What camera should I get? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 02-05-2011, 04:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Xamith95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a Panasonic HDC TM700 camera, but returned it because it only exported in .m2ts. Are there any similar cameras that have a lot of the same hardware features but can export a "normal" format like .mov or .avi. I want it to be about the same price or less. Any good suggestions?
Xamith95 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 02-05-2011, 04:30 PM
Member
 
Videomaker1968's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Most new HD camcorders export in that file format, but it's a simple thing to convert them using many software programs.
I use the ROXIO Creator 2011 Pro they also have a plain Creator program if you don't need 3D. also it's about $30US less in price.
Videomaker1968 is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 02-05-2011, 04:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
workinghard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 633
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think samsung video cameras are what you want, though I am not sure you will find the same type of video quality for the price of the 700.
workinghard is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 02-05-2011, 05:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Xamith95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't really want to use any third party software between the camera and AE/Premiere CS3... Especially if I had to pay for it... oh well... Just looked at the Samsungs now, and I'm not overly impressed. I think the panny is the best camera I've seen, I just don't want to buy CS5, it would cost more than the camera itself.
Xamith95 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 02-05-2011, 05:37 PM
Senior Member
 
havasuvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xamith95 View Post

I didn't really want to use any third party software between the camera and AE/Premiere CS3... Especially if I had to pay for it... oh well... Just looked at the Samsungs now, and I'm not overly impressed. I think the panny is the best camera I've seen, I just don't want to buy CS5, it would cost more than the camera itself.

Try http://www.aunsoft.com/mts-converter/

Use it on some of your old TM700 footage. You can convert to virtually any format. They have a free demo that will put a little watermark on your video, but I've tried it to convert video for use with Media Composer 5, and it worked fine. It's only $30.

Remember, .mts is merely a "container". You should be able to easily convert it to many different formats, and retain 59.94 frames per second(you will need to use the custom menu for that).
However, CS3 may be to old to handle even the converted video's, unless you cut them down to 29.97 frames per second. Which kind of defeats the purpose of shooting in 60P in the first place.
havasuvideo is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 02-05-2011, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Xamith95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
true... I kinda want to get CS5 production suite but it's way to much money, and then I would need a 64 bit OS... money money money...
Xamith95 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 02-05-2011, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
havasuvideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
How did you edit the files from your TM700 when you had it??
havasuvideo is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 02-06-2011, 06:19 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Xamith95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't, really, I just watched them from the software it gave me, which was just a basic program. It had an editor in it, but it sucked and would only export AVCHD.
Xamith95 is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off