Anyone using a Sony CX250 with a MAC? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 11-27-2012, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bosquoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wamphray, Dumfriesshire, Scotland
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just bought a Sony CX250E which I am trying to use with MAC editing software. I want to record in 50p - one of the reasons I bought the camera. But I find I can't import 50p footage from the SD card. When I shoot in 50i it comes across effortlessly but as soon as I try to record in progressive mode, the files are greyed out.

If anyone can shed any light on the issue for me, I'd be very grateful!
Bosquoy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 11-29-2012, 11:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Welcome to the forum. Sorry your post is two days old.

I don't have a Mac, but I think I've read where 50p and 60p are not useable unless you have the latest versions of the Mac software.

Another approach is to buy Adobe Premier Elements 11. It runs on a Mac or PC and has full support for 1080p50.

Bill
bsprague is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 11-29-2012, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bosquoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wamphray, Dumfriesshire, Scotland
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks, Bill.

My Mac software is bang up to date, so I don't think that can be the issue. The files are greyed out when I pull them over on both my Mac and my PC, so I fear more software won't help.

I'm pretty sure it's a problem in the camera. Sony's "Customer Service" support is terrible: they farm support out to a third party contractor who can't offer anything other than sending me extracts from the (useless) camera manual.

I'm beginning to wish I'd bought the Panasonic!

John
Bosquoy is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 11-29-2012, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,838
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosquoy View Post

The files are greyed out when I pull them over on both my Mac and my PC, so I fear more software won't help.
I'm pretty sure it's a problem in the camera.....
John,

I have two Sony cameras that I use for video. The files from them work wonderfully on my PCs.

Note that Sony and Panasonic own AVCHD and the 1080p50/60 file types. Apple does not own a share of that. Confusion can follow.

For a start, what is the exact file name that is greyed out?

Bill
bsprague is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 11-29-2012, 08:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,752
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bosquoy View Post

The files are greyed out when I pull them over on both my Mac and my PC
Not sure what do you mean by files being grayed out. A file is a file. Copy it over, then edit with whatever software can handle it. I don't know much about Mac, you can try ClipWrap. On Windows side many different software packages can edit AVCHD including AVCHD Progressive natively, without transcoding.
Ungermann is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 11-30-2012, 03:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Bosquoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Wamphray, Dumfriesshire, Scotland
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Brilliant! Thanks. Clipwrap cracked it for me!

I've tried several other programmes without success, but Clipwrap has got the files over into Final Cut for me.

I still think there's something odd going on because - until last week - Final Cut Pro's "Log and Transfer" system imported progressive footage without trouble. Then suddenly it wouldn't look at it! I don't think I changed anything on the camera which would have caused it (but maybe I did??!) My Lumix G2 footage (AVCHD LIte) comes across okay.

Anyhow, I'm back in action - thanks to you guys. Thanks for the interest and the support. It's much appreciated by this new boy!
Bosquoy is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off