First Camcorder purchase for a soon to be new Dad - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 4 Old 11-03-2012, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking to purchase my first camcorder to record my soon to be born son. I also plan on using it to possible record videos to a youtube channel. I've never owned a camcorder, but I'm tech savvy as I work as an IT Manager in my 9 to 5. I didn't want to spend more than $800.00. I saw a recent post that Bill had recommended the Sony 16GB HDR-GW77V Waterproof camcorder. I thought that looked pretty interesting and I liked the small form factor with the same capabilities as a larger form factor with waterproof and shock proof to boot. I just wanted to have a couple of other options recommended from the expects in this community or maybe the GW77V is a good choice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 11-04-2012, 12:46 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 30
ryno - the $599 GW77 is a really good camera for the price - and you''ll be able to take it down to the beach or to the pool (or out in the rain), when other cameras would have to stay home. One caveat - if you ever want to record sound with an external mic, monitor what you're recording with headphones, add a lens shade, or mount an external light - this isn't the camera for you. In other words - great camera - and you're much more likely to have it with you when you need it than if you had a more conventional camcorder - but you should be aware of its limitations before buying.

If you want a conventional (non-waterproof) camcorder with the same image quality and a little more room for expansion, you may want the $648 Sony CX580.

Hope that's helpful and congratulations on the new baby!

Bill
Hybrid Camera Revolution
ryno320 likes this.
post #3 of 4 Old 11-04-2012, 01:06 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by brunerww View Post