New Canon HF G30! - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 223 Old 07-12-2014, 02:00 AM
Member
 
Bixbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can upgrade Cyberlink to Power Director 11 or 12. They are good with AVCHD 28 Mbps. I have TMPGEnc too which is good too.
Bixbe is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 223 Old 07-13-2014, 07:38 AM
Member
 
paulman182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have ordered Power Director 12 and the Canon 1EG bag. Thanks for the advice...
paulman182 is offline  
post #213 of 223 Old 07-13-2014, 12:00 PM
Senior Member
 
Tugela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I will say it again, if you are recording AVCHD at 28 mbps, you are better off using the MP4 35 mbps option instead, since they are both 1080p60. The extra bits will reduce the damage to the footage if you have to re-encode it for any reason after editing. You will not be able to tell the difference looking at the raw footage side by side, but there is a difference, and that will become more evident if you do anything like image adjustment or correction.
Tugela is online now  
post #214 of 223 Old 07-14-2014, 01:54 AM
Member
 
Bixbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Power Director 11 has no MP4 35 Mbps option, the nearest is 40 Mbps which produces rendered artefacts. I have compared the smartrendered AVCHD 1080/50p with the MP4 and the AVCHD is the only perfect produced result. Maybe 60p is better. I have the european version of HF G30.
Bixbe is offline  
post #215 of 223 Old 07-14-2014, 02:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Tugela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 64
If it is Smart Rendered it shouldn't matter what the bit rate is. True smart rendering will only re-render the few frames at the cut.
Tugela is online now  
post #216 of 223 Old 07-14-2014, 04:49 AM
Member
 
Bixbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I played with Power Director today and found out that I could make new profiles with MP4 and choose any bitrate and fps. Only 25p was offered in the standard profile. I want 50p of course. Smart rendering seems impossible with MP4. The produced film was as good as AVCHD 28Mbps.
Thankyou Tugela for giving me the energy to test MP4 once more..
Bixbe is offline  
post #217 of 223 Old 07-17-2014, 08:48 PM
Senior Member
 
c-not-k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ellicott City, Maryland
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tugela View Post
I will say it again, if you are recording AVCHD at 28 mbps, you are better off using the MP4 35 mbps option instead, since they are both 1080p60.

I'll double-check the manual, but I thought you could only get 5.1 with the G30 recording in AVCHD, not in MP4. (Correct me if I'm mistaken.)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
c-not-k is offline  
post #218 of 223 Old 07-18-2014, 12:55 AM
Member
 
Bixbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Sweden
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I Always use the external stereo mic DM 100 to avoid windsounds.
After more playing with Power Director 11 I found out it can do only 28Mbps in MP4 50p. I don´t know if PD 12 can go to 35Mbps.
Instead I use TMPGEnc which can handle MP4 35Mbps 50p very good. I can add 200 clips in one click to a single Project. In PD I had to drag every single clip to the timeline. It´s hard to see any difference from AVCHD 1080/50p 28 Mbps though. I play the produced movies from the HDD in my Dune mediaplayer on my Panasonic AX800 4K UHD TV and the detail and overall quality is so much better than on a 1080/50p display or played via a pc with WMP, VLC or MPC-HC .
I´m waiting for the next generation of JVC projectors to be 4K so I can play my movies in my home theater.
Bixbe is offline  
post #219 of 223 Old 07-29-2014, 07:27 PM
Senior Member
 
c-not-k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ellicott City, Maryland
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by c-not-k View Post
I used Roxio VideoWave (Creator NXT Pro 2) for my HF 20. I tried using it with the files from my HF G30 (28 Mbps AVCHD), and while it CAN work with them, the trim tool stutters during playback. Lastly, this software knows nothing of Dolby Digital, so it downmixes all my 5.1 audio to 2.0.

I stand corrected. I replaced my 2008-era Windows Vista PC with a brand new one running 64-bit Windows 8.1. I loaded the same copy of Creator NXT Pro 2 and it can edit the files without stuttering. (And it's a 2-bit program.) It still downmixes my 5.1 to 2.0, but I've purchased the DM-100 Stereo mic, which I'll use when recording my kids concerts.


I'll still look into Sony Vegas. Power Director is 64-bit, but I think I'll appreciate the options in Vegas. (I'll try the PD 12 trial, anyway.)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
c-not-k is offline  
post #220 of 223 Old 07-29-2014, 07:33 PM
Senior Member
 
c-not-k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ellicott City, Maryland
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bixbe View Post
. I play the produced movies from the HDD in my Dune mediaplayer on my Panasonic AX800 4K UHD TV and the detail and overall quality is so much better than on a 1080/50p display or played via a pc with WMP, VLC or MPC-HC.

Small world. I play my edited videos via my Popcorn Hour C-200. (Don't have a 4K display. Yet.)


The one knock I have against Power Director (or Creator NXT) is the pre-canned DVD/Blu-ray menus. In Vegas, you can create your own. Trouble is, with the media streamer so convenient I don't render all the way to disk anymore. (Usually just for out-of-town family.)


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
c-not-k is offline  
post #221 of 223 Old 08-15-2014, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
HammerDownProd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: KY
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok i have had this camera since October last year and I love it. It is freakin durable as it can get. Its been hit by large rocks, completely covered in dirt, knocked out of my hands twice and keeps on kickin. I wanna do slow motion with but not sure what settings to put it on. I want to slow the footage down in post edit in Imovie for short clips to youtube and FCPX for long short films. Ive noticed that when the footage is slowed down in either it gets extremely choppy. What setting is needed for smooth slow motion in 1080p? Kind like this video.
HammerDownProd is offline  
post #222 of 223 Old 08-15-2014, 11:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Tugela's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 64
The instructions for doing this in camera are given on page 49 of the manual. You need to be shooting in MP4 mode. At 35 mbps it records at 60 fps, but shoots in either 30 fps or 24 fps, resulting in sped up footage. At 24 mbps it records at either 30 fps (and shoots either 60 fps or 24 fps) or 24 fps (and shoots at either 60 fps or 30 fps). Basically it is shooting X frames per second and conforming it to a Y frames per second timeline.


That provides you with a number of options for either speeding up or slowing down your footage in camera by up to 2.5X either way, depending on what frame rate you choose for recording and what frame rate you choose for shooting.


You need to follow the same rules (such as shutter speed) you normally would use for a particular shooting frame rate, so if you are recording 24 fps and shooting at 60 fps (for slowed down video), you should have a shutter speed of 1/100 or 1/125.
HammerDownProd likes this.

Last edited by Tugela; 08-15-2014 at 11:27 AM.
Tugela is online now  
post #223 of 223 Old 08-18-2014, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
HammerDownProd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: KY
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tugela View Post
The instructions for doing this in camera are given on page 49 of the manual. You need to be shooting in MP4 mode. At 35 mbps it records at 60 fps, but shoots in either 30 fps or 24 fps, resulting in sped up footage. At 24 mbps it records at either 30 fps (and shoots either 60 fps or 24 fps) or 24 fps (and shoots at either 60 fps or 30 fps). Basically it is shooting X frames per second and conforming it to a Y frames per second timeline.


That provides you with a number of options for either speeding up or slowing down your footage in camera by up to 2.5X either way, depending on what frame rate you choose for recording and what frame rate you choose for shooting.


You need to follow the same rules (such as shutter speed) you normally would use for a particular shooting frame rate, so if you are recording 24 fps and shooting at 60 fps (for slowed down video), you should have a shutter speed of 1/100 or 1/125.
Thanks. yeah i went back and re-read the manual and actually moving up to the 1080p at 35mbps it seemed to upload to youtube quite a bit quicker too for some reason. Edited the footage in Imovie just to see how well it would work and it did really well. Very smooth transitions and no jumping or jerking. Can't wait to get into FCPX for more detailed edits.
HammerDownProd is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off