Canon HF G30 problem/question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

Old 08-25-2013, 01:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a new Canon HF G30. I'm a hobbyist, and not particularly picky (I don't think). The camera is great, and has more options/features than anything I've owned before. But I began to notice a vignette effect when zoomed in to full telephoto. It began to bother me enough so that I've already sent the camera back to B&H for exchange, but I thought I'd ask here if this is something that's optically unavoidable with a 20x zoom, or does it look like something is wrong? I've removed the UV filter I had on it, and removed the lens hood - no improvement. It's easier to see over a plain background like sky or ocean.

The clip I've linked to below is a 28 Mbps AVCHD file, unprocessed, right off the SD card. About 77.5 MB. It's sloppy video of a helicopter that happened to fly by, but it's a good example of what I'm talking about. The vignette almost seems to bounce around, so I also tried turning off the image stabilization, but that didn't help either.

sample

I haven't received the replacement camera yet, but I'm suspecting I'll see the same thing with the new one. I'd appreciate any input on what you guys think is causing this.

Thanks for your help.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-25-2013, 03:23 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 64
I haven't seen anything like that on my camera.

Are you using the digital zoom as well? Or the digital tele-converter?
Old 08-25-2013, 03:47 AM - Thread Starter

Nope, strictly optical zoom. Pretty obvious isn't it? I haven't seen this on any other camera I've owned, but I've never had an optical 20x zoom before.
Old 08-25-2013, 10:27 AM

Liked: 11