Choosing a Point & Shoot over a standard camcorder for video projects, I need your opinions please! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 95 Old 11-30-2012, 10:20 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everybody,
I needed some advice so I decided to come here after viewing this forum through the years for information on different things. I am new to the world of photography and video but have messed around with it before.I need a camcorder for some basic video projects in HD for youtube. I was about to dish out about $500 for a camcorder then decided to save my money, for some reason I started looking into DSLR'S then oddly enough Point-and-shoots for video capturing. Well the more I look these P&S they have some serious amazing video quality even I'd say better compared to some regular camcorders $150 above the P&S price range. I understand that a little P&S camera wouldn't have the regular features of a camcorder but the quality I'm seeing on youtube (I know you can't necessarily judge some videos by youtube) is down right amazing.

The camera I'm looking at is the Canon PowerShot S100. Currently $300 on Amazon. (The videos on youtube of this camera is amazing compared to what I have been looking at, like I said even compared to the camcorder class)
Would you guys give me some suggestions or guidance on what I should be looking at or be comparing against?

Thanks a lot everybody!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 95 Old 12-01-2012, 08:10 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Are you going to be using manual controls; manual focus, aperture, shutter, etc.? Or do you just want high quality video for YouTube at a good price?

If manual control is important to you, I'd say the Panasonic LX7, which does 60p and has a focus ring - shoots excellent video.