can move a file from one folder to another... or from one drive to another just by dragging and dropping it. Your Sony cam is NO different. It works the EXACT same way. Just open the stream folder on your cam and move the files from the sony cam to your computer

The only difference to the process is that when you drag the file manually you get the EXACT file (a MTS file). When you use PMB it places it into a M2TS container. This is really kind of an unnecessary step these days however since all editors that do native avchd these days will accept both MTS files directly from the cam.... or the converted M2TS files.

Sooo... once again you do not need PMB to transfer your files.
bigbarney is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 02-07-2011, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
fishywishy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 529
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbarney View Post

Sooo... once again you do not need PMB to transfer your files.

i think hes trolling us
fishywishy is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 06-10-2012, 07:31 AM
Member
 
sweetmarie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishywishy View Post


i think hes trolling us

bigbarney IS NOT trolling you, I hate PMB and have been able to transfer all my videos to my pc exactly the way bigbarney explained. If you haven't tried it, how do you know?
sweetmarie is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 06-10-2012, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
bernhtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PMB has several benefits:

- import names the file after the date taken metadata
- extracts metadata (e.g., GPS coordinates) into modd file
- provides different views of you video files such as the map/location view
- provides minor editing - splitting and joining - and conversion to other types
- has upload for youtube, facebook, etc.

None of these are big deals.

BTW: PMB has been replaced with Sony PlayMemories, which is basically the same thing but with an updated interface. When you start the old PMB, it now asks you if you want the updated PlayMemories, which installs it and then uninstalls PMB.
bernhtp is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 06-12-2012, 03:52 PM
Senior Member
 
Railfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: northern lower peninsula Michigan
Posts: 219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So what is the benefit of sony Playmemories over PMB? Also, will all the files that are currenty in PMB still be in the Sony Playmemories?
Railfan is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 06-12-2012, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Railfan View Post

So what is the benefit of sony Playmemories over PMB? Also, will all the files that are currenty in PMB still be in the Sony Playmemories?
If you have a Sony TV, a Play Station 3 and want to store your video on Sony's cloud, Playmemories has some benefits. The files in PMB should show up in Playmemories, but my experience was less than the best. So, after upgrading, I downgraded back.

Bill
bsprague is online now  
post #21 of 25 Old 06-12-2012, 05:06 PM
Senior Member
 
bernhtp's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Everything should work the same. It does for me. PlayMemories has a much nicer UI but only small feature additions. It also comes with a 5gb free cloud service - pretty much useless.
bernhtp is offline  
post #22 of 25 Old 01-31-2013, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
aluthe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK i was having the same problem it was not able to see my video from my old HDD. i tried not rebooted and nothing. i then updated to PMB 5.5 same problem. when i connected my Sony camera PMB then said new features added for this camera and when i updated my data base it then found my video files.
raargh likes this.
aluthe is offline  
post #23 of 25 Old 12-09-2013, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
hansuitkrimpen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

On my computer I have exactly the same problem.

Have you already got a sollution?

hansuitkrimpen@gmail.com

hansuitkrimpen is offline  
post #24 of 25 Old 12-09-2013, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by hansuitkrimpen View Post

On my computer I have exactly the same problem.
Have you already got a sollution?

Welcome to the forum!

Can you be more specific about which problem you have? What camera? What computer and operating system?

Additionally, this is a public forum. You may want to edit your post and delete your email address. (click on the pencil button in the lower left corner)

Bill
bsprague is online now  
post #25 of 25 Old 01-21-2014, 08:20 PM
Member
 
raargh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: earth
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Aluthe said:
Quote:
OK i was having the same problem it was not able to see my video from my old HDD. i tried not rebooted and nothing. i then updated to PMB 5.5 same problem. when i connected my Sony camera PMB then said new features added for this camera and when i updated my data base it then found my video files.

Man, I'm glad I found this thread. I had re-installed the original PMB 5.0 (yes, I kept the install disk from the HDR-CS550V !) , and then all my vids would not show up. Rebooted , uninstalled, re-installed, was ripping what was left of my hair out in big chunks.

As soon as I plugged in the cam, a little window popped up:




And now all is well.

I saw some people writing about how PMB is not needed; true. BUT - it will seamlessly stitch together files larger than 4 GB into a single file, and give it a great name that contains the date/time of when the footage was shot, such as 20120829203331.m2ts . If you copy the raw files from your Sony cam and they are bigger than 4 GB for a single shot, even with a good editor such as Vegas Pro or Adobe Premier, when they are concatenated there will be a small drop in the audio.

If you still want to manually import the vids, and you need to join multiple > 4GB segments without any gaps, you can use good old COPY like this:

copy sourcefile1 + sourcefile2 + ... sourcefileN destinationFile /B

Thanks again!

Steve
raargh is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off