How to Get Movies onto Computer from a Sony HD Camcorder? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 07:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony Handycam AVCHD HDR-CX110 Camcorder. I downloaded the PMB software that came along with the camcorder, but can't seem to get the movie files off the camera onto my computer.

Can anyone tell me if I need other software or how to do this? It is really annoying me!

-Thanks!
mgold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 08:04 AM
Senior Member
 
sabatical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 236
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All you need is PMB. Sorry, I can't give specific instructions but it should be a straight forward task...
sabatical is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 08:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I connect the camera and try to transfer it says some files are not supported. Guess which files are not supported the movies files!

This is the problem I have been having.
mgold is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 09:05 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgold View Post

I have a Sony Handycam AVCHD HDR-CX110 Camcorder. I downloaded the PMB software that came along with the camcorder, but can't seem to get the movie files off the camera onto my computer.

Assuming "downloaded" means you put the Sony provided disc into your computer and did a complete "install" you have all you need.

Also assuming you have a reasonably current Windows computer, it put two programs on your computer, PMB and PMB Launcher. You computer needs a USB port too.

Instructions are under the Help Tab as well as on line: Click here for PMB Help.

Plug the camera into your computer with the supplied USB cord and turn it on. If you let the Sony software install the way it wants to, your computer is always looking for your camera. When it sees it, "PMB Launcher" starts up. Look for "Import Media Files", click it and one or more choices show up. Look for your camera. Click on it and answer the questions. The files should transfer.

You can also pull the SDHC card from your camera and plug it into a SD card slot on your computer or get a cheap USB card reader. the PMB Launcher will see those too.

The same import screen that comes up using PMB Launcher also will come up with PMB itself. Look for "Import media files" under the File drop down menu.

If you elect to put the SD card in the computer you can use any software to copy the video files, including Windows Explorer. The files that count are the ones that end in .m2ts and will be buried in the file structure on the card.

Many, especially Apple computer owners, don't use PMB at all. But, PMB will take advantage of some Sony features that make the camera a little more fun our useful.

Did I help get you started?

Bill
bsprague is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 09:09 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgold View Post

When I connect the camera and try to transfer it says some files are not supported. Guess which files are not supported the movies files!

This is the problem I have been having.

For PMB to work, it needs a set of files that are created on your camera. There is the big .m2ts video file and two or three other little ones for each video. If those are not there, I think it will give you that error message.

You can still save your movies. Use Windows Explorer to move the .m2ts files.

Is this a new to you camera?
bsprague is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had the camera for awhile. What do you mean move the big .m2ts using Explorer?

No wonder Sony can't make a profit!
mgold is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sometimes the camera says "Preparing..." for a looong time and I can't get the BS Sony camcorder to connect! Any suggestions?
mgold is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 09:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgold View Post

Sometimes the camera says "Preparing..." for a looong time and I can't get the BS Sony camcorder to connect! Any suggestions?

Sounds to me like something is wrong with the camera or the wire. Or, perhaps the SD card has errors.
bsprague is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 09:38 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgold View Post

I have had the camera for awhile. What do you mean move the big .m2ts using Explorer?

No wonder Sony can't make a profit!

Can you plug the card into your computer directly?

If so, use Windows Explorer to find all the files that end in ".m2ts". Then copy them to your computer in a folder somewhere you like and remember. Double clicking on them should bring up you default Windows movie viewing program.

There should be other files on your SD card besides the primary .m2ts files. If you don't use PMB, they are useless and can be ignored. Since the .m2ts file is the primary video file it is "big" compared to the others.
bsprague is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the advice bsprague!

I just transferred some movies onto my computer using a different USB port and a shorter cable. Some it did not transfer though and gave me an error message that said "You do not have access privileges" or something like that.

I will try what you suggested and report back.
mgold is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 180
If you are using my suggestion of plugging the SD card directly into the computer, PMB will see the card. If it works, on all the files, it would lead to the conclusion that there is something wrong with the cord or camera.

If it doesn't work, it suggests that the card may be bad or need reformatting.
bsprague is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 02:44 PM
Member
 
BeagleEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple things I would try,

Select "Repair img. db f." from the menu (internal and external if used)

Reformat media under media format (internal and external if used)

If that doesn't work, try resetting your camera by pressing the small reset button near the power button.

Uninstall and reinstall PMB. Then update to Sony's New Play Memories.

If none of the above works you may need to call Sony for support.
BeagleEyes is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 05:49 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 3,998
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 496 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeagleEyes View Post

.....Uninstall and reinstall PMB. Then update to Sony's New Play Memories.

After repeated pop up ads to update my PMB to "Play Memories", I did it. Several things didn't work for me after that. I uninstalled it and got out the disk for PMB, put it back on my computer and then all was well again.

I posted a thread on this forum (click here) and at least one other person had the same result.

Bill
bsprague is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 06-03-2012, 10:26 PM
Member
 
BeagleEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsprague View Post

After repeated pop up ads to update my PMB to "Play Memories", I did it. Several things didn't work for me after that. I uninstalled it and got out the disk for PMB, put it back on my computer and then all was well again.

I posted a thread on this forum (click here) and at least one other person had the same result.

Bill

I followed the link to your thread and I left a reply there. Hopefully it will help.
BeagleEyes is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 06-04-2012, 10:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, thanks for the tips! I will see what works and what doesn't.

On one of the cards it transferred all the files. The first time it only did half though, so I just did it again.
mgold is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 08-10-2016, 03:52 PM
Newbie
 
Chaspear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
When I use Playmemories to download my video and picture files from my HDR-CX440, I end up with one folder with a ton of files in it, some extensions are .m2ts, MP4, JPG, THM, modd and moff.
When I just remove the chip and move all the files/folders to a backup drive, I get a folder/directory structure that contains 17 folders of varying names and the actual video/picture files are scattered throughout those 17 folders.
WHICH PROCESS SHOULD I USE TO PRESERVE THE BEST QUALITY OF MY ORIGINAL PICTURES AND VIDEO FILES???
I have searched all over the internet, TRIED to send emails to Sony (without success) about which is the better way to save my original files and STILL CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHETHER TO USE PLAYMEMORIES OR NOT.
If ANYONE out there knows which way is best, I'd appreciate knowing about it and why.
At this point, I've bought another 64G chip to keep recording, but am also saving both the Playmemories bunch of files in a single folder as well as copying all the data in the 17 folders using windows explorer to a separate folder...but this is duplicating my space requirements and shouldn't be necessary.
Please send me an email at chaspear at aol dot com if you have ANY idea about which backup strategy is best, or whether I will be forced to continue to use a double backup system (actually quad because I use 2 separate drives for alternating backups)...and this shouldn't be needed.

Thanks for any help,

Chas Pearson
Chaspear is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 08-10-2016, 06:06 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaspear View Post
When I use Playmemories to download my video and picture files from my HDR-CX440, I end up with one folder with a ton of files in it, some extensions are .m2ts, MP4, JPG, THM, modd and moff.
When I just remove the chip and move all the files/folders to a backup drive, I get a folder/directory structure that contains 17 folders of varying names and the actual video/picture files are scattered throughout those 17 folders.
WHICH PROCESS SHOULD I USE TO PRESERVE THE BEST QUALITY OF MY ORIGINAL PICTURES AND VIDEO FILES???
I have searched all over the internet, TRIED to send emails to Sony (without success) about which is the better way to save my original files and STILL CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHETHER TO USE PLAYMEMORIES OR NOT.
If ANYONE out there knows which way is best, I'd appreciate knowing about it and why.
At this point, I've bought another 64G chip to keep recording, but am also saving both the Playmemories bunch of files in a single folder as well as copying all the data in the 17 folders using windows explorer to a separate folder...but this is duplicating my space requirements and shouldn't be necessary.
Please send me an email at chaspear at aol dot com if you have ANY idea about which backup strategy is best, or whether I will be forced to continue to use a double backup system (actually quad because I use 2 separate drives for alternating backups)...and this shouldn't be needed.

Thanks for any help,

Chas Pearson
Video itself is in *.MTS or *.M2TS files. Everything else is, basically, for bookkeeping. Some of the extra files help to figure out the full recording session out of multiple M2TS files if the session - from the time you started recording to the time you pressed stop - is stored in more than one file. These files may help to create chapters, for example when creating a Blu-ray disc, and on some devices they should enable seamless transition between chapters.

If you are planning to use an external editing tool then all you need is *.MTS or *.M2TS files. Files belonging to a single recording session usually have consecutive file names and all but the last file in the session have maximum allowed size (usually 2GB for Canon, 4GB for Panasonic, not sure what limit Sony uses), so there is little room for error.
Ungermann is online now  
post #18 of 19 Old 08-11-2016, 09:58 AM
Newbie
 
Chaspear's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I believe in this camera, it records both HD video and also an MP4 video at the same time so you actually have a low-res and high-res version of the same event. I think the MP4 is for convenience in posting to UTube quickly, etc. Also, I take pictures for convenience with this camcorder, so those are the JPEGs I can see on the chip.
While your explanation above helps, I'm still unclear whether it's best to keep making Windows Explorer copies of all my files in the separate 17 folders as my main backup before cleaning off the chips, or whether there's any benefit in using Playmemories to essentially consolidate all the files into a single folder as it appears to do on my computer when I try to backup my chip...or whether for max benefit I should backup my chips BOTH ways for now (which is what I've been doing till I figure out which way is best).
Also, I'm a relative newbie to video editing, have heard negative comments about Playmemories, and am not sure what software I will eventually end up using to consolidate my videos into final files for posting or distributing, so want to keep my options open for the best results...and if that means archiving my camera chips using both Playmemories that stuffs everything into a single folder and also Windows Explorer that uses 17 separate folders to match the structure of the chip, then I can do that.
I have installed VLC media player, Handbrake, Freemake Video Converter and WinX DVD Ripper Platinum so far to both archive my DVD collection but also to manage video files once I have time...and want to make sure I have the best original video files available once I finally start to make movies of our travels...
Hope that helps focus on whether I need to keep making a double backup using PM and also Explorer, or whether either of those procedures will be just as good as keeping both sets of data.
Any suggestions would be appreciated...again, had problems getting back into AVS Forum again today, had to reset passwords, etc., so if possible to email direct to chaspear at aol dot com, that would be helpful.

Thanks in advance,
Chas Pearson
Chaspear is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 08-12-2016, 10:16 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 4,807
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 520 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaspear View Post
I believe in this camera, it records both HD video and also an MP4 video at the same time so you actually have a low-res and high-res version of the same event.
Not sure about simultaneous recording, but yes, I forgot that besides M2TS/MTS you also need to save the MP4 files.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaspear View Post
While your explanation above helps, I'm still unclear whether it's best to keep making Windows Explorer copies of all my files in the separate 17 folders as my main backup before cleaning off the chips, or whether there's any benefit in using Playmemories to essentially consolidate all the files into a single folder as it appears to do on my computer when I try to backup my chip...or whether for max benefit I should backup my chips BOTH ways for now (which is what I've been doing till I figure out which way is best).
I have a Sony camera and I tried using Playmemories. I have other cameras as well, and Playmemories does not play nice with them. So I personally decided not to use Playmemories, but your situation may be different. I am sorry I cannot give a better advice. Hopefully some other members chime in.
Ungermann is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Camcorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off