How to Get Movies onto Computer from a Sony HD Camcorder? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 06:47 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony Handycam AVCHD HDR-CX110 Camcorder. I downloaded the PMB software that came along with the camcorder, but can't seem to get the movie files off the camera onto my computer.

Can anyone tell me if I need other software or how to do this? It is really annoying me!

-Thanks!
mgold is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
sabatical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All you need is PMB. Sorry, I can't give specific instructions but it should be a straight forward task...
sabatical is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 07:48 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I connect the camera and try to transfer it says some files are not supported. Guess which files are not supported the movies files!

This is the problem I have been having.
mgold is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgold View Post

I have a Sony Handycam AVCHD HDR-CX110 Camcorder. I downloaded the PMB software that came along with the camcorder, but can't seem to get the movie files off the camera onto my computer.

Assuming "downloaded" means you put the Sony provided disc into your computer and did a complete "install" you have all you need.

Also assuming you have a reasonably current Windows computer, it put two programs on your computer, PMB and PMB Launcher. You computer needs a USB port too.

Instructions are under the Help Tab as well as on line: Click here for PMB Help.

Plug the camera into your computer with the supplied USB cord and turn it on. If you let the Sony software install the way it wants to, your computer is always looking for your camera. When it sees it, "PMB Launcher" starts up. Look for "Import Media Files", click it and one or more choices show up. Look for your camera. Click on it and answer the questions. The files should transfer.

You can also pull the SDHC card from your camera and plug it into a SD card slot on your computer or get a cheap USB card reader. the PMB Launcher will see those too.

The same import screen that comes up using PMB Launcher also will come up with PMB itself. Look for "Import media files" under the File drop down menu.

If you elect to put the SD card in the computer you can use any software to copy the video files, including Windows Explorer. The files that count are the ones that end in .m2ts and will be buried in the file structure on the card.

Many, especially Apple computer owners, don't use PMB at all. But, PMB will take advantage of some Sony features that make the camera a little more fun our useful.

Did I help get you started?

Bill
bsprague is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 08:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgold View Post

When I connect the camera and try to transfer it says some files are not supported. Guess which files are not supported the movies files!

This is the problem I have been having.

For PMB to work, it needs a set of files that are created on your camera. There is the big .m2ts video file and two or three other little ones for each video. If those are not there, I think it will give you that error message.

You can still save your movies. Use Windows Explorer to move the .m2ts files.

Is this a new to you camera?
bsprague is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had the camera for awhile. What do you mean move the big .m2ts using Explorer?

No wonder Sony can't make a profit!
mgold is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sometimes the camera says "Preparing..." for a looong time and I can't get the BS Sony camcorder to connect! Any suggestions?
mgold is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 08:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgold View Post

Sometimes the camera says "Preparing..." for a looong time and I can't get the BS Sony camcorder to connect! Any suggestions?

Sounds to me like something is wrong with the camera or the wire. Or, perhaps the SD card has errors.
bsprague is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgold View Post

I have had the camera for awhile. What do you mean move the big .m2ts using Explorer?

No wonder Sony can't make a profit!

Can you plug the card into your computer directly?

If so, use Windows Explorer to find all the files that end in ".m2ts". Then copy them to your computer in a folder somewhere you like and remember. Double clicking on them should bring up you default Windows movie viewing program.

There should be other files on your SD card besides the primary .m2ts files. If you don't use PMB, they are useless and can be ignored. Since the .m2ts file is the primary video file it is "big" compared to the others.
bsprague is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the advice bsprague!

I just transferred some movies onto my computer using a different USB port and a shorter cable. Some it did not transfer though and gave me an error message that said "You do not have access privileges" or something like that.

I will try what you suggested and report back.
mgold is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
If you are using my suggestion of plugging the SD card directly into the computer, PMB will see the card. If it works, on all the files, it would lead to the conclusion that there is something wrong with the cord or camera.

If it doesn't work, it suggests that the card may be bad or need reformatting.
bsprague is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 01:44 PM
Member
 
BeagleEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A couple things I would try,

Select "Repair img. db f." from the menu (internal and external if used)

Reformat media under media format (internal and external if used)

If that doesn't work, try resetting your camera by pressing the small reset button near the power button.

Uninstall and reinstall PMB. Then update to Sony's New Play Memories.

If none of the above works you may need to call Sony for support.
BeagleEyes is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 04:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeagleEyes View Post

.....Uninstall and reinstall PMB. Then update to Sony's New Play Memories.

After repeated pop up ads to update my PMB to "Play Memories", I did it. Several things didn't work for me after that. I uninstalled it and got out the disk for PMB, put it back on my computer and then all was well again.

I posted a thread on this forum (click here) and at least one other person had the same result.

Bill
bsprague is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 06-03-2012, 09:26 PM
Member
 
BeagleEyes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bsprague View Post

After repeated pop up ads to update my PMB to "Play Memories", I did it. Several things didn't work for me after that. I uninstalled it and got out the disk for PMB, put it back on my computer and then all was well again.

I posted a thread on this forum (click here) and at least one other person had the same result.

Bill

I followed the link to your thread and I left a reply there. Hopefully it will help.
BeagleEyes is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 06-04-2012, 09:21 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
mgold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, thanks for the tips! I will see what works and what doesn't.

On one of the cards it transferred all the files. The first time it only did half though, so I just did it again.
mgold is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off