Edititng software confusion - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 12-07-2011, 09:07 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up a Canon HFM41 over the weekend and have been looking into video editing software. I am a complete novice and newbie to this whole HD camcorder world. I am used to the miniDV tapes, of which i haven't transferred any over to my computer (something I need to do also for archiving). After reading over a lot of the posts about editing software I don't see a clear "winner" as to which one to buy/learn. It seems Sony Vegas is very popular, but looks to be a steep learning curve. I've read a little about Power Director 10 Ultra, it seems to be comparable with maybe a slight easier learning curve.
My primary use for the camera is for home family movies.
Any suggestions, comments, or recommendations will be appreciated. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 12-07-2011, 09:21 AM

Power Director v10, Magix Movie Edit Pro (v18), or Pinnacle Studio v15 would be excellent choices for people new to video editing. They all have some good "auto" modes, as well as many features, and are easier to learn than most. Both have several different versions of the same software. Higher price usually adds more content, more HD output, or 64 bit support.

But your main concern will be your system specs. ALL these programs are VERY LARGE resource hogs, and will crash any system, not meeting their HD editing minimumm requirement specs. Rule of thumb...... look at the minimumm required "HD" or "AVCHD" spec for each software, then add 30% to that. If you system has at least these specs, you are fine. If you fall below any spec, then you would need to upgrade that component.

All 3 softwares have "trials: that you can download to try for free for 30 days. To see if you like the interface. But again, read the "requirements" first. They are critical.

Randy