canon hf100 is wrong to consider such an old camera - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 03-28-2011, 06:14 AM - Thread Starter
 
rassi2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
been reading all I can and the more I read the more confused I get... its coming down to is it really worth it to spend an extra $400 for a bigger sensor. this cam seems to have some cool features.. but its old.. 2008 model.. am I wasting my time looking at.. has the technology gotten a lot better? these are used around $300 -$350 on the bay.... lens ring, ext mic .. ect...
rassi2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 03-28-2011, 02:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 26
It is one of the best consumer HD cameras made so far. Two its main issues: no focus ring/wheel and it does not accept Class 10 cards.
Ungermann is online now  
post #3 of 16 Old 03-28-2011, 03:01 PM
Member
 
b9222's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rassi2010 View Post

been reading all I can and the more I read the more confused I get... its coming down to is it really worth it to spend an extra $400 for a bigger sensor. this cam seems to have some cool features.. but its old.. 2008 model.. am I wasting my time looking at.. has the technology gotten a lot better? these are used around $300 -$350 on the bay.... lens ring, ext mic .. ect...

I just picked one up on ebay that came with nice extras for a good price. I have been very impressed by the videos I have seen online.

I use to own an HF200 and, although the video was very sharp in daylight, the image suffered horribly in low light situations.

After it arrives, I will test it and post back to let you know how it goes.
b9222 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 03-28-2011, 03:31 PM - Thread Starter
 
rassi2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ah... so maybe I'm not so crazy after all my research good to know
rassi2010 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 03-28-2011, 10:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Anthony1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Posts: 5,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 63 Post(s)
Liked: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

Two its main issues: no focus ring/wheel and it does not accept Class 10 cards.


As a total newb, what does the lack of a focus ring ultimately mean for the end result?

Class 10 is the speed right? What is the fastest class that it accepts?
Anthony1 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 03-28-2011, 10:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony1 View Post

As a total newb, what does the lack of a focus ring ultimately mean for the end result?

Inability to rack focus or to follow a moving subject manually. Basically, all you can do is use autofocus to get the object in focus, then lock the focus. You can use joystick to pull focus, but it is unpricise.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony1 View Post

Class 10 is the speed right? What is the fastest class that it accepts?

Class 6. On the other hand, Class 2 is too slow. So, you can use Class 4 and Class 6 cards.
Ungermann is online now  
post #7 of 16 Old 03-29-2011, 04:26 AM - Thread Starter
 
rassi2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

Inability to rack focus or to follow a moving subject manually. Basically, all you can do is use autofocus to get the object in focus, then lock the focus. You can use joystick to pull focus, but it is unpricise.
Class 6. On the other hand, Class 2 is too slow. So, you can use Class 4 and Class 6 cards.

so is class 4 and 6 going to be an issue w/ HD recording?
rassi2010 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 03-29-2011, 05:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Dave Mack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Class 6 is plenty
Dave Mack is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 03-29-2011, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jogiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,745
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 31 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Mack View Post

Class 6 is plenty

I have a Class 6 30mb/sec Sandisk Extreme III SDHC card that is faster than most of the cheap Class 10 cards.
jogiba is online now  
post #10 of 16 Old 03-29-2011, 06:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,782
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rassi2010 View Post

so is class 4 and 6 going to be an issue w/ HD recording?

I will repeat what I wrote: "Class 2 is too slow. So, you can use Class 4 and Class 6 cards."
Ungermann is online now  
post #11 of 16 Old 03-29-2011, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,442
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by rassi2010 View Post

so is class 4 and 6 going to be an issue w/ HD recording?

Class 6 is not going to make a difference on the HF100 - it would matter if you were taking photos and needed to have a camera ready for the next one.
btw, class number is the minimum write speed, not the maximum.

An SDHC class 4 will be fine. I have used a Kingston class 4 SDHC without any problems. They come with a lifetime warranty:
http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Class...1411060&sr=8-2
xfws is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 03-29-2011, 11:12 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
seggers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY
Posts: 2,084
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungermann View Post

I will repeat what I wrote: "Class 2 is too slow. So, you can use Class 4 and Class 6 cards."

Wasn't there a discussion where some C4 are well too fast and some C6s are too slow, back in the HF10/HF100 thread?

I think it matters more about the upper limit of the cam (class 6) and the record speed.

Still have my HF100. Must dust it off soon and use it again....

Seggers

Mits 73835, Denon X4000, Emotiva UPA5 (triggered), Wharfedale Pacific Evo 40s, CS, 10s, the internet, a NAS drive, a TiVo Series 3 and an Oppo 103 (bye bye PS3). There's also a Wii, but we don't talk about that...
seggers is online now  
post #13 of 16 Old 03-30-2011, 05:27 AM - Thread Starter
 
rassi2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b9222 View Post

I just picked one up on ebay that came with nice extras for a good price. I have been very impressed by the videos I have seen online.

I use to own an HF200 and, although the video was very sharp in daylight, the image suffered horribly in low light situations.

After it arrives, I will test it and post back to let you know how it goes.

well, I just snagged a hf10 on ebay for what I think is a great price.. I'm really interested in the DOF adapters.. but of course I don't want to spend a ton... it would be nice if I could attach my nikon 50mm 1.8 to the canon
rassi2010 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 04-03-2011, 07:08 PM
Member
 
b9222's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I deleted my intial test/kind of crappy...

This test with the HF100 came out better.
Some tweaking in Sony Vegas:

b9222 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 04-04-2011, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
 
rassi2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by b9222 View Post

I deleted my intial test/kind of crappy...

This test with the HF100 came out better.
Some tweaking in Sony Vegas:


looking forward to looking at this when I get home.. I have sony vegas 9 and am currently trying to find the best workflow to keep the best quality video I can
rassi2010 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 04-06-2011, 09:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pepster returns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 734
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by jogiba View Post
I have a Class 6 30mb/sec Sandisk Extreme III SDHC card that is faster than most of the cheap Class 10 cards.[/IMG]
I have 2x of the old version SANDISC class 10 32GB SDHC cards.

Sure, for the 'class 10' SANDISC claims 30MBs (peak), but my testing shows 14MBs average continuous write. I had 6 32GB 10x Transcend cards that wrote @ 15MBS ave., @ 1/3 the cost, but the burst speed did not match the SANDISC - only important for fellow DSLR users shooting RAW.
Pepster returns is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off