pixelated movie from sony movie platinum 12 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 05-03-2014, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hvc700mbuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi
My videos from my panasonic 700m in 1060p and i noticed the sony software only works in 1060i.
ok, so after I edit the video the dvd is very pixalated on an HD tv.

What am I doing wrong? Would I be better off rendering in 720p?

The complete video is pixalated, yet when I play the raw video from the camera into the tv it is fine.

Thoughts?
hvc700mbuyer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 05-03-2014, 02:25 PM
Member
 
Terfyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Wales, UK
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13

Change your record mode camera setting to "HA".

Terfyn is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 05-03-2014, 04:01 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hvc700mbuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Is this in a pull down menu in Sony movie? I'm having trouble
Locating it.
Thanks
hvc700mbuyer is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 05-04-2014, 12:21 AM
Member
 
Terfyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Wales, UK
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13

No its in the camera. You are currently recording in progressive mode (p) and need to change to interlaced mode (I) Go "Menu" > Record Setup > Rec Mode and switch from 1080p to 1080i

[HA] This is the best interlaced mode.

 

Alternatively you could get an editor that will take both progressive and interlaced. Probably the latest Sony range. I use Corel VideoStudio and that takes both "p" and "i" without any problems.

Terfyn is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 05-04-2014, 01:20 AM
Member
 
AJInstitute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13

To get the editor to use the right settings, just select New and then 'Match media settings' and the path of the video file.

 

As far as the output quality goes, I've had the best luck from Sony Platinum 12 with outputting to the same as my source (AVCHD in my case) and then converting to another format with Handbrake.

 

Good luck.

AJInstitute is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 05-04-2014, 02:12 AM
Member
 
Terfyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: North Wales, UK
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by AJInstitute View Post
 

To get the editor to use the right settings, just select New and then 'Match media settings' and the path of the video file.

 

As far as the output quality goes, I've had the best luck from Sony Platinum 12 with outputting to the same as my source (AVCHD in my case) and then converting to another format with Handbrake.

 

Good luck.


This does not answer if all Sony software will accept progressive. Much of the older editors will not.

AVCHD is generic, you don't say whether you use progressive or interlaced. AVCHD can be output in both but may not work with 700mbuyer's editor.

This has nothing to do with converting formats, it has everything to do with matching up the camera to the editor. As I said above, most new editors will match to progressive or interlaced.

Terfyn is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 05-04-2014, 08:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvc700mbuyer View Post

Hi
My videos from my panasonic 700m in 1060p and i noticed the sony software only works in 1060i.
ok, so after I edit the video the dvd is very pixalated on an HD tv.

What am I doing wrong? Would I be better off rendering in 720p?

The complete video is pixalated, yet when I play the raw video from the camera into the tv it is fine.

Thoughts?

Try these settings/steps...

Shoot a clip in the highest setting on the camcorder: with 60p/progressive.

Put the clip on the Vegas Platinum timeline, then go to Project Video Properties, the left/top of preview screen and set the video and audio settings like this. After both tabs are set, click Apply then OK.:



Go to top/left Project>Render as and select Sony AVC/MVC (*mp4, *.m2ts, *.avc) to render mp4 output:



In the sub-menu, select HD 1920X1080-60p


Click Customize template:


Then go through all the tabs...whatever isn't there by default, change it to these settings:

dQXNuIe.jpg


After all tabs set, click OK to confirm settings. (Just has to be done once, when all tabs are set.)
Click Render. After done rendering, watch mp4 clip and see if quality better.
xfws is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 05-04-2014, 11:55 AM
Member
 
AJInstitute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terfyn View Post
 


This does not answer if all Sony software will accept progressive. Much of the older editors will not.

AVCHD is generic, you don't say whether you use progressive or interlaced. AVCHD can be output in both but may not work with 700mbuyer's editor.

This has nothing to do with converting formats, it has everything to do with matching up the camera to the editor. As I said above, most new editors will match to progressive or interlaced.


The thread title specifies Sony Movie (Studio) Platinum 12 and it does accept and output progressive formats. It is a newer editor; Amazon lists it as available since April 2013 and version 13 has just been released in January adding 4k support and some UI changes.

 

Getting a pixelated output may have everything to do with "converting formats" or transcoding the project into an edited form.

 

I have used this software extensively over the last year, producing over one hundred short videos, and it looks like xfws has posted a nice detailed description of the process in the Sony software.

AJInstitute is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 05-12-2014, 02:35 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hvc700mbuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks to all for the help! I am using platinum 12, but it doesn't have any option for 1920x1080-60p. There are other options such as, -30p or 1920x1080-60i but none "HD 1920x1080-60p, " in any pull down menu. Do I have a verison that isn't current??? (Version 12 build 896 64bit)

I thought I was taking the best footage in 60p so I have a bunch already taken. Is it a compatibility issue with the Panny700 and the Sony software?

Thanks
hvc700mbuyer is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 05-12-2014, 02:47 PM
Member
 
rupterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvc700mbuyer View Post

Thanks to all for the help! I am using platinum 12, but it doesn't have any option for 1920x1080-60p. There are other options such as, -30p or 1920x1080-60i but none "HD 1920x1080-60p, " in any pull down menu. Do I have a verison that isn't current??? (Version 12 build 896 64bit)

I thought I was taking the best footage in 60p so I have a bunch already taken. Is it a compatibility issue with the Panny700 and the Sony software?

Thanks

You have to make a custom template in Platimum 12 for 1080/60p, like forum member xfws posted. Follow the directions in his post and you should have no problems creating the custom template. Also, are you burning this rendered video to dvd or Blu-ray disc?
rupterr is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 05-13-2014, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hvc700mbuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Yes, but even the custom templates have a pull down menu to choose from, and my pull down menu differs from the pictures he posted. I'm burning a standard DVD and I appreciated all the pictures.
I am just remarking mine is a bit different.
hvc700mbuyer is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 05-13-2014, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvc700mbuyer View Post

Yes, but even the custom templates have a pull down menu to choose from, and my pull down menu differs from the pictures he posted. I'm burning a standard DVD and I appreciated all the pictures.
I am just remarking mine is a bit different.

Yes, I made those screenshots with Platinum 11... but version 12 should have the same options.

Start with Sony mp4:

xfws is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 05-13-2014, 01:40 PM
Member
 
rupterr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvc700mbuyer View Post

I'm burning a standard DVD and I appreciated all the pictures.

I would try to find the option xfws has mentioned. Secondly, by burning your 1080p footage to a regular dvd the resolution of the footage is being seriously down rezzed, causing pixelization.

The highest resolution a DVD player can except is 480P. You need to burn to Blu-Ray at 1920 X 1080i, minimum...so as to not destroy the 700's beautiful video. It might be a little pixelated even when burning to 1080i, but nothing like you are experiencing by burning to dvd.

The best thing to do is render the files at 1080/60p and view the rendered file on some kind of media player. Or, burn the 1080/60p files to a AVCHD 2.0 Blu-Ray disc, which requires a BD player that will play AVCHD 2.0 discs.
hvc700mbuyer likes this.
rupterr is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 05-14-2014, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hvc700mbuyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 67
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I guess there is a little difference between platinum 11 and platinum 12. Just pointing this out, I appreciate all the help that you have given


I have 1920x1080-30p, but no 1920x1080-60p




hvc700mbuyer is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 05-14-2014, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
xfws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by hvc700mbuyer View Post

I guess there is a little difference between platinum 11 and platinum 12. Just pointing this out, I appreciate all the help that you have given


I have 1920x1080-30p, but no 1920x1080-60p

Even if it's not on the list, you can make your own custom settings with the 'customize template' button/Sony MP4...and manually set the tabs like this. You can click one of the 30p HD from the list, then manually change it (name it up top and click the save button if want to use again later):

xfws is offline  
Reply Camcorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off