Sony HDR-CX700V Shipping tomorrow, Anyone ordered one? - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 04:06 PM
 
ed lynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Cebu View Post

I'm on the phone with a Sony Tech right now. The CX700V has no LANC port and No Remote control.

The Panasonic TM900 does come with a Remote control but no LANC.

Sony CX700v comes with a remote control

What's in the Box
Sony HDR-CX700V Camcorder
AC-L200 AC Adapter / Charger
Lithium-Ion Battery Pack
Remote Control
Component A/V Cable
USB Connection Support Cable
Power Cord
Lens Hood
A/V Connecting Cable
CD-ROM Handycam Application Software
User's Operating Guide
1-Year Parts & 90-Days Labor Limited Warranty

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...sh_Memory.html
ed lynn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed lynn View Post

Sony CX700v comes with a remote control

IR RC, not LANC.
Ungermann is offline  
post #183 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 05:18 PM
Member
 
djandrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
turning around, seems to be a problem only mine, and since it is so small (perhaps those
of assistance even admit it) I prefer to give me the money and take it from another site, where
cheaper ...
djandrea is offline  
post #184 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
dustindu4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: NH
Posts: 455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the 550 comes with a remote. It's only useful when you have the camera connected right to the TV and doing playback. Pause, rewind, etc
dustindu4 is offline  
post #185 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Cebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed lynn View Post
Sony CX700v comes with a remote control

What's in the Box
Sony HDR-CX700V Camcorder
AC-L200 AC Adapter / Charger
Lithium-Ion Battery Pack
Remote Control
Component A/V Cable
USB Connection Support Cable
Power Cord
Lens Hood
A/V Connecting Cable
CD-ROM Handycam Application Software
User's Operating Guide
1-Year Parts & 90-Days Labor Limited Warranty

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...sh_Memory.html

Well I posted mine directly from the Sony website after speaking with Sony directly. The official website says no remote.
Ken Ross will get his tomorrow, mine will be here sometime during the week. We will know for certain after we open up the box and look inside.
I hope there is a remote inside because it would be helpful if it can control zoom and record remotely.
Steve Cebu is offline  
post #186 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 06:51 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Cebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djandrea View Post
turning around, seems to be a problem only mine, and since it is so small (perhaps those
of assistance even admit it) I prefer to give me the money and take it from another site, where
cheaper ...

Well if any of us have any problems with hissing or anything else you can be certain it'll get posted on here rather quickly.
Steve Cebu is offline  
post #187 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 08:04 PM
Member
 
srothwell's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Aside from your slow transfer issue, how are you finding the picture quality?
I am very happy with the video quality, especially at 60p
srothwell is offline  
post #188 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 08:20 PM
 
ed lynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Cebu View Post
Well I posted mine directly from the Sony website after speaking with Sony directly. The official website says no remote.
Ken Ross will get his tomorrow, mine will be here sometime during the week. We will know for certain after we open up the box and look inside.
I hope there is a remote inside because it would be helpful if it can control zoom and record remotely.
If you compare the Sony Cx700 vs CX560v on Sony's website. The resolution of both camcorders are the same. But if you do comparision on BH. The CX700 and CX560 has different resolution

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...B748430-REG%3B
ed lynn is offline  
post #189 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 08:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1346
Not sure what you're seeing on the B&H site Ed? Can you point that out, I must be missing it.

To the best of my knowledge the major differentiation between the two is the EVF and onboard memory.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #190 of 334 Old 03-13-2011, 08:38 PM
 
ed lynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Not sure what you're seeing on the B&H site Ed? Can you point that out, I must be missing it.

To the best of my knowledge the major differentiation between the two is the EVF and onboard memory.
Still Image Resolution JPEG: 12.3 Megapixel vs JPEG: 12 Megapixel
Lux 11 (1/30 shutter speed), 0 (1/60 shutter speed) vs 11 (1/60 shutter speed) 3 (1/30 shutter speed)
ed lynn is offline  
post #191 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 07:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1346
OK, I just got the unit. I can confirm there IS a remote included with the camera.

The battery is essentially dead, but what I can tell thus far is that the build quality is very good, with ports that are covered with more secure hatches than my Panny 700 was. On the downside, for reasons that I can't begin to understand, the VF on this unit is 4:3 and thus your 16:9 frame is letter-boxed. The rationale for incorporating a 4:3 VF on an HD camera is something that eludes me. Even if the cam can shoot in SD, you'd almost always be using it in HD and thus it would make more sense to provide a native 16:9 screen with alternate framing for 4:3 rather than take a native 4:3 display and crop it for 16:9 which would be used far more often. So you're taking an already small VF and making it still smaller with letter-boxing. That for me is a real downside and I'm not aware of other manufacturers doing that.

Once I get the cam charged, I'll take a look at the PQ.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #192 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Cebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

OK, I just got the unit. I can confirm there IS a remote included with the camera.

The battery is essentially dead, but what I can tell thus far is that the build quality is very good, with ports that are covered with more secure hatches than my Panny 700 was. On the downside, for reasons that I can't begin to understand, the VF on this unit is 4:3 and thus your 16:9 frame is letter-boxed. The rationale for incorporating a 4:3 VF on an HD camera is something that eludes me. Even if the cam can shoot in SD, you'd almost always be using it in HD and thus it would make more sense to provide a native 16:9 screen with alternate framing for 4:3 rather than take a native 4:3 display and crop it for 16:9 which would be used far more often. So you're taking an already small VF and making it still smaller with letter-boxing. That for me is a real downside and I'm not aware of other manufacturers doing that.

Once I get the cam charged, I'll take a look at the PQ.


Having a 4:3 aspect ratio on the VF is just plain stupid. I guess they just figure no one will use it, but how do you frame a wide shot that way? So that is a drawback.

I'm glad it has a remote, does the remote control control record and zoom and on/off or something else?

I look forward to what you find when you test it out.

I called B&H photo and they reccomend the TM900 over the Sony because customer reviews are more positive on the Panny. I would think they should know about what they are selling but I guess not.
Steve Cebu is offline  
post #193 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 09:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1346
Steve, it is a full function remote offering zoom, record etc. But man oh man, a 4:3 screen letter-boxed to 16:9...good grief.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #194 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 09:42 AM
Member
 
djandrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

OK, I just got the unit. I can confirm there IS a remote included with the camera.

The battery is essentially dead, but what I can tell thus far is that the build quality is very good, with ports that are covered with more secure hatches than my Panny 700 was. On the downside, for reasons that I can't begin to understand, the VF on this unit is 4:3 and thus your 16:9 frame is letter-boxed. The rationale for incorporating a 4:3 VF on an HD camera is something that eludes me. Even if the cam can shoot in SD, you'd almost always be using it in HD and thus it would make more sense to provide a native 16:9 screen with alternate framing for 4:3 rather than take a native 4:3 display and crop it for 16:9 which would be used far more often. So you're taking an already small VF and making it still smaller with letter-boxing. That for me is a real downside and I'm not aware of other manufacturers doing that.

Once I get the cam charged, I'll take a look at the PQ.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsCHLMmDjOY

let me know if you have this noise ... thanks (also activating cut wind noise) thanks
djandrea is offline  
post #195 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Cebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Steve, it is a full function remote offering zoom, record etc. But man oh man, a 4:3 screen letter-boxed to 16:9...good grief.

Thanks Ken, I will be interested to know how well it performs against your experience with the TM700. That VF is a bizzare thing, I hope the video quality makes up for it.
Steve Cebu is offline  
post #196 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Darknight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,037
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Steve, it is a full function remote offering zoom, record etc. But man oh man, a 4:3 screen letter-boxed to 16:9...good grief.

I'm starting to lean away from the 700v in favor of the 560v more and more. As much as I always thought I wanted a CVF, it just doesn't seem worth the extra $200 over the 560v. I'm thinking a simple hood for the fold out screen might be good enough. I do like the matte finish of the 700v over the glossy finish of the 560v though.

What surprised me the most after playing with both yesterday was how much smaller they are than last year's 550v. I just assumed they were similar in size based on pics, but the size difference is pretty amazing. It's definitely enough that I won't go with a 550v at this point.
Darknight is offline  
post #197 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 10:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Ken, how the manual mode works? Can you set shutter speed, aperture and gain independently?
Ungermann is offline  
post #198 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 11:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1346
Nope, shutter speed or aperture, one at a time. As soon as you go into the other variable parameter, the camera returns to its automatic setting. Also I see no way to adjust gain at all.

I've taken a few clips and to be honest, I'm disappointed. I've seen some AWB shifting beyond what I would consider to be typical. I've also seen some focus changes as a zoom begins and I don't believe this camera has the color palette of a Panasonic 700 or 900. The overall sharpness & detail are good, but again I don't believe it's in the same league as the 900 or 700. Every time I used the TMV700, I would watch the video in disbelief that this was a consumer camera. I have not gotten that feeling thus far with the CX.

After seeing Mark's parade video, it certainly seems to me they did make changes to the color in a positive way.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #199 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Cebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Nope, shutter speed or aperture, one at a time. As soon as you go into the other variable parameter, the camera returns to its automatic setting. Also I see no way to adjust gain at all.

I've taken a few clips and to be honest, I'm disappointed. I've seen some AWB shifting beyond what I would consider to be typical. I've also seen some focus changes as a zoom begins and I don't believe this camera has the color palette of a Panasonic 700 or 900. The overall sharpness & detail are good, but again I don't believe it's in the same league as the 900 or 700. Every time I used the TMV700, I would watch the video in disbelief that this was a consumer camera. I have not gotten that feeling thus far with the CX.

After seeing Mark's parade video, it certainly seems to me they did make changes to the color in a positive way.


So overall would you say based on your preliminary findings that the TM900 would possibly be a better buy?

The reason I ask is because my card was rejected at Amazon even tho I had a confirmation it screwed up at my bank a security flag or something, so the Sony has to be reordered.
But from the sound of it I'm better of with the TM900. Do you agree?
Steve Cebu is offline  
post #200 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 11:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1346
Steve, absolutely, save your money and get the 900. I'm not wowed and I'm annoyed by several things. The bank did you a favor.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #201 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 11:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Cebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Steve, absolutely, save your money and get the 900. I'm not wowed and annoyed by several things.


Thanks Ken, I'm on the phone with Panasonic right now trying to get some info. If that pans out I'll order today.
Steve Cebu is offline  
post #202 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 12:06 PM
Member
 
djandrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do not think so, the TM900 has something more? just a little bit of sharpness of the day
EVERYTHING else is worse in
djandrea is offline  
post #203 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,869
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Nope, shutter speed or aperture, one at a time. As soon as you go into the other variable parameter, the camera returns to its automatic setting. Also I see no way to adjust gain at all.

Hmm, Sony advertised full auto mode. What you are describing is the same modus operandi used on the last year's models. Not good.
Ungermann is offline  
post #204 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 01:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1346
Unless I missed something, but I'm just not as impressed with the PQ as I was with the 700. The clips I've seen from Mark with the 900 look very impressive.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #205 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 01:05 PM
Member
 
djandrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Unless I missed something, but I'm just not as impressed with the PQ as I was with the 700. The clips I've seen from Mark with the 900 look very impressive.

watching old video of the 700 known to be too called the 700 swear ... 560 seconds to me is perfect

you make that hissing background indoors?
djandrea is offline  
post #206 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 01:59 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1346
Didn't hear any hissing, but for some reason I can't get audio with the Sony files when playing on the PS3. If I play it direct from the camera to my system, there's no problem.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #207 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 02:13 PM
Member
 
djandrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsCHLMmDjOY

no noise like this?

even if it is low in the withdrawal, and maybe do buy the CX700
djandrea is offline  
post #208 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 02:14 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Cebu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Didn't hear any hissing, but for some reason I can't get audio with the Sony files when playing on the PS3. If I play it direct from the camera to my system, there's no problem.


Did you try this Ken?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C98pn2c-LYc

It might be one of those settings or it could be in the other menu so if that doesn't fix it send me a small raw file that doesn't have audio and I can test it and see if I can get the audio to work in my PS3.
If you like?
Steve Cebu is offline  
post #209 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 03:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 24,284
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1194 Post(s)
Liked: 1346
Quote:
Originally Posted by djandrea View Post

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LsCHLMmDjOY

no noise like this?

even if it is low in the withdrawal, and maybe do buy the CX700

I heard nothing like that djandrea. It's very hard when you're shooting in an outdoor environment and there are so may noises to be heard, to isolate a camera noise as the problem.

Let's put it this way, if you can hear the camera making noise outdoors like that, then there is a real problem.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #210 of 334 Old 03-14-2011, 03:56 PM
Member
 
djandrea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

I heard nothing like that djandrea. It's very hard when you're shooting in an outdoor environment and there are so noises to be heard, to isolate a camera noise as the problem.

Let's put it this way, if you can hear the camera making noise outdoors like that, then there is a real problem.

do you think gave them withdrawal can cause problems??

I'm not always the problem, depends

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sLes2dl2oQI
djandrea is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off