Canon SX 30 is : correct Night Club settings for Video and Photos - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 09-14-2011, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I am an enthusiastic newbie, 1st forum post, so any help is appreciated. :-)

I am in an unusual (great) situation as through pure enthusiasm I was just hired to do Video and Photos at different Dance Clubs here in Costa Rica. I did my 1st one a week ago, was a combo day and night gig, the Video/Photos were great, but when they hit heavy Bass the sound would distort.

Currently own a Canon SX30 is, I purchased it primarily for the long zoom and combo photos and HD Video. I had a Nikon D80, great pics, but needed extra lenses and had no Video, so the all in one solution of the SX30 seemed ideal. I use it both for my Real Estate projects for Video and Photos of the surrounding countryside and Views, as well as for the club gigs.

I must stress that I have no experience changing ANY Camera settings, I leave the dial on on Auto, both for Video and Photos.

But time to get educated, so any advice is helpful.

So, here are my questions.

#1. For a darkly lit Nightclub, with no external extra lights, for the Canon SX 30 is what are the best settings for;

a) HD VIDEO
and
b) Photos

#2. I am assuming there is no solution for the sound recording "clipping" with heavy Bass in the SX30, the Sx30 has a hot show but no external Mic plug. any ideas?

NEXT:

So I am looking for the best solution (New semi pro DSLR or 3/4 Camera) that will give me a small and very mobil package, as I am running around and it unusual positions (climbing ladders or equipment racks or stage platforms) with external mic so that I end up with Video that has sound that is as high a quality as the Video.
SO..
Recommended Camera, lens(s), External mic/ Filters and anything else I need.

Also, here is an unusual offer.