what prosumer camcorder should I get as a student? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 10-11-2011, 12:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi guys, I am a film student looking to purchase my first HD prosumer camcorder. I guess my general question is, can anyone recommend a good one that fits my needs? Specifically, I am looking for:

-HD (1080i or p)
-under $1500
-Not overly complicated (I don't need a gimpy point and shoot, I do want options)
-preferably built-in hard drive or SDHC card slot

I have been looking at the Sony HXR-MC50U which seems like a decent, affordable option. I know it does not offer a ton of options and everything is through a touch screen, but the price is nice and it seems as if the shooting quality is great, at least for a first camera. However, I am also seeing people say "this is by no means meant to be your main camcorder" which is just throwing me off completely.

This will probably be the only camcorder I will own for a while, so I want it to be a versatile and good-quality one. I will most likely be using it with Adobe CS4 (premier, after effects, etc) which I already own.

Any and all opinions/recommendations are welcome! Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 10-11-2011, 08:07 AM
AVS Special Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaseface View Post

Hi guys, I am a film student looking to purchase my first HD prosumer camcorder. I guess my general question is, can anyone recommend a good one that fits my needs? Specifically, I am looking for:

-HD (1080i or p)
-under $1500
-Not overly complicated (I don't need a gimpy point and shoot, I do want options)
-preferably built-in hard drive or SDHC card slot

Any and all opinions/recommendations are welcome! Thanks.

Canon HF G10 costs under $1,500 and has amazing low light capabilities.
I was at Plimouth Plantation going in and out of the houses from bright daylight to almost dark and it worked great.