Best Video Quality, Either Camera or Camcorder For Under 350? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 35 Old 11-12-2013, 02:24 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

Great forum you have here guys!

I've been lurking for almost a month and I have finally decided to post a question I have been researching for some time now. I hope you can help me out! I am a teacher and as such I get the summer months off. Each summer my girlfriend and I go on a month long vacation to different places around the world. For our last adventure I just took my iphone 5, but I'd like to step up my video quality with a device that is easier to hold and shoots better video.  The purpose the device is to make travel home movies/documentaries to remember and share our times abroad.

Here's what I want in a device:

1) Great video quality above all else

2) Good ergonomics. I have a very difficult time shooting video with my iphone, and overall it's just not fun due to the shakiness.

3) Excellent low light performance.

That's it really. A lot of people are very interested in big optical zooms but honestly if something is interesting to me I like to get up close to it to shoot it...I also don't like the look of even optical zoom from what I've seen. While I see why people like huge optical zooms it would be a niche for me, and I'd rather have a larger sensor and better image quality. 

A few cameras I'm considering due to the great posters on this forum are:

Lx7 - $260 used

HX50- $288 used

EOS M - Although I'm not really considering this as much because I don't want to buy or fiddle with lenses.

RX100 - This camera looks great for shooting videos but it's really out of my budget. I'm being a tightwad because I want to spend the majority of the money on the vacation :)

I'm also considering these camcorders:

Canon Vixia HF 50  for $300 usd refurbished

Sony CX260 for $229 usd used