Panasonic HC-V700 Numbers Reset - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-27-2012, 09:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
xmarcelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am not able to figure out how to have the file numbers of the movies i transfer from the V700 to my iMAC NOT reset once I have transferred them. Lets say I shot 4 movies today and transferred them from the SD card to my mac, I would see 4 mts files, 000 to 003. I use ClipWrap and now have 4 files I can view. I delete the 4 files. If I shoot 4 more movies and transfer them to my mac, they have the same file numbers, 000 to 003 as the prior 4 movies. If I save them into the same folder my prior 4 movies will be overwritten. Is there a way to NOT have the numbers reset but rather continue on?
xmarcelo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-27-2012, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,957
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by xmarcelo View Post

I am not able to figure out how to have the file numbers of the movies i transfer from the V700 to my iMAC NOT reset once I have transferred them. Lets say I shot 4 movies today and transferred them from the SD card to my mac, I would see 4 mts files, 000 to 003. I use ClipWrap and now have 4 files I can view. I delete the 4 files. If I shoot 4 more movies and transfer them to my mac, they have the same file numbers, 000 to 003 as the prior 4 movies. If I save them into the same folder my prior 4 movies will be overwritten. Is there a way to NOT have the numbers reset but rather continue on?
Some camcorders have an option for continuous file numbering, others do not. Check with your operation manual. In any case, you can have only 10^5 unique numbers, then it will roll over again.

The easy solution to NOT write files into the same location on a computer.
Ungermann is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-28-2012, 06:56 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
xmarcelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a number reset option that I did not choose but after I transfer the videos from the camera to the mac then delete the videos from the card it does not continue on from the last file transferred. Is it normal to have to create a different folder every time new video is transferred? What is the point of the number reset feature?
xmarcelo is offline  
Reply Camcorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off