Canon HF M50/M52/M500 Help w/AutoFocus - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 04-13-2013, 04:15 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
hollywoodfrodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Recently bought a Canon HF M500 as an upgrade from my old Canon Mini-DV Camcorder (about 8 years old). One of the things I use my camcorder for the most is producing videos for my YouTube channel doing Android App reviews. I set the camera at the widest shot showing the entire phone, but during the review I often lift the phone closer to the camera to get a closer shot of certain aspects of the app.

With my old camera on auto-focus when I would do this, the camera would immediately re-focus and almost instantly have the closer up phone in clear focus. With the HF M500, it re-focuses much slower. I actually don't think the re-focusing is taking as long as maybe it's just taking the camera longer to decide to re-focus. Either way, I'll be in the middle of a review and I lift the phone then have to pause and wait for it to re-focus. With my old camera, I never had to pause because it re-focused almost instantly.

I'm hoping there's a setting or something I can do to get this same quick/instant re-focus on the my new Canon HF M500. Any help would be much appreciate.

Thanks,
Eric
hollywoodfrodo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 04-13-2013, 04:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,740
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Does it have instant AF? Make sure it is on, and that instant AF sensor is not blocked. It also makes sense to have clear, not busy background to make it easier for the cam to decide what part of the shot to focus at.
Ungermann is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 04-13-2013, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 26
There's IAF and AF ...set it to IAF (instant auto focus) in the menu.

Would also be a good idea to go through the user manual.
xfws is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off