The Official Panasonic HC-V720 Owners Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 238 Old 05-03-2013, 07:37 AM
Newbie
 
GS1953's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Jumped the gun. It works but doesnt like movement so if you're planning on setting the wifi then moving around then the connnection will drop
GS1953 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 238 Old 05-03-2013, 06:55 PM
Newbie
 
tigertok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi. The V720 looks like a good camera that I have been considering buying when baby comes along.

From what I have read the Canon M500/M52 has better sharpness, low light and overall image quality but does not have the wider lens or 1080/60p reocrding like the V720. A separate wider lens can be purchased for the M500/M52 so I'm not too concerned. However, the V720 can have problems with auto white balance especially when walking inside from outdoors.

If it wasn't for the 1080/60p recording then I would lean towards the Canon. Has anyone been able to compare the image quality from the two camcorders? And is the 1080/60p recording worth it compared to the Canons 1080p/60i/30p?
tigertok is offline  
post #93 of 238 Old 05-03-2013, 10:03 PM
Member
 
plugger2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigertok View Post

From what I have read the Canon M500/M52 has better sharpness, low light and overall image quality but does not have the wider lens or 1080/60p reocrding like the V720.

If it wasn't for the 1080/60p recording then I would lean towards the Canon. Has anyone been able to compare the image quality from the two camcorders?

Well, from what you say, it sounds like someone has compared the image quality of the two camcorders. Do you have a link for the review?

As for 60p vs 60i, or 60p vs 30p, the difference is going to be material to some but not others, obviously. I've been fooling with various output formats in editing using Sony Movie Studio 12 and I haven't noticed much difference on the viewing devices I been using going from 60p to 60i for output, for example, even when captured at 60p. Personally, I wouldn't consider the 60p a deal-breaker.

Lower frame rates are easier to work with in editing, of course, as well as eating less SD card memory, so those are pluses. Full HD 60p is computationally demanding, to put it mildly!
plugger2 is offline  
post #94 of 238 Old 05-06-2013, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
shphotovideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here some video I took of the Camarillo Springs Fire here in Southern California using my V720.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PxqsQVtY01M

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IK2GCCIF46c
shphotovideo is offline  
post #95 of 238 Old 05-06-2013, 08:28 PM
Member
 
ronlhodges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Heres a short Video at SeaWorld I took back last year with the HFM50 .

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mPvxjajCNME
ronlhodges is offline  
post #96 of 238 Old 05-08-2013, 08:53 AM
Newbie
 
salsaruiz14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone here who currently has the Panasonic ZS30 point and shoot camera also have a Panasonic HVC-720 camcorder? I like the NFC capabilities for both and plan on using the pics/videos I take with my NFC smartphone and tablet. I'm guessing the camera takes better pics and the camcorder takes better video. But I'd like the opinion from someone who has experience with both. I like the portability of the camera (pocket) but it seems to be easier to shoot video from different positions from the camcorder. If the video is just as good for both, I may get the ZS30 now and wait for next year when hopefully Panasonic will include NFC with the high end HVC-920. Chris.
salsaruiz14 is offline  
post #97 of 238 Old 05-08-2013, 09:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 108
The ZS30 pictures will be way better. The 720 video quality will only be discernibly better in very low light, where the smaller number of pixels and the faster lens (f1.8 versus f3.3) really helps. If low-light video (outdoors nighttime, for example) is important, then the ZS30 for video (ZS30 stills are great in low light) is not the choice.

I have the ZS30 and the Panasonic TM900, which is mostly similar to the 720.
markr041 is offline  
post #98 of 238 Old 05-08-2013, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
salsaruiz14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Mark for your reply! (I deleted my other posts, sorry!). I am now leaning toward the ZS30.
salsaruiz14 is offline  
post #99 of 238 Old 05-09-2013, 05:21 AM
Newbie
 
loganwj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
loganwj is offline  
post #100 of 238 Old 05-09-2013, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,743
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
How do you plan on using the touchscreen with the hood on? I would rather consider something like a peak at the top edge of the screen. You can probably make one yourself.

Modern LCDs are so bright that I don't feel the need to use a hood, especially if a camera has zebras.
Ungermann is online now  
post #101 of 238 Old 05-10-2013, 01:27 AM
Newbie
 
loganwj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You're right, I hate touch screen. The hood is because in the sun the perceprion of brighteness changes. PS: Seems that Panasonic V720 miss zebras.
loganwj is offline  
post #102 of 238 Old 05-11-2013, 08:17 AM
Newbie
 
RGSparks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

Attempting to use Home Monitoring for the first time. I have successfully connected the 720 to my wireless network and have the "Home Monitoring Standby" displayed on the units screen. Now for the phone.....using iphone4....have entered the device id and password provided by the camcorder in the "Set Connection Destination" settings.............I then go to Live Control on my phone using the Panasonic Image App at which point I receive a "Connecting to Camera" message.........and never receive a connection...........jut states that its connecting to camera....no error message???

Has anyone been able to use this feature successfully??

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

RG
RGSparks is offline  
post #103 of 238 Old 05-11-2013, 01:08 PM
Newbie
 
RGSparks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Figured it out......I had to turn off Wi-Fi connection on phone so the phone would use the 3G network.

RG
RGSparks is offline  
post #104 of 238 Old 05-12-2013, 03:59 AM
Newbie
 
paragondk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi, just found this thread. I upgraded my TM90 to a V720 last week, but unlike the previous model, I can't seem to figure out which is the best all-round picture recording quality on this 720 model?

To my eyes, the 1050/50p and 1080/50i (PH1920) modes look exactly the same.

Also, can someone tell me how the Tele Macro works? I click it, then the camera will autozoom and then it's like it goes back to the previous mode without tele macro?

Sorry if I'm being daft, but hopefully someone can set me straight here om how I get the best videos as I'm heading to the Alaska Highway shortly for a vacation. :-)
paragondk is offline  
post #105 of 238 Old 05-12-2013, 05:13 AM
Newbie
 
rdny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Hi, just found this thread. I upgraded my TM90 to a V720 last week, but unlike the previous model, I can't seem to figure out which is the best all-round picture recording quality on this 720 model?

To my eyes, the 1050/50p and 1080/50i (PH1920) modes look exactly the same.

Also, can someone tell me how the Tele Macro works? I click it, then the camera will autozoom and then it's like it goes back to the previous mode without tele macro?

Sorry if I'm being daft, but hopefully someone can set me straight here om how I get the best videos as I'm heading to the Alaska Highway shortly for a vacation. :-)

Hi, stealing your question about 1080/50p and 1080/50i. Is there really a different in the quality? What I've discovered is that if I want to encode something in slow motion, 1080/50p makes the effect smoother. But is there any difference to the quality?
rdny is offline  
post #106 of 238 Old 05-12-2013, 09:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
A regular discussion on this and other forums is about the "p" vs the "i". The video is processed by something to get raw data to the eye. It may be a TV, computer screen or iPhone. The processors in the various devices will vary. On my best display with a great processor, a 55" Sony LED TV, my 67 year old eyes do not see a difference between "i" and "p" video, unless there is brisk motion. I know the difference is there, I just can't see it.

If I am after stop action/freeze frame still frame captures of my stellar granddaughter trying to knock the skin of a softball, the "p" version is vastly superior.

Since storage is cheap enough and my computer strong enough, I leave my cameras in the 1080p60 setting unless I have a reason to dumb it down. On my older, slower computer I frequently shot in an "i" mode because editing previews were smoother.

Bill
bsprague is online now  
post #107 of 238 Old 05-12-2013, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by paragondk View Post

Hi, just found this thread. I upgraded my TM90 to a V720 last week, but unlike the previous model, I can't seem to figure out which is the best all-round picture recording quality on this 720 model?

To my eyes, the 1050/50p and 1080/50i (PH1920) modes look exactly the same.

Also, can someone tell me how the Tele Macro works? I click it, then the camera will autozoom and then it's like it goes back to the previous mode without tele macro?

Sorry if I'm being daft, but hopefully someone can set me straight here om how I get the best videos as I'm heading to the Alaska Highway shortly for a vacation. :-)

1. What are your eyes looking at when you make the comparison? the lcd of the camera? your cellphone? your computer monitor? your 55" plasma HDTV? what did you shoot? [these are rhetorical questions to make you think]

Let's pretend this is an AT&T commercial: "which is better: one full frame per open shutter or one half-frame? 60i gives you 60 1/2-frames (fields) a second and 60p gives you 60 full frames per second. Which do you think gives you higher resolution when there is motion, movement over time? Every review I have seen that actually compares 60i to 60p on the same camcorder, including Panasonic, and uses test charts shows the 108060p is superior to 108060i. You can infer that if you take a video of a still object (like a chair), you are not going to see much difference, but if you shot a flying bird, then voila!

2. Telemacro: it is designed to enable you to take close-ups from far away - zoomed all the way in and closer than normal to your subject (macro+telephoto - get it?). So, it instantly zooms the lens all the way out and waits for your next move. When you turn the camera off, tele-macro mode is disengaged. It may also disengage if you try zooming back out. Sorry, I don't understand "and then like it goes back to the previous mode without tele macro." I tried Google translate. No go.
markr041 is offline  
post #108 of 238 Old 05-12-2013, 01:09 PM
Newbie
 
paragondk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the replies! Good explanations.

What I meant by the telemacro bit is this: Immediately after I select telemacro and the zooming eventually stops, the camera seemingly reverts back to whatever previous setting it was in automatically. According to your explanation, it makes sense that this telemacro effect stops as soon as I do something - anything - other than point and shoot the current telemacro'd scene. What I've found, however, is that it seems to stop telemacro without any input from me.

It was very kind of you both to reply, though I'm not sure if the google translate remark was a joke or just forum shenanigans. I usually don't have trouble being understood, even though English is not my primary language. I'll try and be clearer another time though! I feel more questions about my new camcorder might be brewing in my mind already, but I'm going to test out some more functions before asking them here. :-)

Thanks again. I really appreciate it. :-)
paragondk is offline  
post #109 of 238 Old 05-13-2013, 01:17 AM
Newbie
 
loganwj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
looking for a not original battery pack for v720 but nothing, nothing anywhere... frown.gif
loganwj is offline  
post #110 of 238 Old 05-13-2013, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
eglons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the UK contingent, Amazon UK have this down to £439.99 today http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00B170BMI/ref=nosim plus a £50 Amazon voucher, go via this link http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/feature.html/ref=amb_link_174833247_2?ie=UTF8&docId=1000715913&pf_rd_m=A3P5ROKL5A1OLE&pf_rd_s=center-1&pf_rd_r=06K1H2BT8V4NRCZV1GVK&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=400157247&pf_rd_i=467112031.

Panasonic are offering a free battery or SD card if purchased now too: http://promotions.panasonic.co.uk/offer/more-more-more-campaign-camcorders/

Hope this helps some people.

I've had mine a week and am still getting to grips with it. Video seems excellent but stills seem to take 2-3 seconds to write a class 10 SD Card. I've now ordered this http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B005LFT3QG/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 which should hopefully let me take faster photos.

Does anyone know if you can take burst photos without using burst mode... i.e. by just keeping your finger on the photo button?
eglons is offline  
post #111 of 238 Old 05-13-2013, 02:58 PM
Newbie
 
tnayak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I'm getting ready to buy the HC-v720 and was wondering if it was possible to use that camera while it is plugged into wall. I think most cameras support this, but I was hoping that someone that already has one could confirm it for me. Also, has anyone tried the Ustream functionality?

Thanks

Tim
tnayak is offline  
post #112 of 238 Old 05-13-2013, 07:28 PM
Member
 
plugger2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganwj View Post

looking for a not original battery pack for v720 but nothing, nothing anywhere... frown.gif

See post #87
plugger2 is offline  
post #113 of 238 Old 05-13-2013, 11:47 PM
Newbie
 
eglons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnayak View Post

Hi, I'm getting ready to buy the HC-v720 and was wondering if it was possible to use that camera while it is plugged into wall. I think most cameras support this, but I was hoping that someone that already has one could confirm it for me. Also, has anyone tried the Ustream functionality?

Thanks

Tim

I've just tested it and it works plugged into the mains. Haven't played with UStream (don't really see the point!)
eglons is offline  
post #114 of 238 Old 05-14-2013, 05:50 AM
Newbie
 
paragondk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Been testing a bit more. It appears to my eyes that indoor footage shooting with 1050p has some color-hickups. White turns yellow or bluish, whereas it sustains the colors better from real-life to video in the 1050i mode (called PH1920 on the camcorder).

Anyone else notice this?
paragondk is offline  
post #115 of 238 Old 05-15-2013, 04:13 AM
Newbie
 
loganwj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plugger2 View Post

See post #87

120$ for a not original battery pack is crazy. But I woudn't give away 100$ neither for an original battery pack lol
loganwj is offline  
post #116 of 238 Old 05-15-2013, 04:22 AM
Newbie
 
loganwj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understand, why does the 700,707,720 have different battery pack. They shoud focus on camera features instead of battery form!
loganwj is offline  
post #117 of 238 Old 05-15-2013, 05:51 AM
Member
 
plugger2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by loganwj View Post

I don't understand, why does the 700,707,720 have different battery pack. They shoud focus on camera features instead of battery form!

Panasonic obviously make a lot of money selling their way-overpriced accessories for their cameras. When some enterprising third party manufacturer makes a much cheaper generic work-alike, and still makes a decent buck out of it, it eats into that nice little profit stream Panasonic thought they had all to themselves, once people catch on. So for the next iteration of the model they change the battery form factor, add microchips to make it harder to reverse engineer, issue dire warnings about the dangers of non-genuine batteries, etc.

Just wait. There _will_ be cheaper batteries available, but not just yet.
plugger2 is offline  
post #118 of 238 Old 05-17-2013, 09:05 AM
Newbie
 
maansari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have a problem getting the Level Shot function to work? Although I get all of the icons displayed correctly I don't see either the solid or broken frame on the monitor described on page 53 of the manual. As a consequence the camcorder will not automatically correct any levelling errors.
maansari is offline  
post #119 of 238 Old 05-18-2013, 02:51 AM
Newbie
 
eglons's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've bought a SanDisk SDSDXPA-032G-X46 32GB Extreme Pro Class 1 SDHC Memory Card, which is about as fast as you can get, but even 9mp photos take 2 seconds to process before another one can be taken in stills mode. I'd expected almost instant processing (I bought the camera to replace a stills and video so I didn't have to lug both around, but the sluggish retake readiness has me rethinking).

Can someone check their still processing time for me. I am using standard settings out of the box except dropping the picture size to 9.4mp.
eglons is offline  
post #120 of 238 Old 05-18-2013, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 92
You wasted a lot of money.

Writing to the SD card is not a bottleneck in any 1080p camcorder. Check the book. My bet is that, like all other books, it will say class 4 and above are sufficient to accept data as fast as the camera can produce it.

The processing is not done on the card. It is done in the camera circuitry, then written to the card at a speed determined by the camera's "buffer", not the "speed" of the card.

If you have the right card reader in your computer, you may be able to copy from the card faster. Until you get a "4K" camcorder, the fast card won't give you an advantage in the recording. From my reading, it appears there may be some high end DSLRs that might benefit with 95MB/s cards when photographing in the burst mode.

Sorry!
Bill
bsprague is online now  
Reply Camcorders

Tags
Panasonic Hc V720 3d Ready 1mos Hd Digital Camcorder
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off