cammie buying help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 02-01-2012, 12:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking for a camcorder and am in need of some serious help, complete noob. Basically I'm looking for the best camcorder (my filmmaking friend said to call it a "cammie," but i think he's messing with me) for the money. what a surprise right? Looking in the "prosumer" range and less than $1000.

I have no qualms with used or refurbished cameras. I would prefer a used cammie because i think you get more value for money. I don't mind using an older model. I feel like an older used model of a professional camera is better value for money than a prosumer camera. Am I way off there? I know it depends, but say a Canon GL1 on amazon runs $600-$700 used vs Canon Vixia S or Panasonic TM (new or used). But would a used GL1 (or any used professional camera) break too often if used only moderately? For someone that doesn't need the latest and greatest, is it even worth investing in an old professional camera?

I can already hear some people, "what are you going to use it for?" Mainly for sketches, but I like the idea that I can do more with a professional camera when I want to in the future, even if 90% of what I do will only require a cheap handycam. This is the case with most electronics i guess ("does my mac need 250GB or 2Trillion GB!?"). I'm also eager to learn and like the idea of jumping in the deep end with a pro camera. I'm sure many people have this dilemma, let me know your thoughts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 02-01-2012, 07:32 PM

I think you're comparing apples to oranges. Isn't the GL1 a standard definition MiniDv camcorder? For less than a used SD GL1 you can get a great new HD consumer camcorder.
post #3 of 11 Old 02-01-2012, 09:16 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 13
get the canon M41. Also, never ever call it a 'cammie'.