Canon Camcorders Recording Quality - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-15-2013, 03:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Paneah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1) I have a Canon XA10 and a HFR17. I want to record an event with both these camcorders. If I reduce the resolution on the XA10 to FXP, is it equivalent to the HFR17 FXP?



2) If not, can I tweak both recordings altering the bitrates until I have identical picture resolutions?



Thanks.
Paneah is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-15-2013, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The HFR17s max bit rate is 17Mbps,if you record at 17Mbps on the XA10 with the same frame rate there cam be no problems,most software will edit footage and adjust the Mbps & frame rate in any case.
flintyplus is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-15-2013, 03:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
No point to reduce bitrate. but make sure that frame rate and scanning type are the same.
Ungermann is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-16-2013, 01:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
No point in reducing the XA10Ss bit rate but no gain either on a single project,the frame rate does not matter either as softwares will adjust but no gain in having different frame rates either,all the software i have will mix anything,avchd 50P Mpeg4 avchd 24Mbps downwards HDV or video from a file on the single project timeline with no render problems.
flintyplus is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-16-2013, 08:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ungermann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Diego, California
Posts: 3,736
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by flintyplus View Post

the frame rate does not matter either as softwares will adjust...
...poorly.
Ungermann is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-20-2013, 01:35 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Paneah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flintyplus View Post

The HFR17s max bit rate is 17Mbps,if you record at 17Mbps on the XA10 with the same frame rate there cam be no problems,most software will edit footage and adjust the Mbps & frame rate in any case.

Thank you for your reply.

The difference seems on the quality of the picture of the XA10 which much sharper than the HFR17. I think the CMOS sensors are the culprit in this case. Attached please find a short video showing the different sharpness of the two pictures. The bitrates and frame rates are identical.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/11641072/Testing.m2ts
Paneah is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-20-2013, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
flintyplus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: yeovil somerset
Posts: 1,189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Is there so much difference viewing strait from the cams to tv,
flintyplus is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off