Editing Frame Rates - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 12-07-2012, 07:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I've been editing seriously for about six months, using Final Cut Pro 7 and video captured mostly from my GoPro Hero2 in 720p60fps. I'm looking for smooth slow motion, and I haven't really taken any classes on HD editing, most of it has been learned on the fly. I'm just trying to get good adventure sports videos for Vimeo of whitewater canoeing.

I've been editing in a 60 frame timebase in Vimeo, matching the source files, and have been using the change speed tool to slow it down, but the end result is often blurred, and no where near as good as some of the videos I've seen elsewhere. I'm just wondering what time base I should be editing in, if you have any tips, and if there's a good manual perhaps tailored to adventure sports video editing.

Thanks, and here's an example of what I've been producing, there is some slow mo in the first two minute sequence

http://vimeo.com/54147864
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 12-08-2012, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Welcome to the forum!

Can you tell me more about what you mean by "I've been editing in a 60 frame timebase in Vimeo, matching the source files"

I think the standard drill is to do all the work in your NLE (final cut pro) then create or output a finished video file which is optimized for Vimeo. In the Vimeo help section there are videos tutorials for each brand of NLE to help get it right. Upload it and then Vimeo churns through that and puts it up for viewing.

If you don't match the Vimeo requirements, you will get some blurring.

Bill
post #3 of 6 Old 12-09-2012, 06:25 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 29