Camcorder Help needed for Church!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 12-31-2012, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello All. I’m currently working in the Media Ministry for my church. The church currently records services and events and plays them weekly through my local cable company. I’m fairly new to the Media Ministry and have run into a huge problem. The video capabilities are inadequate. We currently have a no name used camera that’s probably 10 years old. I've been tasked with upgrading the system.

I've been on Google all day long and am slightly more familiar with camcorders then I was yesterday. While not well versed in with cameras I am great with technology. I am currently Team Lead for a I.T. company and have several people around me who are familiar with cameras (but not familiar enough for what I need) so feel free to use any terminology needed to help. I will first describe our current setup and then describe what we would like to do.

Current setup:
• We have a very old camera that records crappy videos and records voices even worse.
• Camera currently sits on Tripod in back of sanctuary.
• We have DVD burner with audio video that records real time from the camcorder.
• At the end of the service we edit the title of the track and finalize the DVD on the DVD burner.
• We then take the master copy and make copies on a DVD copier.
• We take a DVD to the local cable company that then airs the service twice a week.
• An additional problem is that the sound system is pretty horrible as well which we are currently upgrading and the lighting of the pulpit isn’t that great. They have been adjusting the lighting in an attempt to improve quality but have decided that it would be best to find the right camera before proceeding with the lighting.

Desired Setup:
• We would like to maintain the ability to record real time from camcorder to DVD burner.