Camcorder - 8 to 10 hour record time - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 05-10-2012, 09:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to Camcorders and I need some advice. I promote shows and need one that will record 8 to 10 hours. At least record 2 - 5 hours sessions. I would like to be able to provide sections of the video to Trainers to help with their athletes as well as use it as a training tool for judges. I would like to be able to cut out clips to add to our website to help promote our shows. Any advice would be helpful.
1) What type of camcorder show we look at?
2) What is the best application to use to edit a video?
3) What is the best way to format the video so we can use it for training as well as post short clips on our website?

Thank you very much for your help!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 05-10-2012, 02:49 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Welcome to the forum,

For that much recording time you definitely need a camcorder with either a big hard drive or flash memory. I'm not sure what your budget is but Sony just released their king of the hill CX760 that has a build in 96 Gb flash drive for up to 7 Hrs of full 1080/60p recording at 28 Mbs or you can reduce the bitrate and get up to 12 hours of HD recording at around 5 Mbs. $1,500

I know Panasonic has a model with a built in hard drive that's 220 Gb! The HS900K will do full 1080/60p FOR OVER 18 HOURS!!! ;-) $1,100

Also if you get a HDV camcorder (like the Canon HV40) and you can connect a firewire cable to your computer and record indefinately (dependent on hard drive size). I've used this method for dance shows that last 3-4 hours and shoot non-stop. With this option also, you save a bunch of time because the footage is already on the computer so you don't have to sit down and transfer it later.