I can't find the thread about the audio glitches when combining 4GB sections from long shoots - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 03-19-2013, 08:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Camcorders on long shoots make a series of 4GB clips that are later re-joined in the computer. Somewhere it was discussed that when combining those clips there can be a small audio drop out. In that discussion a solution was offered.

If tried looking at threads where memory says it might be and using the search function. So far, no luck.

Can you help me remember where it was discussed?

Thanks.

Bill
bsprague is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 03-19-2013, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
http://www.avsforum.com/t/863827/avchd-join-files
Ungermann is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 03-19-2013, 02:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
bsprague's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: On the Road
Posts: 2,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Thanks. That thread goes a long ways back. The discussion I'm looking for was in the last month or two. Maybe three. Someone was recording sermons, speeches, lectures or something. Their NLE would skip a half second or so of audio when they combined the 4GB / 20 minute clips created by their camra. A solution or workaround was found.

The reason I'm looking (and please don't laugh Ungermann) is that on another forum devoted to Premier Elements a participant is having trouble with the same issue using footage from an FZ200. Before I suggest he try other software (Vegas?) I wanted to find the discussion that took place here.

Bill
bsprague is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 03-19-2013, 04:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,786
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Vegas used to have the same issue. My current version is 11 and I haven't tried joining segments in Vegas for a long time. Current Vegas version is 12. So I don't know whether they have fixed the issue.

The link I gave you points to blog post with explanation of how to use the tools. I do not recall any newer threads that provided more/better info on the subject. I just use tsMuxer and if one hour in the audio drifts apart a bit, I just fix it in Vegas on the timeline by moving it a bit. It is easier for me than using a bunch of tools.
Ungermann is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off