Sony HDR-XR500 Keeps Resetting to Default Settings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-22-2012, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Harden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Have had a Sony HDR-XR500 for a couple of years. Recently, whenever the camcorder battery is removed from the camcorder (which I always remove when I'm not using it), the camcorder resets to the default factory settings when I turn it back on.

I assume this usually means the internal battery has died. But I thought this model has a rechargeable internal battery that renews itself, and is not meant to be removed/replaced.

Does anyone know why this camcorder would all of a sudden forget it's settings whenever the power source is removed?

I have had one other problem recently, but don't think they are related. The camcorder was dropped a few months ago. Over the past few months, I occasionally get a error message when recording stating, "data error", which necessitates resetting the camcorder to its factory settings. But I assumed that means the hard disk is failing because there's a bad sector or something. Could this be the reason my camcorder keeps forgetting my custom settings?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. It's really frustrating to reprogram the camcorder every time I turn it on.
Harden is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 11-24-2012, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Harden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 357
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone? Bueller?
Harden is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 11-24-2012, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harden View Post

Anyone? Bueller?
You answered your own question. The internal battery, capacitor or whatever keeps the memory alive has died and it may be because you dropped it. You can learn to use it in the default settings or start shopping for a replacement.

Bill
bsprague is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off