Video editing and PC requirements - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 25 Old 01-10-2012, 10:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am currently looking for a new computer and don't really understand the tech stuff but wanted to make sure my specs matchup with HD video editing needs. I am looking at a

XPS 8300

Windows 7, 64bit

Intel Core i7-2600 processor(8MB Cache, 3.4GHz)

8GB DDR3 SDRAM at 1333MHz- 4 Dimms

1TB Performance RAID O ( 2 x 500GB SATA 3Gb/s 7200 RPM HDDs)

AMD Radeon HD 6450 1GB DDR3 or (with the option on the Dell website to UPGRADE card to Nvidia Geforce GT 530 or AMD Radeon HD 6670 1GB DDR5 or HD 6770)

Does this system seem acceptable for hd editing and software requirements? and should i upgrade the graphic card or is the 6450 all i need? I did consider the latest sony vegas platium 11 but it just seems soo overwhelming given i am new to all of this and more then likely going with Powerdirector 10 because it just seems more user friendly. My purpose will be for family videos and i always wanted to make some youtube videos with some of my favorite music and shows. Not interested in 3D requiring eyewear kinda stuff..makes me sea sick. I am using a Sony HDR CX 110. Anybody have any experience with the new Powerdirector 10?

I really appreciate any feedback and again...when it comes to getting under the hood of a pc i am pretty much blind as to what is what...been doing some reading and this is how i arrived at what i picked out.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 25 Old 01-10-2012, 10:59 AM

Liked: 11
My office has always bought me Dell computers and they have served me well.

I would, and always have, opted for the three-year warranty.

Not sure if that is standard now.

Unless things have changed, having an internal RAID usually requires more specialized backup software.