Wanting to build budget vid editing machine - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 05-03-2012, 11:16 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NoLiberty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trying to keep it as close to 500 as possible. Already have storage drives, and roms so not needed.

Before i spend the money, I wanted some advice if you think this would be enough to do some light to moderate, quality video production. Will be running programs like camtasia studio,after effects, and video encoding. Would like to add a dedicated video card in the future if it demands, but was wondering if this would do the job. Here's what I came up with real quick as far as parts go.

All from newegg.com
total before shipping $539.94

Processor: AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz (4.3GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W Quad-Core Desktop Processor FD4170FRGUBOX


MOBO: ASUS M5A88-V EVO AM3+ AMD 880G SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard


Memory: G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1866 (PC3 14900) Desktop Memory Model F3-14900CL9D-8GBSR

SSD: ( OS & programs only) OCZ Agility 3 AGT3-25SAT3-120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Case: COOLER MASTER HAF 912 RC-912-KKN1 Black SECC/ ABS Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

PSU: COOLER MASTER eXtreme Power Plus RS500-PCARD3-US 500W ATX12V v2.3 Power Supply
NoLiberty is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 05-03-2012, 11:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NoLiberty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will be running win 7 ultimate too and other editing software. Do you think this hardware will get the job done
NoLiberty is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 05-04-2012, 02:01 AM
Senior Member
 
sabatical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NoLiberty View Post

Will be running win 7 ultimate too and other editing software. Do you think this hardware will get the job done

Make sure you use the 64 bit version of Windows otherwise you won't be able to utilize your 8 gig of RAM.

Your specs look good.
sabatical is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 05-04-2012, 04:34 AM
Member
 
KYRandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ssd causes problems with some nle's. You also need a 2nd large drive for video/audio/photo/render files. You need a bluray burner also.
KYRandy is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 05-04-2012, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NoLiberty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah it will be x64 for sure.
NoLiberty is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 05-04-2012, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NoLiberty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KYRandy View Post

Ssd causes problems with some nle's. You also need a 2nd large drive for video/audio/photo/render files. You need a bluray burner also.

SSD causing problems? Can you explain this further? As far as a second drive, i do have plenty of those already. But since were on the topic of second drives for rendering what would be the best setup with my Hdd's in this case?
NoLiberty is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-12-2012, 12:09 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NoLiberty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DUDE!!!!! Just got all the parts today and all i can say is this is a SERIOUS MACHINE!!! Cold boots in 39 seconds flat! From power button to fully running windows!!! You gotta get this build. The ssd rates a 7.8 out of 7.9 in windows 7 ultimate. Ram 7.7. CPU 7.2. This thing is nasty!
NoLiberty is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 05-12-2012, 12:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NoLiberty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here are some pics
LL
LL
LL
NoLiberty is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 05-12-2012, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
NoLiberty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heres some more
LL
LL
NoLiberty is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 05-23-2012, 06:52 PM
Member
 
i6pwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by KYRandy View Post

Ssd causes problems with some nle's. You also need a 2nd large drive for video/audio/photo/render files. You need a bluray burner also.

Absolutely.

No chance I would build a SSD system without a platter-type HD for backup.

Nice build BTW.
i6pwr is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 05-24-2012, 12:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Darkside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA USA
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sounds like a good build to me for nle
Darkside is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 05-24-2012, 06:44 AM
Member
 
pitdaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Wow! Nice system! I have been thinking of doing the same but don't know where to start. Is there an AMD cpu equal to an I5? I'm a big AMD fan.

A couple questions-
how do you like the integrated video?
are you getting 5.1 out of the integrated sound card?

I am curious to know how long it takes to render videos and what task manager shows for your cpu usage when rendering.
pitdaddy is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 05-25-2012, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
guy80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 15
looks like a good build. Not sure on cast compared to an Intel (920 etc).

if you want to know comparisons, google the CPU and "encoding benchmark"...that should do it
guy80 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 05-25-2012, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
YeuEmMaiMai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 1,076
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ivy bridge + dedicated video card + software to make use of said card (Nvidia has the better option at the moment) = extremely fast video processesing and encoding.

SSD? no chance i would use it as I would trade speed for capacity. (your cpu is not going to render video faster than it can be written to a mechanical hdd) for the price of a good SSD, you are looking at a 3TB mechanical hdd

256GB SSD (which is what you are really going to need for a typical PC install + Programs) is $180-200, about the same as a 3TB 7200rpm hdd.

Strong or weak in the end we are all dead
YeuEmMaiMai is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off