MiniDV vs other media question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 8 Old 03-23-2012, 10:48 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess I am one of those old school guys. I had an old camcorder that used 8mm tapes but it recently died on me. I went out and bought a kodak playsport camera to use to tape my kids and take in the pool for some fun underwater stuff, but hated the fact that every time I pushed the start and stop button, it was like starting and stopping a brand new video clip.

I want to get a new camcorder but the biggest thing for me is to be able to fade in and out when recording and have the entire video string along on one continuous stream instead of fading out and having the clip stop then starting a new clip when I fade in. Hope that makes sense, I am very new to the camcorder scene. I tried to do some research on line but can't find out if there is any other media storage device that will allow me to fade in and out while recording and different times and still stay as one continuous video instead of breaking up into several different clips. I don't like having to go to the computer to have to edit any videos either, I just like to have the tape as a hard copy.

Is there any other media storage out there that can do this, or does it depend on the camera? As far as I can tell, the only media that can do this is the MiniDV stuff but I want to be sure before starting to price out camcorders. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 Old 03-23-2012, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Multiple clips is a benefit, not a drawback. But you can stitch them together easily if you want. If you can use a computer to write messages on an internet forum, you should be capable to stitch clips together with a simple tool, there are many tools that can do that.