Sony 4K Handycam FDR-AX100 thread - Page 34 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 55Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #991 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I have not gotten used to holding the camera. I guess the standard mode for steady shot is working well.
I am most interested in how it performs without stablization. Waiting for my fluid head+tripod.
Next time I am in a car, i will post.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Faithful mutt View Post

Hi William, really enjoying your footage with the AX100, such detail and sharpness. How are you finding the image stabiliser! How does it actually compare to the Sony active steady shot?

If you get the chance would you be kind enough to post a clip from within a moving car at night and wind down the shutter speed to it's slowest. I am very interested in how it behaves.

And I agree that your son has those moves sorted!

Thanks again.

Simon.
William Chiu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #992 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 03:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 995 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Chiu View Post

the details of the AX100 footages on the Sony 65" 4K TV is just so much more than either on the iMac or various retina displays.
I need a smaller 4K display to edit with my macbook pro using FCP-X. (which is beginning to be as easy to use as iMovie)

i hope someone will introduce a 4K sub 30" thunderbolt monitor soon.

Billy, two questions, first how do you watch your AX100 footage on your Sony? I know you can play directly from the 100 to the UHD Sony as I do to my plasma, but do you currently have any way to do that with an edited project? Obviously you could connect a computer directly to the Sony UHD TV, which is what I'm assuming you do.

Second, regarding editing on your Mac, are you using ProRes 422 and if so, how are you handling the file sizes for larger projects?
Ken Ross is offline  
post #993 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Ken,

1. I watch the original footage by connecting the AX100 to the XBR65X900A. I also have a Mac Mini connected directly to the Sony 4K TV by HDMI but the video drivers only goes to 1080p, so no 4K there. My Macbook Pro does have 4K 2160p outputs to the Sony 4K TV but at a lower than 30p cycle, so it is not useable for Final Cut Pro X editing work.

The video picture to the Sony 4K TV is better when connected with the AX100 than with my Macbook Pro. I hope this is a driver issue, to be fixed by Apple or Sony later as more people uses 4K 2160p.

2. This has been a big issue.

The FDR-AX100 uses is stored as MPEG-4 with a codec of H.264. This is ideal for Youtube 4K.
A 19 seconds worth of 4K 2160/30p video is about 143MB.

But we need to edit for length and add text. Once FCP-X starts to transcode, any of the Apple ProRes 422 formats increase the size to enormous amounts.

That 19 seconds become 1.2 GB with Apple ProRes 422.

I start filming Grease in early April for art schools. I may have to rethink about using 4K or not.
I certainly do not have the processing power for anything for than 5 minutes of 4K footage at the moment.
Even storage will be a concern.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Billy, two questions, first how do you watch your AX100 footage on your Sony? I know you can play directly from the 100 to the UHD Sony as I do to my plasma, but do you currently have any way to do that with an edited project? Obviously you could connect a computer directly to the Sony UHD TV, which is what I'm assuming you do.

Second, regarding editing on your Mac, are you using ProRes 422 and if so, how are you handling the file sizes for larger projects?
William Chiu is offline  
post #994 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 03:55 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
this compilation was all inside the Smithsonian Air and Space.
I took the auto gain limiter off as it was too crowded and no time to stay in one place and adjust for lighting.
for this longer footage, i had to use the H264 master output option within FCP-X

The 3:30 4K H264 file was 1.65 GB

http://youtu.be/5z_-txLOOok?hd=1
William Chiu is offline  
post #995 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 03:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 995 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Thanks Billy. I mentioned about the ProRes because I was at the mall today and was curious to see how Final Cut X would handle a short clip. Just as you mentioned a short 15 second clip ballooned to about 1 gig. Ouch.

My favorite editor is Edius Pro 7 and that uses much smaller file sizes, but not having a 4K display to view on, I'm not sure how much of a visible hit, if any, I'm taking to a 4K edit.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #996 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 04:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15





I found a fix for the absence of MP4 thumbnails on Win 7 explorer by installing K-Lite codec pack 64 bit. It also upgraded the Classic Media Player, it now provides smooth PB of AX100 60Mb video files. Before the download it topped out at app 30Mb.


What is the purpose of the XML file? Is it needed?

Eugene




Eugene157 is online now  
post #997 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobAC View Post

I second this. After VLC it is my go to player.
It handles files that gives VLC issues. I find it does give a warmer, vivid type look instead of the clear look that VLC gives.
It also has a lot of plugins and add-ons unlike the click and play VLC.

So for movies and tv shows MPC-HC is what I use for the warmer cinematone look.
For viewing what a camcorder actually records without any additional coloration- VLC and my Sony PM or NLE is what I use.

Rob

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bixbe View Post

Thanks very much Blasst! MPC-HC is a very advanced mediaplayer. It plays my 50p files as nice as the Dune.

Good deal! Glad it worked for you.

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blasst is offline  
post #998 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 05:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Blasst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: So.California
Posts: 3,500
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 26
The Sony U.S. site finally has the user manual up online......though it is laid out differently with a different Help guide.

http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=FDRAX100&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=manuals#/manualsTab

http://docs.esupport.sony.com/dvimag/2014/FDR-AX100_HDR-CX900_guide/en/contents/contentslist01.html
Ken Ross and William Chiu like this.

The Mod Squad: New vs. Classic TV Series Opening
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Blasst is offline  
post #999 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 05:48 PM
Member
 
lucasberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: So-cal , OC
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Has anyone else noticed how slow the AF is? I'm just wondering if it is just mine. Today at the park videoing my kids, and birds I found that sometimes it would take 5 seconds to focus. I noticed that if you start zoomed in at all it's really bad so I started zooming out after every shot. It is concerning me a lot and I am contemplating returning in it. I love everything else though.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lucasberg is offline  
post #1000 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 05:55 PM
Senior Member
 
spyker1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasberg View Post

Has anyone else noticed how slow the AF is? I'm just wondering if it is just mine. Today at the park videoing my kids, and birds I found that sometimes it would take 5 seconds to focus. I noticed that if you start zoomed in at all it's really bad so I started zooming out after every shot. It is concerning me a lot and I am contemplating returning in it. I love everything else though.
]

I don't have the ax100 yet... but thinking of getting one.

to speed up the autofocus.. on my sony cx760 I pull the viewfinder to switch the camcorder to standby. so everytime i start taking video the
focus is always ready and won't have to take 5 seconds.
spyker1212 is offline  
post #1001 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:04 PM
Member
 
pstrauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Here's a bit more handheld footage I shot at the park today. I'm still finding that outputting to 60mbps H.264 CBR is more than sufficient for YouTube uploads, and much more manageable than AppleProRes 422.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o2U4oaO91yw
pstrauss is offline  
post #1002 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:12 PM
Senior Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Yes focus is very slow, I was griping about that right after I got the camera.
Eugene157 is online now  
post #1003 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasberg View Post

Has anyone else noticed how slow the AF is? I'm just wondering if it is just mine. Today at the park videoing my kids, and birds I found that sometimes it would take 5 seconds to focus. I noticed that if you start zoomed in at all it's really bad so I started zooming out after every shot. It is concerning me a lot and I am contemplating returning in it. I love everything else though.

Try making use of the touch screen - put you finger where you want the camera to focus, and invoke tracking mode. In busy scenes you need to tell the camera where YOU want it t focus.
markr041 is online now  
post #1004 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
jogiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,827
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Was Emmanuel Pampuri's AX100 4K video posted here or did I miss it. He is the one who shot the Paris and Hong Kong night videos with the GH4.
http://www.pampuri.net/?lang=en



jogiba is offline  
post #1005 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Yes it was already posted. We are beyond Youtube cat videos now. Many of us have the camera, and there is nothing in that video that is new. Really.
markr041 is online now  
post #1006 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Steady Shot Standard versus Steady Shot Active Mode 4K Test Video

Is Active mode essential for full telephoto handheld? Does Active Mode degrade the image? Here are handheld comparisons at full telephoto, outdoors and indoors. The first shot in each scene is Standard Mode followed by Active Mode.


https://vimeo.com/90494579


UHD original, not re-compressed, is downloadable.

Youtube version:
markr041 is online now  
post #1007 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:37 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
so between the two, standard is better?
Quote:
Originally Posted by markr041 View Post

Steady Shot Standard versus Steady Shot Active Mode 4K Test Video

Is Active mode essential for full telephoto handheld? Does Active Mode degrade the image? Here are handheld comparisons at full telephoto, outdoors and indoors. The first shot in each scene is Standard Mode followed by Active Mode.


https://vimeo.com/90494579


UHD original, not re-compressed, is downloadable.
William Chiu is offline  
post #1008 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:37 PM
Member
 
pstrauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Chiu View Post

Ken,

1. I watch the original footage by connecting the AX100 to the XBR65X900A. I also have a Mac Mini connected directly to the Sony 4K TV by HDMI but the video drivers only goes to 1080p, so no 4K there. My Macbook Pro does have 4K 2160p outputs to the Sony 4K TV but at a lower than 30p cycle, so it is not useable for Final Cut Pro X editing work.

The video picture to the Sony 4K TV is better when connected with the AX100 than with my Macbook Pro. I hope this is a driver issue, to be fixed by Apple or Sony later as more people uses 4K 2160p.

2. This has been a big issue.

The FDR-AX100 uses is stored as MPEG-4 with a codec of H.264. This is ideal for Youtube 4K.
A 19 seconds worth of 4K 2160/30p video is about 143MB.

But we need to edit for length and add text. Once FCP-X starts to transcode, any of the Apple ProRes 422 formats increase the size to enormous amounts.

That 19 seconds become 1.2 GB with Apple ProRes 422.

I start filming Grease in early April for art schools. I may have to rethink about using 4K or not.
I certainly do not have the processing power for anything for than 5 minutes of 4K footage at the moment.
Even storage will be a concern.

Billy: Are you finding that your ProRes 422 renditions look better when uploaded than H.264? Not the originals from the camera, that is. On the desktop they play more smoothly on my Mac, but I can't stand the massive upload sizes for the ProRes files.
pstrauss is offline  
post #1009 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Chiu View Post

so between the two, standard is better?

Are you kidding?
markr041 is online now  
post #1010 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:42 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
apparently not.

check these 3 out:

1. Apple 422 LT
http://youtu.be/o-iq1ZPrE48

2. H264
http://youtu.be/5z_-txLOOok

3. Apple 422
http://youtu.be/gZv9vS0wXwo

on youtube with my 27" thunderbolt display, they did not look all that different.
i have no way to compare on my 65" Sony 4K TV.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pstrauss View Post

Billy: Are you finding that your ProRes 422 renditions look better when uploaded than H.264? Not the originals from the camera, that is. On the desktop they play more smoothly on my Mac, but I can't stand the massive upload sizes for the ProRes files.
William Chiu is offline  
post #1011 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:46 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
i read your order wrong.
active was clearly better unless you got better with your hold at the second take.

i wished i knew this in DC.
i found the standard to be so so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by markr041 View Post

Are you kidding?
William Chiu is offline  
post #1012 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
markr041's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 132 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by William Chiu View Post

i read your order wrong.
active was clearly better unless you got better with your hold at the second take.

i wished i knew this in DC.
i found the standard to be so so.

Thanks. No, Active is clearly better. Indeed, in the Sony manual it indicates that Steady Shot Standard is only for wide-angle shots. I do not see any degrading of the shot using Active mode, at least viewing in 1080 (and for science, when I actually shot these clips I randomly ordered which mode I shot first; they are only arranged in the editor with Standard first).
markr041 is online now  
post #1013 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 08:08 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 995 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasberg View Post

Has anyone else noticed how slow the AF is? I'm just wondering if it is just mine. Today at the park videoing my kids, and birds I found that sometimes it would take 5 seconds to focus. I noticed that if you start zoomed in at all it's really bad so I started zooming out after every shot. It is concerning me a lot and I am contemplating returning in it. I love everything else though.

Many cameras behave like that if you leave the shot fully zoomed and then start another clip later. I have always started a shot at wide. Even if I want the shot to be a tight shot, I start wide, zoom in and then hit record.

Here's another thing about the issue of leaving your last shot fully zoomed. If you start another shot later when it had been previously zoomed and left that way, there's a good chance your AWB (if that's what you're using) will be inaccurate. That's because the camera may 'see' one predominant color when you turn it on, leaving a potentially inaccurate WB for the scene you want.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #1014 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 08:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,972
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 995 Post(s)
Liked: 1080
Mark, I tried that experiment a couple of days ago, but my test needs to be done a bit more carefully.

When you turn on Active, it zooms the sensor a bit relative to Standard. In my test I could see a slight hit in resolution on the more zoomed (Active) mode. I didn't realize how much more zoomed the Active image was until later, when I viewed it. I think to make these tests more accurate, we need to keep the framing as close as possible. So this will mean going a bit wider in the Active mode to compensate for the automatic cropping in Active relative to Standard..

Not sure if I'm making this clear. I'm going to try this again over the next couple of days...assuming it stops raining.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #1015 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 08:33 PM
Senior Member
 
Eugene157's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Palm Springs area
Posts: 416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 15
I really think a resolution test pattern needs to be used with the camera on a tripod. then try the two modes and see if the resolution wedge changes.
Regular video is a waste of time.

Gene
hatchback likes this.
Eugene157 is online now  
post #1016 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
i am looking forwards to mounting with plates and a solid fluid head with no stabilization.
that way, maybe we can see if some of the rolling effects are due to it.

without that, i think the AX100 is ideal for most applications.
heck, even the bokeh is almost as good as DSLR-full frames.
William Chiu is offline  
post #1017 of 2542 Old 03-30-2014, 08:57 PM
Senior Member
 
William Chiu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: NYC
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 60
btw, have you tried using the manual zoom ring?
i found it allows for another point of contact and made for more steady zoom shots.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

Many cameras behave like that if you leave the shot fully zoomed and then start another clip later. I have always started a shot at wide. Even if I want the shot to be a tight shot, I start wide, zoom in and then hit record.

Here's another thing about the issue of leaving your last shot fully zoomed. If you start another shot later when it had been previously zoomed and left that way, there's a good chance your AWB (if that's what you're using) will be inaccurate. That's because the camera may 'see' one predominant color when you turn it on, leaving a potentially inaccurate WB for the scene you want.
William Chiu is offline  
post #1018 of 2542 Old 03-31-2014, 05:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sgt_Strider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post

It is a VBR. We have seen spikes to 70Mbps and above with heavily detailed scenes.

I'm sure there isn't as much latitude to correct as you would have with RAW, but it's absolutely fine for some light to medium grading as you would with similar non-RAW cameras.

I do believe there is a grid, but I'd have to double check to be certain.

Of course it would be unrealistic to expect the same kind of latitude that RAW provides. However, how does a 60-70Mbps clip from AX100 grade compared to a ProRes 422 HQ clip?
Sgt_Strider is offline  
post #1019 of 2542 Old 03-31-2014, 05:06 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sgt_Strider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blasst View Post

Ken's belief is correct as there is a grid overlay.wink.gif

Thanks Blasst!

Do you know if there is also a 1:1 aspect ratio / square overlay? If not, is there a way to create a custom aspect ratio grid?
Sgt_Strider is offline  
post #1020 of 2542 Old 03-31-2014, 06:30 AM
Senior Member
 
chenderson2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
http://youtu.be/2l0_rA4Hz80
Here is a link to some footage I took at the Tomball German Festival and edited with Final Cut Pro X on my MacBook Pro. The only complaint I had was the way at 30p very much action causes blur and stutter.
Comments?
chenderson2 is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off