Importing video using a Mini-DV camcorder - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-04-2012, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
guidoia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was wondering if importing a VCR tape or VHS-C was better when using a Mini-DV camcorder than opposed to a Video capture card or a video - usb cable. I have a couple USB tv tuners that have input cables on them but have been very unhappy with the quality. I have many home movies I wish to convert to digital. Thanks,
guidoia is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-04-2012, 09:37 PM
Senior Member
 
sabatical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes you should definitely use your miniDV camcorder as an analog --> digital converter. Any video capture card that uses a USB cable is sub standard and will produce poor quality transfers.

You should connect your VHS-C/VHS deck to your miniDV camcorder using an S-Video (preferably) or Composite cable and then use a Firewire cable from your miniDV camcorder to your PC.
You will need to ensure that your miniDV camcorder has analog pass-thru enabled.

To 'capture' the video on your PC, use Adobe Premiere, Sony Vegas or even Windows Movie Maker (but make sure you tell WMM that you're capturing DV-AVI). If you want a simple and straight forward capture program, check out WinDV: http://windv.mourek.cz/
Files captured by the above method will be approximately 13GB / hour in size.

Hope this helps. If you have any further questions please ask smile.gif
sabatical is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-10-2012, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
guidoia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. I was hoping you would say that. Looks like a good way to do it. I am using Sony Vegas and have been very happy with it so far. I see a few cheap camcorders out there and am leaning toward the Canon ZR60 for the importing of video. Price is cheap, does stereo and has S-video inputs. I will try to let everyone know how I turn out.

- Mark
guidoia is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 09-19-2012, 07:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
guidoia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have not been able to import video from my VCR using the camcorder I got off of Ebay. It is a Canon Elura 80 which seems to function normally in every way. I turn on the function to pass through the video which is coming into the camera. I see and hear the recording from the VCR playing on the screen of the camcorder. When I select the capture feature from the software the screen goes blue and the tape says it is playing. I get about a second of video capture and that's about it. I have tried this from Sony Vegas and from Microsoft Live Movie Maker and on two different computers. I must be doing something wrong so I could use some assistance if anyone has any ideas. Thanks, Mark
guidoia is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 09-20-2012, 12:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by guidoia View Post

I have not been able to import video from my VCR using the camcorder I got off of Ebay. It is a Canon Elura 80 which seems to function normally in every way. I turn on the function to pass through the video which is coming into the camera. I see and hear the recording from the VCR playing on the screen of the camcorder. When I select the capture feature from the software the screen goes blue and the tape says it is playing. I get about a second of video capture and that's about it. I have tried this from Sony Vegas and from Microsoft Live Movie Maker and on two different computers. I must be doing something wrong so I could use some assistance if anyone has any ideas. Thanks, Mark

Not many dv cams will record video in,i have a Canon HV30 that will also a Sony D300 mini dv recorder player that will record video in.
flintyplus is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 09-20-2012, 05:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
guidoia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
According to the manual that came with the camcorder and what I have read online, it should work.
guidoia is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 09-21-2012, 03:19 AM
Member
 
mvpers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by guidoia View Post

According to the manual that came with the camcorder and what I have read online, it should work.

and you are connecting to your pc via firewire?
your PC is recognizing the camcorder?

i looked at the manual for your camcorder, it appears it should work exactly as my sony does for this conversion.
mvpers is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 09-23-2012, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
guidoia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I am connected through Firewire and it is recognized by the computer. When I tell it to capture the camcorder goes into play mode. Is that what its supposed to do?
guidoia is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 09-26-2012, 06:48 PM
Senior Member
 
sabatical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Try putting in a miniDV tape in the camcorder while you're doing the transfer. I've heard that some camcorders require this.

Alternatively....

I know this isn't the most efficient way of transferring your videos, but you could record your VHS-C tapes onto miniDV tape first and then transfer them to your PC via Firewire.
sabatical is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 09-28-2012, 01:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If your model will record from an analogue source i would record the analogue footage to DV tape and then import the DV tape into the pc.
flintyplus is online now  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off