Sony 4K Handycam FDR-AX100 thread - Page 113 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 111Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #3361 of 3381 Old 05-16-2015, 08:36 AM
Member
 
LenMiddx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London, England.
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
Yikes, that looks a bit big for handheld operation. Looks like more of a 'tripod only' type of battery.
No, it's only just over 6 oz compared with the FV70's 3.5 oz. It may look 'big' because it's twice the length of an FV70, but it's really not.

It's the battery that I usually keep in the AX100, with NP-FV70s as back-ups.

If I ever need to buy more batteries, I'll be getting FV100s.
LenMiddx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3362 of 3381 Old 05-16-2015, 11:52 AM
Member
 
RoccoP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: New Hyde Park, N.Y. USA
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoccoP View Post
With the AX100 now being out for about a year is there any talk about a newer model showing up soon. Usually we see a new model once a year. I am interested in buying this camcorder but do not want to make a purchase just before a new price drop or before a new model is about to appear.

--Rocco--
I am reposting as I have not heard anyone respond. I have to believe a new model should be available in the next 30 days if Sony's pattern of introducing new models continues.

--RP--
RoccoP is offline  
post #3363 of 3381 Old 05-16-2015, 12:52 PM
Member
 
2Turbofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Data Write Error

I was at the zoo this morning and while shooting video using the viewfinder, I received the message:

"Data Write Error
Unable to write data within the specified time"

This locked the camera up as I was using the viewfinder and unable to close the message box. I had to remove the battery to reset the camera. After power on, I had to do a file repair and I only lost the scene being recorded. I was recording at 100mbps to a Sony U3 card at the time. I was also using my Vivitar wired remote as well.
Has anyone else had this message?
2Turbofan is offline  
post #3364 of 3381 Old 05-16-2015, 01:25 PM
Member
 
magbarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Chiu View Post
Yes, that is the ACE tripod I use with the AX100. I also use the carbon fiber version that uses the same head but lighter. It comes with a quick release plate which you screw into your AX100.
It performs really well for me since March 2014.
....

I now have 3 of the ACE tripod sets.
I noticed a couple of the reviewers stating that the legs on the ACE M are kinda fragile. Does the L (carbon fiber model) address this or is it a much ado about nothing? Also how much lighter is the L vs. the M? On B&H the weight difference is only 1 lbs?
magbarn is offline  
post #3365 of 3381 Old 05-16-2015, 01:52 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
I noticed a couple of the reviewers stating that the legs on the ACE M are kinda fragile. Does the L (carbon fiber model) address this or is it a much ado about nothing? Also how much lighter is the L vs. the M? On B&H the weight difference is only 1 lbs?
The cheaper lower aluminum legs have a tendency to stick and needs a solid pull to come out, but you will master it. Both carbon and aluminum legs are solid for me. The carbon legs have an anti slip round pad that I prefer over the aluminum legs twist-able feet (with hidden spike). Since I rarely shoot outdoor, I never tried the spikes. The carbon legs pads really work for us inside theaters.

The carbon ACE really does feel lighter over the aluminum version. I prefer the ACE carbon over the larger RRS carbon 3 series as well as the 3 series Gitzo which I used extensively for stills.

To sum it all, the ACE both versions are solid.
William Chiu is online now  
post #3366 of 3381 Old 05-18-2015, 05:46 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Is this being discontinued?

I am still awaiting my replacement camcorder.My retailer has several of these on orders for customers but no information from Sony as to when they can supply.Does anyone know if this model is still current or is it pending deletion?Many thanks
chasteven is offline  
post #3367 of 3381 Old 05-18-2015, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
spyker1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by chasteven View Post
I am still awaiting my replacement camcorder.My retailer has several of these on orders for customers but no information from Sony as to when they can supply.Does anyone know if this model is still current or is it pending deletion?Many thanks

last week sony store say sony ax100 is 'backordered'


I checked today it's now 'in stock'


http://store.sony.com/4k-camcorder-w...nal-capability
spyker1212 is offline  
post #3368 of 3381 Old 05-18-2015, 07:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by spyker1212 View Post
last week sony store say sony ax100 is 'backordered'


I checked today it's now 'in stock'


http://store.sony.com/4k-camcorder-w...nal-capability
I will get my dealer in the UK to follow this up.
chasteven is offline  
post #3369 of 3381 Old 05-18-2015, 10:18 AM
Member
 
cdb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenMiddx View Post
According to the specification on the Sony pages:

Sensor Type
1.0-type back-illuminated Exmor R™ CMOS Sensor

Effective Pixels (Video)
Approx.14.2M (16:9)

Effective Pixels (Still Image)
Approx.10.6M pixels(4:3), Approx.14.2M pixels(16:9)


So, at 16:9 the effective pixel count for both stills and video is 14.2 M pixels -- which suggests to me that anything bigger (e.g. 20Mpix) can only be achieved by interpolation.


From the same page

Quote:
Still Image Size (Dual Record)14.2 megapixels 16:9(5024x2824), 2.1 megapixels 16:9(1920x1080), 20.0 megapixels 16:9(5968x3352) [XAVC S 4K only]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_J_H. View Post
With my 128GB card, I can record about 4hrs, 30min at 60Mbps in 4K 30p. I just did the firmware update to 3.00. I know I will need to buy a UHS-1 U3 memory card for 100Mbps. What would my approximate recording time be on a 128GB card for 100Mbps?
I think you'll need to buy a UHSII card. I had a 80MB/s UHS1 u3 card and it insisted I get a UHS11 card.
EDIT -(Just realised it was a U1 card)

Last edited by cdb1; 05-18-2015 at 10:44 AM.
cdb1 is online now  
post #3370 of 3381 Old 05-18-2015, 12:51 PM
Member
 
magbarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was going to buy the NP-FV100 battery on amazon today and noticed it's backordered. Anyone see this new NP-FV100A battery? It looks like it's more expensive and yet has a 10% loss in battery capacity. Is it to satisfy some FAA/EU requirement? If that's the case, I'd stock up on the old FV100's before these worse ones come out...
magbarn is offline  
post #3371 of 3381 Old 05-18-2015, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
spyker1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
I was going to buy the NP-FV100 battery on amazon today and noticed it's backordered. Anyone see this new NP-FV100A battery? It looks like it's more expensive and yet has a 10% loss in battery capacity. Is it to satisfy some FAA/EU requirement? If that's the case, I'd stock up on the old FV100's before these worse ones come out...

I bought np-fv100 battery on amazon few years back. I did not check the seller and end up fake fv100. worked on my sony hdr100 camcorder but gave a battery error message in sony cx760.


buy from bhphoto or sony direct. more expensive and not fake.

Last edited by spyker1212; 05-18-2015 at 03:09 PM.
spyker1212 is offline  
post #3372 of 3381 Old 05-18-2015, 11:51 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
I was going to buy the NP-FV100 battery on amazon today and noticed it's backordered. Anyone see this new NP-FV100A battery? It looks like it's more expensive and yet has a 10% loss in battery capacity. Is it to satisfy some FAA/EU requirement? If that's the case, I'd stock up on the old FV100's before these worse ones come out...
I cannot find any specs on FV100A and B&H is the only online authorized dealer offering it. As you say, it's lower rated than the old FV100 which I have used for nearly a year and a half.
William Chiu is online now  
post #3373 of 3381 Old 05-19-2015, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
I was going to buy the NP-FV100 battery on amazon today and noticed it's backordered. Anyone see this new NP-FV100A battery? It looks like it's more expensive and yet has a 10% loss in battery capacity. Is it to satisfy some FAA/EU requirement? If that's the case, I'd stock up on the old FV100's before these worse ones come out...
I would take these absolute capacity numbers with a big grain of salt. I always get my batteries on Ebay, a year ago I bought 4 FV100 rated at 4.9 Ah including 2 chargers for app $ 50.00. The capacity of all 4 is very close, the camera indicates 3.9 Hrs operating time when fully charged, in real life use that comes to about 2 hrs or less.
Capacity has not diminished over the year. Brand name is Vivitar.

There are only a couple of companies that make the actual battery, I suspect that with all the different brand names around, that the inside is most likely the same. Or else made by the same OEM under different brand names.
Charging time is fairly slow (good) so two chargers come in handy when traveling. Not to mention the fiasco if one would die. I only use the FV100 size. They also have a fairly slow self discharge rate (an indicator of quality), after 3 month on the shelf, running time might drop to 3.6 Hrs from 3.9

Note, I switch to a new battery when remaining operating time approaches 20 to 30 min.

Over time I must have bought at least 80 batteries for various video and still cameras that way, not a single one has failed.

Eugene

Last edited by Eugene157; 05-19-2015 at 09:13 AM.
Eugene157 is offline  
post #3374 of 3381 Old 05-19-2015, 08:59 AM
Member
 
magbarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eugene157 View Post
I would take these absolute capacity numbers with a big grain of salt. I always get my batteries on Ebay, a year ago I bought 4 FV100 rated at 4.9 Ah including 2 chargers for app $ 50.00. The capacity of all 4 is very close, the camera indicates 3.9 Hrs operating time when fully charged, in real life use that comes to about 2 hrs. Capacity has not diminished over the year. Brand name is Vivitar.

There are only a couple of companies that make the actual battery, I suspect that with all the different brand names around, that the inside is most likely the same. Or else made by the same OEM under different brand names.
Charging time is fairly slow (good) so two chargers come in handy when traveling. I only use the FV100 size.

Over time I must have bought at leas 80 batteries for various video and still cameras that way, not a single one has failed.

Eugene
So you're perfectly happy with 3rd party batteries for the AX100? I'm seriously eyeing some 3rd party ones on Amazon that are 2 for $35 here.

My concern is the risk of them crapping out in the middle of a family gathering or one of my kid's performances.... The last time I tried 3rd party batteries was on my D800 and they didn't last anywhere near as long as the real thing.
magbarn is offline  
post #3375 of 3381 Old 05-19-2015, 09:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 631
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 182 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
So you're perfectly happy with 3rd party batteries for the AX100? I'm seriously eyeing some 3rd party ones on Amazon that are 2 for $35 here.

My concern is the risk of them crapping out in the middle of a family gathering or one of my kid's performances.... The last time I tried 3rd party batteries was on my D800 and they didn't last anywhere near as long as the real thing.
That is a great deal, I have seen that brand for some years, a lot in Europe. All had good reviews, as they do on Amazon. You can hardly do better than 4 1/2 stars.

But do not run them into the ground, switch at the 30 min mark.

Also this battery technology is pretty mature, I would not worry.

BTW, charging batteries in the camera is a BIG NO NO here.

Eugene

Last edited by Eugene157; 05-19-2015 at 09:58 AM.
Eugene157 is offline  
post #3376 of 3381 Old 05-19-2015, 10:14 AM
Member
 
LenMiddx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: London, England.
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
So you're perfectly happy with 3rd party batteries for the AX100? I'm seriously eyeing some 3rd party ones on Amazon that are 2 for $35 here.
Those Wasabi batteries work fine. I bought a couple last year through Amazon UK when they were available, although I paid GBP 40 (USD 62) for the pack of two.

They don't last quite as long as the Sony ones, but at that price -- and for two in a pack -- they're a bargain.


Quote:
Originally Posted by magbarn View Post
My concern is the risk of them crapping out in the middle of a family gathering or one of my kid's performances.... The last time I tried 3rd party batteries was on my D800 and they didn't last anywhere near as long as the real thing.
I've used third party 'Sony' batteries from Wasabi, Duracell, and Jupio without problems on my AX100. They don't have quite the same shooting power as the Sony equivalent, but they work well.

(The only thing that I've never done, though, is let the batteries exhaust themselves -- so I'm not sure whether they report the 'running low' status correctly -- that was a problem with most third-party 'Canon' batteries that I tried in my stills cameras.)
LenMiddx is offline  
post #3377 of 3381 Old 05-19-2015, 03:20 PM
Member
 
James Jimmy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by LenMiddx View Post
Those Wasabi batteries work fine. I bought a couple last year through Amazon UK when they were available, although I paid GBP 40 (USD 62) for the pack of two.

They don't last quite as long as the Sony ones, but at that price -- and for two in a pack -- they're a bargain.




I've used third party 'Sony' batteries from Wasabi, Duracell, and Jupio without problems on my AX100. They don't have quite the same shooting power as the Sony equivalent, but they work well.

(The only thing that I've never done, though, is let the batteries exhaust themselves -- so I'm not sure whether they report the 'running low' status correctly -- that was a problem with most third-party 'Canon' batteries that I tried in my stills cameras.)
I've had file corruption twice using 3rd party batteries (I think they were Wasabi). The power reported was inaccurate and I think the camera shut down causing the file corruption. I was unable to recover these files. I would not encourage the use of 3rd party batteries.
James Jimmy is offline  
post #3378 of 3381 Old 05-20-2015, 10:30 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Duracell Batteries

In the UK Duracell are offering 2 NPFV70 batteries for £42.70 including free postage.They also offer a no quibble 3 year guarantee!
chasteven is offline  
post #3379 of 3381 Old 05-22-2015, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
spyker1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 17
anyone knows or have tried to record slow motion 720p 120fps on sony ax100?


how do you setup to record slowmotion. also what is high speed record option on ax100.


thanks in advance
spyker1212 is offline  
post #3380 of 3381 Unread Today, 11:44 AM
Member
 
cdb1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
High speed just seems to record in 1280x720 at 100fps. It looked pretty poor (as in low def) on my monitor.
cdb1 is online now  
post #3381 of 3381 Unread Today, 11:57 AM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 362
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 36 Post(s)
Liked: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdb1 View Post
High speed just seems to record in 1280x720 at 100fps. It looked pretty poor (as in low def) on my monitor.
AX100 was not designed to shine in modes other than 4K. I wished they could do 60p or 120p in 4K, then you can down-convert to really nice slow mo 720p. We will have to wait for AX200 or something for that.
William Chiu is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Camcorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off