Copy hi8 video tape with gaps between videos on tape. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 04-22-2012, 12:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Raymond Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Belleville MI
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I been trying to copy old analog and digital hi8 tapes to the computer. Windows Media seems the best to get the tape to the computer. Been using the fire wire to copy it to the computer. With MediaInfo I get this:

Code:
General
Complete name                            : D:\\Documents and Settings\\Raymond Day\\My Documents\\My Videos\\Sony 8 digital camcorder\\8mm analog tape 02\\2000-12-21 07.58.50 8mm analog tape.avi
Format                                   : AVI
Format/Info                              : Audio Video Interleave
Commercial name                          : DVCPRO
Format profile                           : OpenDML
File size                                : 12.2 GiB
Duration                                 : 1h 0mn
Overall bit rate mode                    : Constant
Overall bit rate                         : 28.9 Mbps
Recorded date                            : 2000-12-21 12:58:50.000

Video
ID                                       : 0
Format                                   : DV
Commercial name                          : DVCPRO
Duration                                 : 1h 0mn
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 24.4 Mbps
Encoded bit rate                         : 28.8 Mbps
Width                                    : 720 pixels
Height                                   : 480 pixels
Display aspect ratio                     : 4:3
Frame rate mode                          : Constant
Frame rate                               : 29.970 fps
Standard                                 : NTSC
Chroma subsampling                       : 4:1:1
Bit depth                                : 8 bits
Scan type                                : Interlaced
Scan order                               : Bottom Field First
Compression mode                         : Lossy
Bits/(Pixel*Frame)                       : 2.357
Stream size                              : 12.2 GiB (100%)
Encoding settings                        : ae mode=full automatic / wb mode=automatic / white balance= / fcm=manual focus

Audio
ID                                       : 0-0
Format                                   : PCM
Muxing mode                              : DV
Muxing mode, more info                   : Muxed in Video #1
Duration                                 : 1h 0mn
Bit rate mode                            : Constant
Bit rate                                 : 1 536 Kbps
Encoded bit rate                         : 0 bps
Channel(s)                               : 2 channels
Sampling rate                            : 48.0 KHz
Bit depth                                : 16 bits
Stream size                              : 666 MiB (5%)
Encoded stream size                      : 0.00 Byte (0%)
I want to edit the video parts out of it. The Video looks real good if I play it. Any thing I do to copy the parts out of it I can't. They can't open it or error.

DivX Plus Converter hang at 11% and I guess that's were the first video ends and another starts.

I think it's because between the videos there are gaps in the tape of nothing or just the very start and end of recording. That looks like errors in the .avi file.

Last thing I used was RipBot264 but when I open this video file it says:

Quote:


Unspecified error (C:\\Temp\\RipBot264temp\\job1\\getinfo.avs, line2)

I guess I could hand stop and start the tape just before and after the videos on it. But that's hard to do and I could miss getting part of the video then.

There must be some one that ran into this problem too. Any one know what to do?

I used DivFix++ on the video file too. But it will still error when I open the video file it fixed.

-Raymond Day

Raymond J Day
Raymond Day is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-22-2012, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
sabatical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond Day View Post

I want to edit the video parts out of it. The Video looks real good if I play it. Any thing I do to copy the parts out of it I can't. They can't open it or error.

Firstly, download VLC Media player ( http://www.videolan.org/vlc/ ) and try to play your file using that. Tip: Enable "deinterlacing" (Video --> Deinterlace --> On) when viewing the video. It will make viewing your video more pleasant.

Secondly, use a proper video editor to encode your videos to DivX, XviD, H2.264 (or whatever codec you want to use). I recommend downloading the trial version of Vegas Movie Studio HD. ( http://www.sonycreativesoftware.com/download/trials )
Once you've loaded your AVI into Vegas Movie Studio you will be able to cut out the parts of the video you don't want (if that's what you want to do) or just render the whole thing to your choice of codec.
sabatical is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-23-2012, 06:22 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Raymond Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Belleville MI
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you. The Vegas Movie Studio HD works with out erring on the video that came right from the firewire from the Sony hi8 tape camcarder.

I saved the hole thing out in MPG because that's the only one I could find with the same size of 720 by 480 Then I used "VideoReDo" to easy cut and save the parts from the video. I am converting them to smaller size now with DivX Plus Converter. But it says the output will be 856 by 480. I think that's saveing the black bars on the left and right of a wide screen.

I bought the Vegas Movie Studio HD it was only $44.95 for the download and it was cool how it just put in the key info right in Vegas Movie Studio HD after I paid for it.

-Raymond Day

Raymond J Day
Raymond Day is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-24-2012, 12:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Raymond Day's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Belleville MI
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In Vegas Movie Studio HD 11.0 I can press "S" at the start and end of the videos.

Is there a way to name each parts of the videos and then save it all out as like 10 videos with there names?

I guess I could copy one part at a time and open it in a new Vegas Movie Studio and paste it in there and say save then.

-Raymond Day

Raymond J Day
Raymond Day is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-24-2012, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
sabatical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond Day View Post

In Vegas Movie Studio HD 11.0 I can press "S" at the start and end of the videos.

Is there a way to name each parts of the videos and then save it all out as like 10 videos with there names?

I guess I could copy one part at a time and open it in a new Vegas Movie Studio and paste it in there and say save then.

Yeah, you need to use the "Batch Rendering" feature. Watch this YouTube video for instructions on how to do it. I'm not 100% whether your version of Vegas supports this, but fingers crossed it does.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7xJqPpLCXg
If you prefer written instructions: https://www.custcenter.com/app/answe...e-in-vegas-pro
sabatical is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off