What HD camcorder should I buy? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 08-13-2012, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this hobby and I am trying to buy two camcorders. I want to use them to create videos for You tube and my website. I've been looking at various camcorders on Amazon but I do not know where to start. I will be using Premiere CS5.5 (I am currently learning how to use it). Does anyone have any advice on a camcorder? I want to spend around $500 a piece give or take. Also...what do I need in terms of lighting? I am going to shoot a cooking show for my blog and website. It will be in my home kitchen.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 08-13-2012, 08:15 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amy703 View Post

I am new to this hobby and I am trying to buy two camcorders. I want to use them to create videos for You tube and my website. I've been looking at various camcorders on Amazon but I do not know where to start. I will be using Premiere CS5.5 (I am currently learning how to use it). Does anyone have any advice on a camcorder? I want to spend around $500 a piece give or take. Also...what do I need in terms of lighting? I am going to shoot a cooking show for my blog and website. It will be in my home kitchen.

Hi Amy - welcome to the forum! Sounds like a fun project. For a two camera setup, the key will be editing - and it sounds like you're in the process of figuring that out with Premiere.

For your purposes, just about any HD camcorder will do. In my view, the best value for money would be a couple of $400 Panasonic HC-V700s plus a couple of $44 64GB SDXC cards.

You'll also need a couple of tripods, if you don't have them, and a soft lighting setup. I recommend the Ravelli AVTP tripod for $120 and a $160 softbox lighting kit.